We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anderson

The Anderson
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Fortrose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Attentive service and food out of this world! So glad our hosts at Hillhaven had booked a table for us on the Saturday night as would hate to have missed this experience. Up there with the best of dining establishments!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buzzardchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    43
    15
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Whiskey Menu.... this is the place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great Place if you like whiskey, the menu looked great but try and book up the day before to get a chance of a table. Lots of 'different and imported' beers to tempt the palate and a menu that I believe sits at 230 'single malts'!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyBeresford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh yes, its Beer Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

A pub that has beer for lovers of beers... just go read their bottled beer list and drool, not to mention the ample Craft Keg and Hand-pulled selection.
The food and service were very good, waiting staff were entertaining, polite and just nicely attentive. We would be very interested to try more of their menu.
We are new to holidays in Scotland but this place will definitely be seeing us again just as soon as we can get up to Inverness on Holiday again :)
This is a beery review, stuff Loch Ness, you could spend many a happy evening here sampling their drinks range.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pdtnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fast food it aint, good food it is.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived having booked a table for 8pm on a Saturday evening and the place was buzzing. We were shown into the bar and had a drink. One of the very pleasant staff brought a menu so we settled down to study the form. After a while we were ready to order and placed our order. We went through to the dining room at about 8-30. The dining room was full with very happy people eating and chatting. A great atmosphere. Our starters were served at around 9-15, A long wait but we had been warned by the proprietor that the kitchen was under pressure. Ok the wait was long but the food was excellent. We had soup, grilled oysters,Scallops and something else which I cant remember. All good! Onto the main course I had venison fillet and I can honestly say it was the tenderest tastiest venison I have ever had. We all had different main courses and everybody enjoyed this course. Only two of us could take on the sweets. These were ok but not in the same league as the starters and main course. So often the case. Staff were superb, friendly and efficient. If I had any criticism it would be that some of sauces tasted as though they were bought in, I could be wrong. A great evening coffee was good as well and as much of it as you wanted.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glendruidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gob smacked!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Camel across this place by accident.... What a great find. Staff fab, food great and words can not explain the atmosphere!!! Have stayed another night backed on our experience! You must pay it a visit very soon!!!! Much love x

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhay1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anderson also viewed

Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Munlochy, Ross and Cromarty
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing