We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to be patient!”
Review of Chanonry Point

Chanonry Point
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.97*
and up
Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and...
More Info
$98.29*
and up
Highlander Loch Ness Day Tour from Inverness
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You have to be patient!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is without a doubt, the uk's number 1 spot for seeing the dolphins. As a rule, it's a good idea to get local knowledge of tide times. Ideally, you need to arrive about 1 hour before low tide, and be prepared to stick it out for a good 5-6 hours. I see too many people, have a 10 mins wonder, and then give up. If a high volume of fish travel up the firth, then normally a large number of dolphins will arrive, putting on a great display. Again, there is no guarantee, as you have to appreciate these are wild animals. Don't get me wrong, it's great when they show. But i'd rather take a trip to cromarty, and go on the ecoventures speed boat trip. You just can't beat having them right up close to the boat, whilst actually being in the water with them. The skipper Sarah, is fantastic, putting her heart and soul in trying to find them for you. Being closer to the boat, i find increases chances of nice pics. I have been on ecoventures numerous times now. Good luck!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IsoMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    124
    37
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A treasured place. Wildlife at its best.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Before you go remember that the Moray Firth dolphins are wild, they don't perform here at given times and you may not be lucky enough to see them. Be prepared to have to go back several times and stand about a while. The best time in my experience is just after low tide. I have visited in May, June, August and September and always seen them at this time going just after low tide. Wear a lot of clothing, even on a hot day it can get cold standing about and take binoculars so you can see them further out as sometimes they put in great displays. It's amazing to see them and I have taken various friends to the point to show them this great wildlife spectacle. If you're not lucky enough to see them keep going back and don't give up. It's incredible how close they are to you and that they choose to come here when the have a whole ocean. There are normally seasoned people around who if you chat to will be more than happy to inform you of best times and other local wildlife to see so be sociable I learnt so much from visiting this point about other places to go and see the dolphins and other birds/mammals. Good luck dolphin spotting!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lalaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This place stole my heart”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went to chanonry point 3 times and 2 of those the dolphins were sommersaulting and having fun close to where we were standing on the beach...even with a regular camera I have been able to take wonderful close-up pictures of them and since we went this year for the first time, we have said we will return every year...this place has stole our hearts and we have seen a lot of Scotland but this is the top! You need to go from 1 hour after low tide to have the best chance of seeing them and the sights are better then the ones you get from any boattrip...in fact the boats come watching the dolphins from the water when we are much closer of these same dolpins on the shore...a boat trip would be a rip-off!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyMuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Frolicking Dolphins”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A lovely beach and lighthouse tucked away near Fortrose. A great place to spend a morning walking or dolphin watching. I have never gone there and not seen dolphins. And even if you don't it's a brilliant location. Go walk the beach...it's a lovely place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank StephenLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dolphin Spotting”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We took a drive to Chanonry Point 29 July, in search of the pod of Dolphins in the Moray firth.We were not disappointed. After about half an hour they appeared, although they were not close to the shore as they can be at times. Chanonry is a great point to view the fantastic creatures. My Grandsons played quite happily on the beach and had a paddle in the sea. There is a picnic area with table and benches, right below the Lighthouse. We all had a wonderful time that afternoon at Chanonry Point.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank highlandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanonry Point also viewed

Ardersier, Inverness
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Chanonry Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing