We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faith in Highland Vegetarian Cuisine restored.”
Review of Eilean Dubh Restaurant - CLOSED

Eilean Dubh Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family run restaurant which specialises in locally sourced and cooked foods. We make everything on site and are proud to be the holders of the best locally sourced restaurant title in Scotland. We can accommodate most dietary requirements but very specific requests should be notified. We offer a range of service times from breakfasts till 11.30Am , lunches till 5pm and a proper restaurant menu in the evenings. As we cook everything from scratch including all our kids meals please do not get us confused with a greasy spoon cafe! Or pub grub style. Our pride is in what we produce. We grow a lot of our ingredients on our own farm and source from our neighbouring farms and we can always tell you who supplied our steaks.
Strathpeffer
1 review
“Faith in Highland Vegetarian Cuisine restored.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It can be difficult at times being a veggie in the Highlands at times most places to eat out treat not eating meat as an inconvenience at least.
(Unless you eat at at our restaurant) Last night, however was completely different. Eilean Dubh in Fortrose has three choices on the menu every day and veggie specials on the board. Just about all the produce used comes from either their own farm or a neighbours. Great food, great hosts and a selection of real ale in bottles. Thank you Graham for making a wonderful 20th anniversary dinner. Will definitely be going again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richmondhighlandhote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    85
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a lovely evening here enjoying the tasty food. Roast beef was excellent. The rib eye steak was tender and flavoursome. The whiskey and peppercorn sauce was very well flavoured with whiskey which is not a common occurrence in restaurants. Even a sniff of it made me quite tipsy!! There was a really nice vegetable accompaniment and their special chips were very good.
The ice cream was fine but the raspberry crannachan was too sweet and came minus the home made shortbread. It was, however, provided, along with profuse apologies, when I was halfway through my sweet. I wouldn't have this again though.

The Loch Ness Red beer which is brewed at Drumnadrochit was extremely enjoyable so much so that we travelled to the brewery shop to buy some for our return home along with some of their unique glasses.

If we return to Fortrose we will definitely book a table again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dolphin watching then a lovely lunch”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a drive around Fortrose and Rosemarkie and were fortunate enough to see a few dolphins playing at the spit of land beside the golf course. Lunch beckoned and I'd already read about this place on the Internet. It was quiet on this Saturday lunchtime, but the food was good and the service was professional from the young owners. Apparently, it's very popular with the locals in the evenings. I had a sandwich while my wife had a crab salad. No complaints from either of us. The menu was interesting and I think it would definitely be a good place to have dinner in the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel_duthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited for lunch after a recommendation and wasn't disappointed. Excellent selection from the menu with daily specials. Food locally sourced where possible and locally brewed real ales.Quality of the food was excellent with good sized portions.
First class service, very friendly staff.
Some customers were just coming in for soup or coffee and cakes and all looked very good.
Would certainly recommend this restaurant and look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Invernessdruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eilean Dubh”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had 2 great meals here, excellent food and wine, and the servive was great. One of the best restaurants that we have tried in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colshols22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eilean Dubh Restaurant also viewed

Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
 
Munlochy, Ross and Cromarty
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing