We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky and friendly pub on the Black Isle”
Review of The Anderson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fortrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anderson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night to view the dolphins off Chanonry Point (weren't disappointed!). This is a lovely, quirky building with a wonderful hodge-podge decor and styles. The room was big with a huge comfy bed (but tiny bathroom - never mind, it worked OK). Meal was lovely in a very stylish restaurant and it was great for the American landlord to come round for a chat with everyone - and next day to remember things we had told him about ourselves. Unfortunately we aren't whisky drinkers but there is an amazing selection of them if you are a fan!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Friends had recommended this place - it proved to be my fav restaurant on a 2-week trip to Scotland. The Anderson is owned by an American couple and boy, can she ever cook! Scottish dishes with a twist as well as international fare. One of our party had steak pie - two thumbs up. I had haddock and scallops - simply prepared and delicious. Lots of fresh veg was served with each plate. Unfortunately, the steak filet and bbq'd chicken entrees did not hit as high marks. Desserts were good and what's not to like of 250 brands of Scotch adorning their well-worn bar? We will be back to explore the Black Isle and sample more of what The Anderson has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is hands down my favourite place to eat and drink in Scotland and last week I had the pleasure of staying the night too. In fact I'd be happy to stay for a week just going through the whisky list. Highly recommended all round and great hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_l_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed there for one night during a visit to the Black Isle. We had our main meal there and our breakfast and both of these were tremendous and the portions were generous. The main menu has a very impressive choice of dishes.
The public bar and whisky bar between them have a huge selection of bottled beers and malt whiskies including beers from up and coming local brewer Cromarty Brewing. Throughout our time there the staff and owner were courteous, polite and friendly and the barman was happy to shoot the breeze with us after most of the other customers had gone.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleselABeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The best Hotel and Restaurant We’ve ever seen.
Thanks for the great time we spent on your site, Jim an Ann.
Frendly, lovely, helpful, many whiskies… That’s only the beginning of an list.
We will come back.
Anna, Astrid and Frank from Germany

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank test t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food was good BUT service was poor. Admittedly we were a big party (12) but the service was uncoordinated with food coming out at very long intervals. Nobody was eating together. Putting out glasses for wine seemed somewhat an imposition (and, of course, took time)! Such a shame. It could have been 5 Star and would have been if there was a passion to delight the Customer.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank You-Dog-You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in Fortrose for part of our honeymoon and were told the Anderson would be a good place to eat. It's fantastic! Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, excellent food (Lamb burgers are scrummy). You'll be missing a treat if you don't try this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Little_Miss_81_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortrose
6.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
7 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
229 reviews
9.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#2 of 6 in Fortrose
96 reviews
0 mi away
Hillhaven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anderson

Address: Union Street, Fortrose IV10 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Price Range: $68 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish restaurant with rooms on the beautiful Black Isle, featuring a new menu of exotic Global Cuisine every day. The fire lit Whisky Bar stocks more than 200 single-malts, 100 Belgian beers and well-tendered real ales. Convenient to Inverness and perfect for golfing, walking and dolphin-watching. Nine well-appointed ensuite guest rooms. "Top Ten Scottish Restaurants 2007??? (Sunday Herald) "You'll be treated like royalty" (Scotland for Dummies) ???A beer drinker’s Mecca. (CAMRA, Pub of the Year 2007) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anderson Hotel Fortrose
Anderson Hotel Fortrose
The Anderson Fortrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing