We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first class hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillhaven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Fortrose B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Quite simply a wonderful location at a wonderful b&b with wonderful hosts. I cant say enough about Fiona and Stephen, they are friendly, helpful and genuinely lovely. My visit to Scotland was sadly not a pleasure trip but their friendliness and genuine concern made a very difficult visit a lot easier. The room was delightful, very comfortable clean with a great bathroom. Nothing was too much trouble and although I am not an early bird they didn't mind making breakfast a little later than usual for me. I couldn't recommend this b&b more highly, but more importantly I couldn't recommend both Fiona and Stephen more highly, a genuinely lovely, funny couple who made my stay feel like I was staying with friends. Thanks so much for everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flinky478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Hillhaven B&B and liked it very much. We stayed at a handful of B&Bs in North England and Scotland the days before and after and Hillhaven easily wins the competition. Fiona and her husband are very helpful and forthcoming. The room is spacious and spotless. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Meeting Stephen and Fiona, and staying in their charming B&B, was a highlight on our recent trip to Scotland. Their spotless, modern home sits on a quiet country lane, surrounded by beautiful farmland. After less than 15 minutes of conversation, we felt as though we'd been friends with our hosts for years - truly warm and welcoming.
If we are ever lucky enough to return to Scotland, we'll spend more time exploring the highlands and Hillhaven will be our base camp!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Hillhaven B&B was a great location for our accommodation in Fortrose, Scotland, of the John O'Groats to Lands End cycling challenge. We had three rooms booked at the B&B and we certainly weren't disappointed with anything upon arriving. We arrived really late due to a long day of 125 miles of cycling, but that was no problem. The owners, Stephen & Fiona were very pleasant and extremely chatty and definitely great characters.

After a long day of cycling, everyone was tired and we just wanted a relaxing place to stay with a place where we could enjoy the little comforts. We were thankful there was a bath so we could ice our muscles, before enjoying an amazing shower. The shower had several functions and was one of the best showers I have used. Also the internet was fast, which meant I could update the blog of our cycling tour and upload pictures so friends and family back home could follow the journey.

We asked if we could have an earlier breakfast prior to arriving, so we could get on our way with the cycling for day two. Stephen gave us a choice of times which was great and in the morning before he headed off to work, spent time chatting about the area, the challenge and the route we were taking today. The porridge was amazing and the full Scottish breakfast was amazing. It was fantastic too that the owners donated £10 of the overall total to our charity which was so generous.

This was a perfect place to stay for us as a cycling group, as it provided everything we needed to relax for our cycling challenge. The hosts were ever so friendly, the bedrooms were extremely comfortable and the cost of the rooms was extremely reasonable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone completing the John O'Groats to Lands End cycling tour and anyone looking for a relaxing place away from the tourists.

Room Tip: We had the room with the jacuzzi bath which was exceptional and was an added extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A fantastic little find in the hills above Fortrose and a great base for exploring the beautiful Black Isle.

Stephen and Fiona could not have been more welcoming or helpful - ask their advice on where to visit and where to eat - they know the area very well. The breakfast was generous, filling and yummy! We had a beautiful large room upstairs - we found it a little hot but this was purely personal preference (as we're used to a very cold house!) The bed was comfortable and both the room and bathroom immaculate.

We would thoroughly recommend Hillhaven and will definitely stay there again when we're next in the area but be warned if you're using a satnav, the postcode takes you somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingLawrences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Perfect place in a super location:)) perfect couple( Fiona and steven) so welcoming:)) we loved it, we had the room with the Jacuzzi which was wonderful:)) perfect stay, perfect breakfast, definitely be booking again next year for our anniversary:)) many thanks, highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_h80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location if you're wanting to relax and enjoy peace a quite. 2 mile down the road is a small village with a great local pub with an excellent selection of cask ales, there's also a view point where you can view dolphins and seals, if in the area. Fantastic nights sleep, B&B breakfast is quite possibly the best I've tasted.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshireman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortrose
6.6 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
221 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
391 reviews
8.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#1 of 6 in Fortrose
96 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 2 in Avoch
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillhaven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillhaven Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ord Hill, Fortrose IV10 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fortrose
Price Range: $91 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillhaven Bed & Breakfast offers 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation in Fortrose, within the Highlands of Scotland. We have just completed a refurbishment of our bedrooms and offer all rooms with en-suite facilities. A family run guesthouse set in a scenic rural area just outside Fortrose, Ross-Shire we're only 10 miles from Inverness and within easy reach of much that the Highlands of Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillhaven Bed & Breakfast Fortrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing