We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Highlight of our time in Brazil”
Review of Juma Amazon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Juma Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Real Highlight of our time in Brazil”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had decided to include a jungle trip in our trip to Brazil and a friend had stayed at Juma Lodge so we booked a four day trip.
We were picked up in Manaus from our hotel.It is a long trip to Juma (about three hours). This includes two boat trips and and bus/van.
The only mis communication was re luggage. We had a long complicated trip and two big heavy cases full of clothes we would not need in the jungle. They recommend that you repack and bring just what you will need for the jungle trip. In fact Juma takes care of your excess luggage and arranges for it to be brought to the airport when you leave. Our connection was fairly tight upon departure and we worried that we would have to go back to our hotel in Manaus. In the end this was done seamlessly but was not well explained ahead of time.
The trip in was enjoyable especially when on the water. You pass through the Black and White Rivers on the way out from Manaus. Watch for it when you fly out. They are clearly visible from on high. It was amazing to feel the temperature difference.
Our host/guide, Tony was wonderful. He looked after us from the hotel pick up to our flight out. Great guy! Our party was small, three couples and we did everything together.
We arrived to a tropical drink in the reception area and two little howler monkeys playing around our chairs. Opinion on the monkeys varies. They are kept around as pets when young and are clearly an attraction for many. Some people, including one woman in our group and my friend who referred me here are afraid of the animals. At the age we saw them (six months) they are playful and affectionate but not dangerous. This apparently changes at around 1 year and they do not keep them after that.
The female curled up in my arms for a little nap the first day which was very endearing.
We loved our cabin. It is very private and has a lovely balcony with a nice big hammock. All cabins are up on stilts and platforms connect to the dining hall and reception area. You really feel that you are in the jungle with wild parrots, monkeys etc all around. The accommodations are comfortable and the food plentiful. If you want to try some Brazilian style food like fejoada it is there. If you want to stick to traditional North American/European food, there is plenty of that too.
You are kept busy with activities throughout your stay. Tony oriented us on the first night with maps and we went bird watching, fishing, hiking in the jungle and visited a small farm on the other side of the Amazon.
We wanted to get in the river and swim which we did twice a day during our stay. The location for swimming is not optimal as it is the boat dock. The water is bath water warm and we enjoyed our swims.
I would strongly recommend Juma for this kind of trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    62
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
88
142
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Juma Lodge! The trip to the Lodge by boat is very beautiful. The Lodge is totaly integrated into nature. Staff was very helpful and friendly! Food was great. We had a lot of fun with the activities, specially the jungle hike and canoeing in the evening. Also recommend the optional tours of boto encounter and tree climbing (the view at the top of the tree is amazing)! Juma is certainly an excelent option for those who want to be in contact with the Amazon Forest!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Juma has a beautiful setting right on the Amazon, and the rooms are on stilts over the water. Walking between rooms is via elevated boardwalk, also over the water. A Lodge representative picks you up in Manaus and takes you to a boat where you meet your Juma guide and then go upriver (about 2-3 hours) to the Lodge. This is all very professionally done, and very enjoyable. When at the Lodge, different canoes (each hold 12 people) take groups on trips around the rivers and to connect with jungle walks. For those staying 5 nights, Juma offers a "night in the jungle" on hammocks with mosquito netting (we did this and it was great fun). We enjoyed Juma and were impressed with their staff. However, We had 2 real complaints about Juma. First, our pour guide had to handle 11 people! So even though he sat in the middle seat of the 12 person canoe, only those within 1 or 2 seats of the guide could hear him. The same was true on the jungle walks - unless you were in the first 3 or 4 people (out of 11 or 12), you didn't hear or see much. It was very frustrating. The second complaint is more serious - of our party of 4 ALL of us became ill. And we spent 3 more weeks in Brazil and NEVER became ill. So that tells ua Juma isn't careful enough with their food preparation. Our theory is that the juice was watered down with untreated water.
So, in summary, this is a good lodge and could be a great lodge with a lower guide to guest ratio and more careful food prep.

Room Tip: The lake view bungalows are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cayakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Proprietário at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Cayakc

Thank you for your review about us.

Good to know that, overall, you had a good experience!

Usually we work up to ten people per boat, but sometimes, because of the high season, we have to work with a bit larger groups. But we are working on that: we bought one more boat to be able to provide always groups not bigger than ten people.

Our water comes from a well that we have in the back of the lodge. From this well we use a filter, in order to provide a clean water. I asked Renato, my partner that takes care of the maintainance, to keep monitoring it, in order to avoid any malfunction of our system.

Hope to see you again at the lodge.

Best Regards,

Caio Fonseca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Cons:
- Room infested with cockroaches - we even left one day earlier because we could not stand it (they did reimburse us, though). Management said however that they would take care of this infestation immediately... and that I honestly hope! It eventually ruined our holiday.
- Hot water in only some rooms; electricity just in the evening even though the rooms are very dark during the day
- Food: tasteless, boring, overcooked, recycled leftovers
- Restaurant: buffet style, no charm at all, no privacy - you must have dinner with the group which you do the activities during the day; no exclusive couple or family tables.
- Poor bar service: very few choices of drinks, expensive and limited wine and very slow bar service - no atmosphere in the evening, no lounge, nothing.
- Activities were too packed, 16 people on the group (including guide) - it makes the whole experience too touristy and not exclusive at all
- Piranha fishing during the flooded time does not make any sense as there are no piranhas at this time of the year - we spent hours looking for them and did not catch even one.
- Absurdly expensive for what you get.

Mixed feelings:
- There are very few animals in the area of the lodge because of the acidity of river waters in this region. On the other hand therefore there are practically no mosquitos.
- Staff: it is very nice that local people are employed and thus can make their livelihood. However many of them are unprepared and would need some training. Management is poor.
- Caiman spotting: do not expect to see many caimans. After an hour or so looking for it, the guide finally finds one, he catches it, all take a picture with the animal and the boat goes back to the lodge.

Pros:
- Truly beautiful landscape
- Very nice and friendly guide Joao
- The two friendly pet monkeys

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Priscila Salern... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Proprietário at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Priscila

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had a bad experience with us.

Just after your departure, we hired a fumigation company. They went to the lodge and didn´t find this infestation that you mention. Cida, our manager, took them to your room and no cockroaches were found. We spoke with the other guests that were at the lodge at the same time and they also didn´t see anything. Even though no coackroaches were found, the fumigation was done at the lodge as a precaution.

As you probably noticed in your stay at the lodge, we have a floating dock nearby the power generator. At this moment this floating dock is being prepared to receive 72 solar panels, which will provide green energy 24 hours a day. All the special bungalows will be provided with hot water.

Usually our guests enjoy eating together with their group, to change experiences. But we also offer the possibility of private groups, where everything is private: own table during the meals, activities with a private guide and transfers in a specific time.

Regarding our food and drinks, even though we are in the middle of the jungle, three hours away from the city (which envolves a big logistic), we try to do our best to provide different options. About two years ago, we hired a nutritionist to enhance our food, making it more versatile for different tourists. I am sorry that you didn´t enjoy it. We are always trying to improve it, with a regional but also international meal.

It is really more difficult fishing and spotting caimans during this season. On the other hand, it is the best season to row a canoe between the creeks formed by the flooded forest.

I hope that you can come back one day to change your thoughts about our lodge.

Sincerely,

Caio Fonseca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A great lodge with a great atmosphere--kind of primitive luxury. Our guide, Kenrick, was excellent--informative, friendly, knowledgeable. And our boat driver, Fabian, though he didn't talk much, knew how to command the boat! The food was excellent--with the only complaint being there was too much of it (do you need a buffet for only two guests?). Unlike another commenter, I felt no pressure to buy drinks or anything else for that matter. Everything was timely but low-key, low-pressure. A wonderful adventure on the Amazon.

Room Tip: Okay, there is no pool, but swimming in the Amazon is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanSchmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful lodge in an amazing location about 3 hours south of Manaus. Even the boat rides to reach the lodge are fantastic!
The transport is very well organized even with bigger luggage.
Our guide during the excursions was a local who spoke very good English, and knew the area and animals in depth! Absolutely amazing!
The rooms are very nice, the staff wonderful - only for somebody who is looking for evening entertainment or an extensive life around the bar should probably stay away from any vacation like this, or a stay at a lodge.

Room Tip: Only a few of the rooms have hot water. If you would like a room like that, I would recommend to men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Owner at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Annika

Thank you very much for your great review about our lodge!

I am happy to inform you that we began to install more solar panels, so in the near future all of our lake view bungalows will have hot water.

Hope to have you with us again one day.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
202 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable lodge in the middle of the Amazon. For those who may be used to 5 star African safari, it's not quite up there but is still very good, the food is excellent, the guides very competent, and the atmosphere enhanced by two pet monkeys. There are however a few things the traveler should be aware of. 1. In most of the bungalows there is no hot water, which is not a problem as its warm outside. 2. Drinks are not included in the price of the room, and you need to settle in CASH notes not credit card or anything else your drinks bill at the end of your stay. 3. It is in the jungle so be prepared to meet up with some bugs that you would not usually encounter. We were there at the end if the wet season, end of June so the jungle was flooded which was awesome, we swam a lot and my kids loved it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RHINOTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Owner at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello Thomas

Very nice to read such a good review!

In order to provide more bungalows with hot water, we began to install more solar panels.

Good that you mentioned also the form of payment at the lodge. Soon we will have the possibility to provide credit card payment there, because we will have 24 hours energy, provided also by solar panels.

Thank you very much for your great review!

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Autazes
10.0 mi away
Dolphin Lodge
Dolphin Lodge
#1 of 13 in Careiro
86 reviews
9.1 mi away
Amazon Turtle Lodge
Amazon Turtle Lodge
#2 of 13 in Careiro
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
#4 of 13 in Careiro
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#18 of 220 in Amazon River
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reserva Natural Palmari
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juma Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juma Amazon Lodge

Property: Juma Amazon Lodge
Address: Left Side of Juma River | Amazon Rain Forest, Autazes, State of Amazonas 69240-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Autazes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Autazes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Juma Amazon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juma Amazon Lodge is a small and comfortable hotel designed to be totally integrated to the Amazon Jungle. The construction and operation of the lodge comply with and respect the limitations of the environment, which is the very reason for the hotel to exist.Juma Amazon Lodge's goal is to offer a real and unique experience in the untouched Amazon Rainforest. All trips are organized in small groups; guests can take part on many activities around the lodge, each one is designed to help explore and learn about this unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Juma Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juma Hotel Autazes
Juma Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing