We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Juma Amazon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Juma Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful lodge in an amazing location about 3 hours south of Manaus. Even the boat rides to reach the lodge are fantastic!
The transport is very well organized even with bigger luggage.
Our guide during the excursions was a local who spoke very good English, and knew the area and animals in depth! Absolutely amazing!
The rooms are very nice, the staff wonderful - only for somebody who is looking for evening entertainment or an extensive life around the bar should probably stay away from any vacation like this, or a stay at a lodge.

Room Tip: Only a few of the rooms have hot water. If you would like a room like that, I would recommend to men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Owner at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Annika

Thank you very much for your great review about our lodge!

I am happy to inform you that we began to install more solar panels, so in the near future all of our lake view bungalows will have hot water.

Hope to have you with us again one day.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    62
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
88
142
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable lodge in the middle of the Amazon. For those who may be used to 5 star African safari, it's not quite up there but is still very good, the food is excellent, the guides very competent, and the atmosphere enhanced by two pet monkeys. There are however a few things the traveler should be aware of. 1. In most of the bungalows there is no hot water, which is not a problem as its warm outside. 2. Drinks are not included in the price of the room, and you need to settle in CASH notes not credit card or anything else your drinks bill at the end of your stay. 3. It is in the jungle so be prepared to meet up with some bugs that you would not usually encounter. We were there at the end if the wet season, end of June so the jungle was flooded which was awesome, we swam a lot and my kids loved it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RHINOTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Owner at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello Thomas

Very nice to read such a good review!

In order to provide more bungalows with hot water, we began to install more solar panels.

Good that you mentioned also the form of payment at the lodge. Soon we will have the possibility to provide credit card payment there, because we will have 24 hours energy, provided also by solar panels.

Thank you very much for your great review!

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This lodge in the middle of a jungle is very comfortable (I have stayed in lesser hotels in capital cities). The guides are incredibly knowledgeable of the area, the culture, and the local customs. The activities are fascinating. The staff is very attentive. Lots of tasty food. It was a relief to be away from telephone and internet. Don't expect city luxuries like hot water (yet) or air conditioning, but that is not why you go to the Amazon rain forest.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited the Juma Amazon Lodge the end of May 2013. It was trully an amazing experience The people were great, the service was great and experience was one of a kind. We visited the Amazon when the water was near the high mark for the year and within 0.5 meters of the 2012 record. We enjoyed all of the activities including the jungle hikes, swimming, piranha fishing, and other tours. The food was very good but was typical Brazilian food of the area-lots of fruit, fish, mandioca, rice and beans. It was great to live in the huts on stilts. We enjoyed the combination of planned activities combined with a very relaxing environment. We did not bring any electronics and our son did not complain one bit with all of the things to do and adventures. We have spent many years outside camping and hiking. I think any family that enjoys an upscale outdoor experience and relaxing environment will love Juma Lodge.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Remoteness matters! This was the true amazon experience in comfort. We were looked after like VIPs. Airport pick up and drop off. Transfers by car, minibus and boats. The journey to the lodge takes several thrilling and amazing hours. Activities are brilliant. Would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan100london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We were never meant to stay at Juma lodge. We originally booked Tupana lodge but on the morning we were picked up in Manaus we were told Tupana's generator was broken so we would be upgraded to Juma. Thanks to Juma for taking us in at short notice.

We stayed 4 nights/5 days, although to describe it as such is being a little generous. Strictly it was 4 nights/3.5 days - half of the first day is a 3 hour transfer out to the lodge, the final day is the same transfer reversed back to Manaus. The transfer out there consists of a 30 minute van ride to the port in Manaus, a 30 minute boat ride across the river going over the meeting of the waters, a 1 hour van ride further into the wilderness and finally a 1 hour boat ride to the lodge. Same in reverse for transfer back. No air conditioning in the 1 hour van leg so it was windows open all the way. There were separate members of lodge staff accompanying/driving on each leg, all wearing the Juma lodge t-shirt. I don't want to sound like a moaning tourist who believes English should be spoken everywhere by everyone, but none of them spoke a single word of English or even attempted to communicate with us.

Arriving at the lodge we were given a chilled mystery fruit drink, received our key and showed to our room. We were just told to meet in the restaurant for lunch. No time was given but we worked out it was 12pm from the info on the back of our room door. This was a bit disorientating and after the excitement of arriving at the lodge we asked ourselves what is there actually to do?

The lodge was very quiet, there were no more than 8 or 9 guests there at any one time. It was the low season but I didn't expect it to be that quiet given they have 20 or so rooms.

As we had booked a river view at Tupana we were given one of the slightly pricier over water river view lodges at Juma. These are really lovely creations. They are very spacious and have a hammock on the balcony, ideal for chilling out in with a view over the river and trees. The bed was very comfy with huge pillows. Plenty of hooks to dry clothes on (if you go swimming or get rained on) and adequate storage for a short stay. You can see the water below through the gaps in the floorboards, and it's just a mosquito mesh covering the window, no glass, all very nice. The lodge itself does rock slightly if you move too fast across it or a boat in the river creates some waves which all adds to the experience.

The bathroom was pretty good although it isn't completely separate from the room, it's a sort of open top unit in its own right placed in the lodge. There's a lovely spacious shower cubicle although the tap was made out of cheap plastic so felt a bit flimsy. There's no hot water at the lodge but the water is still warm enough to shower in. Separate bin for toilet paper as understandably the plumbing can't take it.

The food in the restaurant was good although I can't say it was excellent, maybe problematic of it being served buffet style. There seemed to be a standard formula for lunch and dinner of rice and/or pasta with a meat, chicken, fish or bean stew dish. There was always fresh fruit and juice available as well as salads. The selection was good but after a few meals it got a bit boring. Breakfast was similar; a formula of eggs cooked various ways, frankfurters in sauce and sausage with onions. The only cereals available were very sweet children's cereals. Again lots of fruit always available. The menus just seemed to lack imagination and it would have been nice to be taught about typical Brazilian ways of cooking meat or fish, a nice touch at breakfast was the tapioca cooked fresh on a hot plate but there was nothing like this at lunch or dinner. Further, we caught piranhas but these never appeared for us to eat.

So, accommodation and food covered the activities work as follows. A typical full day at the lodge consists of breakfast at 7am, an activity from 8.30am until 11ish, lunch at 12pm, another activity from 3pm until 6ish, dinner at 7pm. If the lodge is doing the cayman spotting that will run from about 8pm until 10ish, but that doesn't happen every night. It's pretty formulaic how it's run, however note what you see advertised in the itinerary on the website is not exactly what you will be doing in that exact order. However if you stay a decent amount of time (3 nights) you will cover it all.

We covered a flooded forest boat trip right in to dense forest (watch out for the spiky trees), sunset on the way back, two jungle walks, lunch in the jungle at this outpost the lodge has, two sessions of piranha fishing, cayman spotting, early morning sunrise and a visit to a local family and fruit plantation. All of these activities involve boat trips of varying length so bring lots of sunscreen. The Mosquitos aren't too bad because of the black water but there are still some, especially in the evening and on the jungle walks. They also won't let you on the jungle walks unless you are wearing long trousers.

Our guide was Matteus who was very knowledgable about the local plants, trees and wildlife. He spoke good English as well as Spanish. He also helped us get a monkey out of our room and organised canoes for us. Lock your doors at all times as they can easily get in.

The other staff around the lodge were quite friendly, although they seemed distant. I'm not sure if this was a shyness but it felt like only Matteus was the one who could help us in any meaningful way. It may have been the language barrier but like the staff involved in the transfer they didn't speak English which made it difficult for us to ask them anything.

Between activities and meal times, or if you want to opt out of an activity (as we did on the third full day to avoid another sweltering jungle walk) you can take paddle canoes out from the jetty and go around the waters on your own. You can also go swimming in the river - seemed perfectly safe, relax in the hammock hut or get a drink from the bar. The drinks are quite reasonably priced, 3 reals for a soft drink, 8 for a caipirinha. The wine is very expensive (bring your own).

The place really is wonderful and it's amazing how its been built over the water, but the whole experience might be too organised and packaged for some. Also, take in to account the cost of this place, it is up there on a per night basis with the very top 5 star hotels worldwide. I can understand that the cost of getting stuff out there is always going to be a problem and all meals and activities are included but it still seems expensive. Glad we got the free upgrade from Tupana.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vonman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Proprietário at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Gooner88

Thank you very much for your great comment about our lodge. Good to know your thoughts and be sure that we will use them to improve our services.

Our rates are based in our costs, which are high mainly because of our location far away the city.

We also do have high costs with generator, but fortunately we were able to purchase a solar system and in the mid term our costs will reduce.

Matheus is one of our new guides, it is important for us to have your praise about his services.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Juma Lodge. Had a lovely time. Good food , interesting activities and friendly staff made it even more enjoyable. 2 little monkeys are very entertaining but they enjoy young and pretty girls more than men. Only joking. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamalseda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Autazes
Dolphin Lodge
#1 of 12 in Careiro
83 reviews
Amazon Turtle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Careiro
59 reviews
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
#4 of 12 in Careiro
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#19 of 215 in Amazon River
65 reviews
City Center
Hotel Cuca Legal
Hotel Cuca Legal
#3 of 7 in Presidente Figueiredo
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juma Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juma Amazon Lodge

Property: Juma Amazon Lodge
Address: Left Side of Juma River | Amazon Rain Forest, Autazes, State of Amazonas 69240-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Autazes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Autazes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Juma Amazon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juma Amazon Lodge is a small and comfortable hotel designed to be totally integrated to the Amazon Jungle. The construction and operation of the lodge comply with and respect the limitations of the environment, which is the very reason for the hotel to exist.Juma Amazon Lodge's goal is to offer a real and unique experience in the untouched Amazon Rainforest. All trips are organized in small groups; guests can take part on many activities around the lodge, each one is designed to help explore and learn about this unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Juma Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juma Hotel Autazes
Juma Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing