We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Juma Amazon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Juma Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is one of the most memorable excursions I have ever been on! Juma lodge lived up to all the expectations; the lodge itself is beautifully kept with a focus on sustainability, it is very remote and seamlessly blends into the surroundings, and the jungle comes alive around you! The daily activities are engaging, guides are knowledgeable/fun, and the food is excellent.

We were there for two nights and felt comfortable at all times. The transportation is also very well organized, from pick up in Manaus, to drop off at the airport, everything ran very smoothly.

Room Tip: definitely stay in the private hut rooms - they are not connected to another room and offer a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andreeadascalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 367 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

There are a lot of positive things about this lodge. The bungalows are gorgeous, very well maintained, very clean and you sleep really comfortable. A friend of us recommended this place and we trusted her. We could have had a great stay, but our guide was a nightmare! Matheus was his name and he had very very little english knowledge. We has learnt all the standard texts about the trips, animals etc. But if you wanted to ask him additional questions, simply because you are interested in the amazonian culture, he was not able to understand or to answer. We seemed to be pissed when you asked him too many questions and he got really rude. There was no manager speaking english. Only the guide. The group of people for activities are huge! we have been 13 persons out for the jungle trek. Imagine 13 people walking in the jungle. Of course it was not possible to see any animals. everyone was walking after each other and the last persons couldn't hear any of Matheus explanations. I have read in some review comments from the management, that they make groups of max. 8 people. This is just a lie! We asked for a private guide and were willing to pay whatever they have asked us. But there was no guide available. Only 1 English speaking person for 13 people.
It's been really a pity because the lodge itself is really nice. I don't think a local guide would cost that much money and with more guides available they could easily turn the lodge into a very special place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarbaraR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Proprietário at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear BarbaraR_11

Thank you for your review.

It was a surprise for us your comments about Matheus. Most of our clients love him. He knows a lot about the Amazon Rainforest and loves what he does. He is a shy guy, so maybe you tought that he didn't want to answer you. We spoke with him about your review and he is speaking more now, trying to be less shy.

Unfortunately Nilson, one of our guides, got sick during your stay. So we had to put two groups together. We always work with up to ten people in a group, this was an exception.

Cida, our manager and my partner, is improving her skills in english. And we also hired another person, Tarcisio, to help her at the lodge. And he speaks a good English.

Sincerely,

Caio Fonseca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The lodge comprises a series of thatched bungalow/lodges and a dining room on stilts, right on the edge of the river. The rooms are well spaced and each has a private balcony with seating and a hammock. The room was large, had a large bed and had a good shower room. It was great to be amongst the trees – to look out for birds, monkeys and dolphins in the day and listen to the insects at night. There was no refrigerator or aircon unit but we accepted this as being in the middle of the rain forest.

The staff were attentive and friendly and the trips offered were very good. We stayed for 3 nights and did 2 jungle treks, piranha fishing, canoeing, river swimming, cayman spotting, a visit to a plantation and sunrise on the river. All were good though it depends on the group size what you might see during the trips. The guided trips are cyclic so any longer than 3 nights and we might have found ourselves doing the same trips again.

The food was good and provided on a buffet style in a central dining area. It is worth topping up your water bottles at meal times, to save buying bottled water during the day. There was a bar with inside and outside seating but we found that few people used this after dark and so it lacked atmosphere. Occasionally there was tea/coffee during the afternoon but it was usually after trips and we felt that it would have been nice to have the option each afternoon.

A long journey out from Manuas by ferry, minibus and boat but well worth it. The staff say that there is no malaria in the area but there is still a variety of biting insects to protect against so be prepared.

Room Tip: all good rooms but some are close to the dining room/kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

There were 4 of us travelling together, we stayed for 4 nights in 2 cabins twin beds, the cabins were very comfortable, with a hammock on the balcony. We were lucky to be allocated Joao as our guide he was great fun and has a wealth of knowledge to share. All staff were friendly, Paulo the boat guy & Nee the barman! The food was great with a good variety, but of course the key reason to be in the Amazon is the beauty of the jungle and the river system. The activities were great fun (night Cayman spotting, piraña fishing, jungle walks, bird watching) with plenty of time to relax and chill in a hammock. I highly recommend the Juma Lodge its absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelma-in-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The lodge itself is located in a place where pests aren't a problem and everything around you is gorgeous! The staff is incredible! Our guide Joao was amazing, fun, knowledgeable, spoke multiple languages, Victor, or boat driver was skilled and kind! Make were delicious. Transfers were easy and convenient. I can't say enough wonderful things about the lodge. Go go go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Far removed from squalid Manaus, this place is a gem. An amazing blend of adult summer camp, jungle exploration and education, tempered with just enough relaxation to feel like you were on vacation.

My partner and I were welcomed and felt very at home here, to the point of not wanting to leave at the end of our four day stay.

In case the staff are reading this, the only sore point that our entire cohort of guests experienced was at dinner time, each night. The dinner is communal, with the cohort you arrived to the lodge with and is wonderful and scheduled from 7-8PM. Each night, at 8:05ish we were relatively brusquely encouraged to leave. Right Now.

Since, after the first day, we had become somewhat bonded to one another and were thus conversing, intensely, this was a rude awakening. That aside, though, I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, I would definitely spring for the private cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a group of 15 (9 teenage girls). There was something for everyone. We had a wonderful time. The food was very good. We had some vegetarians and picky eaters with us, but everyone seemed to find something they liked. The rooms were so cool. Loved the hammocks. It was the end of July, the fans were enough to keep cool. The tours were awesome. We experienced things that are once in a lifetime. People are shocked to hear that I went Piranha fishing and had it for dinner or that a monkey curled up with me in a hammock for a nap. The sunrise was spectacular and the night sky was amazing. I don't think I'll forget how many stars and shooting stars we saw. Not something we see everyday in our city. I also got to swing from a vine and tried to climb tree. The kids did much better at this activity. Our guide, Joao, was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and very patient with our group with so many questions. If you enjoy nature/camping you will enjoy being here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. After being in Rio with 3.5 million people for World Youth Day, it was a wonderful way to relax before coming home.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Deb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Autazes
8.7 mi away
Amazon Arowana Lodge
Amazon Arowana Lodge
#9 of 195 in Manaus
19 reviews
10 mi away
Dolphin Lodge
Dolphin Lodge
#1 of 15 in Careiro
98 reviews
0 mi away
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#15 of 234 in Amazon River
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juma Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juma Amazon Lodge

Address: Left Side of Juma River | Amazon Rain Forest, Autazes, State of Amazonas 69240-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Autazes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Autazes
Price Range: $555 - $1,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Juma Amazon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juma Amazon Lodge is a small and comfortable hotel designed to be totally integrated to the Amazon Jungle. The construction and operation of the lodge comply with and respect the limitations of the environment, which is the very reason for the hotel to exist. Juma Amazon Lodge's goal is to offer a real and unique experience in the untouched Amazon Rainforest. All trips are organized in small groups; guests can take part on many activities around the lodge, each one is designed to help explore and learn about this unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Juma Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juma Hotel Autazes
Juma Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing