We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Romao

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Querenca, Loule, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
seabasser
barnoldswick
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

To do this place justice would take too many words. We arrived with 2 kids and were met at Faro airport and escorted to the villa via useful landmarks. Mariela and Helena were kind, courteous and very helpful in settling us in, providing a welcome pack that was much better than the usual with enough food and drinks to last us the day without needing to shop straight away. It was the friendliest and most professional welcome I've had on any holiday.
The villa itself is a little more remote than expected but this added to its charm and to the peacefulness. It's also much bigger inside than it looks, with high ceilings so that even the rooms that aren't air conditioned stay cool, even in peak season (air con is in both bedrooms and kitchen). I would challenge anyone to visit this villa and find that they needed something that wasn't provided - the only single item that could be improved is the availability of UK TV channels if the kids want time out of the sun but there's a DVD player for that purpose. The pool is a great size and well maintained by Helena who made a couple of visits to keep it clean and there are plenty of tables, barbecues, seating and loungers.
Local Loule has a great local market if you like fish and the prices are rock bottom (3 whole sea bass for the equivalent of £6 - fab on the BBQ!) The local Continente is also there for a big shop and I believe it has an Aldi also. There are also restaurants nearer by offering local cuisine - the Monte de Eire, recommended by Mariela, offers some very nice dishes.
There are loads of beaches within relatively easy driving distance (Portugal being a very easy place to drive anyway) so take your pick. We ended up traveling further West to Alvor where there are stronger winds to keep the heat off (and some nice fish restaraunts that we've visited before).
Just writing this is making me miss the place all over again...my whole family loved it and would love to return sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Hello Kynan,
Many thanks for your review! We are very happy with your comments!! your satisfaction with the villa and our guest service is our satisfaction and the reason of our villa existence. We will continue to improve more and more. We really hope to see you again in the Algarve in the near future. All the best for you and your familly. Thanks again! QR Villa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie D
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A haven of peace and beauty plus everything you need for a wonderful holida.”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a truly wonderful stay in this lovely villa. Mariela and her sister Maria could not have been more welcoming - meeting us in loule to show us the way and leaving us an incredible basket of goodies on arrival and a bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge. The house is really spacious and equipped with absolutely everything we could wish for - every time we thought of something we needed from an ice bucket to after-bite or a plaster it was there to be found. The garden is gorgeous with various different places to sit at different times of the day and the pool is just stunning - you really feel in the middle of nowhere looking out over the beautiful country side ( the house is in the middle of a national park).We had a great meal just outside querenca which is a short 15 minute drive away and Loule was a great place to shop with the fabulous indoor market. Obviously you would need a car here but for us it was the perfect base to discover the delights of the Algarve and we definitely hope to return to this peaceful haven. Thank you Mariela and Maria for looking after us so well!
(For future guests - the Internet works best outside by the pool).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The quiet location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
Many thanks to all our dear guests for your kind reviews.
It is a pleasure for us to provide you excellent holiday accommodation in the Algarve & unique customer service in our villa.
With all kind Regards,
Villa Romao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about our holiday
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hockley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness
Liked least: Wasps by the fruit trees
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NMoore751
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A little peace of heaven - Utterly relaxing & the ultimate place to chill !!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a week at Quinta Romao, and echo the comments of previous reviewers. The villa is traditionally algarvian and is extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and is definitely the most well equipped holiday rental we have ever stayed in (air con, dishwasher, washing machine, ..the list is endless). The location is peaceful and secluded and even though you do need a car, Loule town centre is a short drive and Faro is 20 minutes away. The pool was excellent and had everything from sunbeds to sun shades, BBQ area (& two more on another terrace!!) and was clean and well kept. The kindness of the owners Mariela & Maria began with email contact and continued throughout our stay, from meeting us at the airport and showing us the local area, to calling mid week to ensure we had enough towels & bed linen ...and of course not forgetting the lovely welcome pack of local produce and wine waiting for us on arrival !!! They gave us tips on local areas to visit and traditional restaurants to eat in and it's clear their aim is to ensure guests feel welcomed & have an enjoyable stay in the villa & the local area. Quinta Ramao is a hidden gem which we intend to book again soon. Would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, tranquility & how well equipped the property was.
Liked least: Strength of coverage for wi-fi & phone varied.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing