We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Menu for the Adventurous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anderson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fortrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anderson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Menu for the Adventurous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having lived near The Anderson, I thought it about time to try out the restaurant. They have just reopened after some sort of refurbishment, although I am unsure to which part of the premises (bar, restaurant, hotel rooms).
We had a choice when reserving a table to sit in the Whisky Bar or the dining room. We went for the dining room (it's not massive, so I recommend phoning in advance).
There was a large party that ordered just before us, so we had to wait a bit longer for the food. No worries.
The menu is amazing and extremely creative! Plenty of choice to serve even the fussiest of eaters (decent burger menu...complete with a £25 competition burger...you know, eat the whole meal in under 20 mins and get it free, t shirt, name on wall of shame...).
We are on a post holiday, skint until payday budget, so skipped starters (good choices £6-7 each).
Main meals come with potatoes (sautéed veg £2 extra).
My boyfriend opted for the beef fillet tips with cacharel blue cheese sauce and mushrooms.(£14) He loved the it!
I went for the pheasant pie (also had black pudding and a few mushrooms in it) (£12) Came with chips. Rich taste to the runny gravy inside. Pheasant is new to me, so was well impressed.
I was stuffed. We opted to skip the desserts this time (a rarity!). There was a really good dessert menu with a fairly large selection from simple ice cream (£1.50 a scoop) to Anne's American Crack Pie with ice cream. Rice pudding, sticky toffee pudding, apple cake and the obligatory cheese board were also on the menu (along with a couple other choices). But they were a bit steep at £6 each.
The main meals ranged from £12-27 with most around £17-20 ish.

I definitely recommend tryin this place if you are in the area. They use fresh, local produce and the menu varies frequently to accommodate what food they can get in. This was our one last treat before heading back to work and it was worth it!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sammej79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    38
    11
    13
    3
See reviews for
40
103
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Anderson offered me refuge and a delicious meal at the end of an epic trip down the Caledonian canals by canoe a couple of years ago and so I was keen when returning to the area to share the culinary delights with my boyfriend. After driving up all the way from Edinburgh via the Cairngorms I was a little nervous that my slightly starving water weakened self might have over egged the delicious feast. However my memory had served me right and we enjoyed delicious grub, good wine and a host with a easy honest manor and a vast knowledge with all the fine products under his roof, including a whiskey collection to die for. Thank you once again for looking after us so well !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pipsqueakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munlochy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The pub part of the Anderson is grim and my husband and I were disappointed to say the least - old tatty furniture which you wouldn't give to a charity the main part of the pub is ok but if you just want a drink and a relaxing evening without having to dine in then this is not the place to stay. We did have evening meal in the restaurant one evening and were disappointed to say the least - still each to their own - far better places not too far away!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

one of the best meals i have had in years great food did not have any complaints about it. brilliant little pub excellent choice of whiskeys and beer staff are so welcoming friendly and make you feel so relaxed and comfortable. will definitely be going again. was not disappointed once

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for one night as a stop-off between Aberdeenshire and Skye, and it was a great location and an area we probably wouldn't have seen if not for the great reviews we saw of The Anderson beforehand! The restaurant and pub, as stated by others, was just wonderful - easily the best meal of our ten-night trip. They had a great real ale and cider selection in addition to what seemed like every whiskey ever. The staff were young, sweet and friendly, really just delightful! Our room was nice and clean, and it was wonderful to just toddle upstairs after a delicious meal and cosy evening in the pub. The owner was away while we were there, but his little touches of Americana and FAQ sheet were very cute (his take on haggis was just right: every place has their own version, and he grew up with scrapple, as did I). Delightful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splendidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A very old property which the owners are working to improve. They've done a great job with what they have. The restaurant is top class, which is great as there aren't many choices in the area. Our room needed lots of work. I was happy that we were able to check out before the lock mechanism fell out of the door! The room was tired and tight, but clean. Although we were overlooking the main road, this was not a problem as there's not much traffic through here.
Jim, the owner/manager, was everything from the chief greeter to the main cook/bottle-washer, and was always interacting with his guests. He (and his pub) made an otherwise average stay more pleasant.

Room Tip: Go for rooms above the main lobby. They seem to be bigger and nicer than the room we had (#7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleStillwater_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We (husband and I) spent two nights here. We have been coming with our family for ten years and staying in the Munlochy Bay area in a cottage. This was our first time without the 'family' and we decided to stay at The Anderson instead of just having a meal there. I was really enchanted with the room we stayed in - quirky and charming. The food was delicious in the restaurant, I had possibly the best scallops I have ever tasted in a Scottish restaurant.
The bar has a vast array of beers and whiskies to try. My husband loved this.
The staff were all lovely and helpful. I would highly recommend every aspect of this lovely hotel.
However do not expect the facilities of some of the larger chains - no internet and very patchy mobile reception - but personally I welcomed this.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1, above the bar, but hardly an issue as we heard little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teapot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortrose
6.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
16.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
7.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
9.3 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anderson

Property: The Anderson
Address: Union Street, Fortrose IV10 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish restaurant with rooms on the beautiful Black Isle, featuring a new menu of exotic Global Cuisine every day. The fire lit Whisky Bar stocks more than 200 single-malts, 100 Belgian beers and well-tendered real ales. Convenient to Inverness and perfect for golfing, walking and dolphin-watching. Nine well-appointed ensuite guest rooms. "Top Ten Scottish Restaurants 2007??? (Sunday Herald) "You'll be treated like royalty" (Scotland for Dummies) ???A beer drinker’s Mecca. (CAMRA, Pub of the Year 2007) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anderson Hotel Fortrose
Anderson Hotel Fortrose
The Anderson Fortrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing