We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience in the Amazon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Juma Amazon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Juma Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great experience in the Amazon”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at Juma for a 3 night package. This is a great rustic location in the Amazon. There are approximately 20 cabins all built on high stilts above the high water line of Juma River. All cabins and main reception room and restaurant room are connected by tree top walkways. Arrival to Juma is via Manaus and takes about 3 hours as a mix of van and boat trip. There is no road access and the mode of getting around the area is by boat. There is quite a steep swaying staircase from the Juma dock up to the reception and cabins. This is not a place for young children as the walkways are planks sometimes uneven and the hand rails are not child safe. It is perfect for adults or older children and teens. All the staff were fantastic including our guide, Kendrick and boat driver Alex. Kendrick spoke fluent English as did some of the other staff. Our days were filled with interesting river and jungle tours and Kendrick was very informative about the Amazon, plant and animal life. We even had demonstrations on how to make a fully functiinal bow and arrow during our nature walk in the jungle. The walk was not strenuous or long as most of the time was spent looking at plants or wildlife. The cabins were comfortable with running water for shower, sink and toilet...cool water only so don't expect a
warm shower. The generator runs from 6 pm through until 7 am and again from 1pm to 3 pm which is when you can charge your electronic devices. Plenty of 110 volt electric outlets in the room. There is no internet available so this is a good opportunity to get that break from
technology. The buffet meals had a good selection of fruit, vegetables, baked goods, and hot dishes. Meals were at 7 am, 1200 and 7 pm and the included tours were scheduled around these times. Be sure to take cash to settle your beverage bills as they do not take credit cards. There are two young monkeys living at the lodge. These little guys give true meaning to monkey business as they will climb all over you and play with you tirelessly.They have also mastered opening door handles, unscrewing lightbulbs and will steal anything they get their hands on. Be sure to bolt your cabin door with the key! We really loved the 3 night stay and found this to be a good length of time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    62
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
88
142
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Fantastic vacation! Cobra was our guide and we could not have been in better hands. The lodge is crazy fun. . . lots to do, but not too much . . . good food . . . excellent staff . You feel like you have really entered the jungle and not some staged adventure. It's way out there; almost no action on the river from other folks. We had the time of our lives. The monkeys are even fun. We also bonded with other guests who shared our table. Once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Built on stilts, the Juma Lodge features private cottages in the flooded jungle. During the wet season, water is literally two feet under your floorboards. During the dry season, the waters recede and you find yourself walking 30 to 40 feet in the air to get to your cabin. (Yes, the rivers do actually rise 30-40 feet during wet season.)

If you want jungle adventures, you won't go wrong here. They offer a variety of excursions and experiences depending on your preferences.

Each cabin has a in-suite bathroom, but supposedly only four have hot water for the showers. Ask which ones are available if that's a game changer for you.

Each cabin has a porch outside with a hammock and a table and chairs. Resting in the hammock, feeling the warm but refreshing breezes and watching the river flow by is the ultimate relaxation.

Meals are served in a common area with a buffet set up for all meals. There were always multiple entrees to choose from and everything was tasty and served hot. If you fish and catch something, the chef will prepare it for you for your next meal..

Experienced guides are available to take you hiking or boating through the jungle. They are an abundance of information and you'll undoubtedly learn a lot just by listening.

Room Tip: Ask for one with the hot showers - only four available as of July 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

In the heart of the river and the jungle, we picked the flood season to visit the amazon. I had been dreaming of this Amazonian visit since 12 yrs and juma lodge was like a cherry on the cake. All the staff from the word go till the end was fantastic.
Away from all communication in the peace of soooo much fresh water that you can swim in and brilliant nature the lodge is very well situated.
We saw a lot of monkeys, dolphins on various occasions and spotted caimans on 2 nights. We also picked a great fancy towards toad spotting after the full day of fun activities with our tour guide. Although we have seen and held a lot of crocodiles for pictures in zoo's but hunting and grabbing a caiman in the wild was excellent.. Haulys (our guide) thanks for a great trip.. And Alex you rock. We made great friends , awesome pictures and will grab any opportunity of going forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourdovetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at Juma Lodge for 3 nights over the new year's eve with two children. Let me begin by saying that the place is amazing, its truly unique and the people who run the place treat you like family. Like I said we were with two very small and I knew it would be rough and yes, it is rustic. But it isn't uncomfortable. In fact, there is so much attention to detail (electric fan), hammocks, lights - you almost forget that you are surrounded by 1000 miles of forest on all sides. We had one of the rooms on the lake and we could see river at night and hear the birds every morning.

II really cannot think of anything negative except may be the food can be more 'local'. I guess they are trying to cater to all tastes and given that guests don't have any other options, they do their best. The Breakfast was always fantastic, fresh juices, fresh fruits, so were the desserts. I was a little disappointed with the lack of new veggies or more fish.

A word of caution for those who aren't the roughing it out sorts - this place is really away from it. It takes 3 hours to get here and there is literally nothing else around. The entire hotel is built on stilts over the river so you have get used to the swaying and when we went it was hot! So come prepared to spend a few memorable days in the Amazon and remember its a jungle so don't expect a 5-star resort!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelomnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The 3 hour bus and boat ride to get to Juma Lodge was worth every minute. Lodge is built on stilts and walkways take you everywhere. Staff is very friendly, food delicious! 2 very people-friendly monkeys made the experience even more fun! Caiman spotting at night and jungle hike with grilled fish for lunch were our favorite excursions. Ensuite room very comfortable with an electric fan at night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
signora
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

You can't imagine that you'll find this magic place in the middle of the Amazonas... After a 3 hour trip you reach the lodge. It is entirely built on palafits, the rooms offer a peerless view on the river: while you are in your bed you can see the moon reflecting on the water. The tours everyday are interesting and the food is ok considering that you are in the middle of the forest. And the special guest Isabel (the tapir) is the best! highly suggested.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uppival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Autazes
Dolphin Lodge
#1 of 12 in Careiro
83 reviews
Amazon Turtle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Careiro
59 reviews
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
#4 of 12 in Careiro
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#19 of 215 in Amazon River
65 reviews
City Center
Hotel Cuca Legal
Hotel Cuca Legal
#3 of 7 in Presidente Figueiredo
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juma Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juma Amazon Lodge

Property: Juma Amazon Lodge
Address: Left Side of Juma River | Amazon Rain Forest, Autazes, State of Amazonas 69240-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Autazes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Autazes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Juma Amazon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juma Amazon Lodge is a small and comfortable hotel designed to be totally integrated to the Amazon Jungle. The construction and operation of the lodge comply with and respect the limitations of the environment, which is the very reason for the hotel to exist.Juma Amazon Lodge's goal is to offer a real and unique experience in the untouched Amazon Rainforest. All trips are organized in small groups; guests can take part on many activities around the lodge, each one is designed to help explore and learn about this unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Juma Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juma Hotel Autazes
Juma Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing