We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome on Black Isle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anderson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fortrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anderson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A warm welcome on Black Isle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Anderson offered me refuge and a delicious meal at the end of an epic trip down the Caledonian canals by canoe a couple of years ago and so I was keen when returning to the area to share the culinary delights with my boyfriend. After driving up all the way from Edinburgh via the Cairngorms I was a little nervous that my slightly starving water weakened self might have over egged the delicious feast. However my memory had served me right and we enjoyed delicious grub, good wine and a host with a easy honest manor and a vast knowledge with all the fine products under his roof, including a whiskey collection to die for. Thank you once again for looking after us so well !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pipsqueakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    38
    11
    13
    3
See reviews for
39
103
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
munlochy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The pub part of the Anderson is grim and my husband and I were disappointed to say the least - old tatty furniture which you wouldn't give to a charity the main part of the pub is ok but if you just want a drink and a relaxing evening without having to dine in then this is not the place to stay. We did have evening meal in the restaurant one evening and were disappointed to say the least - still each to their own - far better places not too far away!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

one of the best meals i have had in years great food did not have any complaints about it. brilliant little pub excellent choice of whiskeys and beer staff are so welcoming friendly and make you feel so relaxed and comfortable. will definitely be going again. was not disappointed once

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for one night as a stop-off between Aberdeenshire and Skye, and it was a great location and an area we probably wouldn't have seen if not for the great reviews we saw of The Anderson beforehand! The restaurant and pub, as stated by others, was just wonderful - easily the best meal of our ten-night trip. They had a great real ale and cider selection in addition to what seemed like every whiskey ever. The staff were young, sweet and friendly, really just delightful! Our room was nice and clean, and it was wonderful to just toddle upstairs after a delicious meal and cosy evening in the pub. The owner was away while we were there, but his little touches of Americana and FAQ sheet were very cute (his take on haggis was just right: every place has their own version, and he grew up with scrapple, as did I). Delightful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Splendidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A very old property which the owners are working to improve. They've done a great job with what they have. The restaurant is top class, which is great as there aren't many choices in the area. Our room needed lots of work. I was happy that we were able to check out before the lock mechanism fell out of the door! The room was tired and tight, but clean. Although we were overlooking the main road, this was not a problem as there's not much traffic through here.
Jim, the owner/manager, was everything from the chief greeter to the main cook/bottle-washer, and was always interacting with his guests. He (and his pub) made an otherwise average stay more pleasant.

Room Tip: Go for rooms above the main lobby. They seem to be bigger and nicer than the room we had (#7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleStillwater_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We (husband and I) spent two nights here. We have been coming with our family for ten years and staying in the Munlochy Bay area in a cottage. This was our first time without the 'family' and we decided to stay at The Anderson instead of just having a meal there. I was really enchanted with the room we stayed in - quirky and charming. The food was delicious in the restaurant, I had possibly the best scallops I have ever tasted in a Scottish restaurant.
The bar has a vast array of beers and whiskies to try. My husband loved this.
The staff were all lovely and helpful. I would highly recommend every aspect of this lovely hotel.
However do not expect the facilities of some of the larger chains - no internet and very patchy mobile reception - but personally I welcomed this.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1, above the bar, but hardly an issue as we heard little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teapot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stepping into The Anderson for the first time is like entering the Old Curiosity Shop, full of little treasures, the Inn itself is one big treasure. Room 4 offers a great nights sleep (the traffic below is unavoidable but hardly noticable) and was clean and tidy if not a wee bit tired. The bar is something else!! 250+ whiskies and 80+ belgian beers set in such quirky surroundings makes for a great night. The staff are wonderful and can recommend a beer or whisky to suit every preference-personally I found the raspberry beer on draught delicious. The restaurant menu was of a standard matched with the best of them, the haddock tartlet and brie with poached pear starters and ravioli with truffle and sirloin steak mains was cooked to perfection. Breakfast served in the atmospheric lounge was the icing on the cake, shall be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphysGirl_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortrose
6.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
9.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.9 mi away
Smithton Hotel
Smithton Hotel
#31 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
8.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anderson

Property: The Anderson
Address: Union Street, Fortrose IV10 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish restaurant with rooms on the beautiful Black Isle, featuring a new menu of exotic Global Cuisine every day. The fire lit Whisky Bar stocks more than 200 single-malts, 100 Belgian beers and well-tendered real ales. Convenient to Inverness and perfect for golfing, walking and dolphin-watching. Nine well-appointed ensuite guest rooms. "Top Ten Scottish Restaurants 2007??? (Sunday Herald) "You'll be treated like royalty" (Scotland for Dummies) ???A beer drinker’s Mecca. (CAMRA, Pub of the Year 2007) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anderson Hotel Fortrose
Anderson Hotel Fortrose
The Anderson Fortrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing