We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 1st holiday to Apollonium club la costa in Turkey & won't be our last!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollonium Spa & Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollonium Spa & Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milas
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our 1st holiday to Apollonium club la costa in Turkey & won't be our last!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

I was a little worried when I booked as I knew it was in quite a remote place but liked the look of what I had seen and certainly wasn't disappointed. Our apartment was plenty big enough with comfortable furnishings and some small home comforts you wouldn't normally expect and contrary to some reviews I have just read the place was lovely and clean and the staff were continuously friendly & helpful.
Having 3 teenage boys can often be difficult when choosing a holiday but they loved all the activities and made new friends and want to go back next year.
Food was lovely with plenty of choice on the buffet but if you fancy some self catering its a good idea to take a trip to the local market on Friday of each week especially for your fruit & veg. As with many foreign countries we bought bottled water for drinking purely as a precaution, I have often been to spain where people have had "spanish tummy" after consuming tap water so I Never take the risk abroad now no matter where I am.
Final conclusion we had a great time & would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mick-n-dawn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    131
    46
    14
    23
See reviews for
226
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

With regard to the sickness bug, this was common to other areas of Turkey and not just
at the site as somepeople have said, this now seems to have passed over now. We are regular visitors to Apollonium and the staff have now become friends, the site is safe for children ( we have two) and we often let them come back later on after we have gone back to the appartment. The friends and owners make our stay most enjoyable and we now think of Apollonium as our second home.
With new restaurants and shops opening in Akbuk, this really is an up and coming area and one that needs visiting.
More routes to Turkey seem to be on the way, having flown this time from Newcastle, which was great with Eagean, Teeside and Leeds showing prices for next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We came back from Apollonium a week ago and experienced the bug, that is widely reported over the internet, and it did indeed spoil our first weeks holiday. We do believe the CLC European staff could have been more proactive in their response but the medical treatment received from Ali was excellent.
Setting the 'bug' apart I have to say that the Turkish staff were excellent. Having traveled with CLC extensively in Europe I would place the Turkish Apollonium staff at the 'top of the tree' for service. Reception staff spoke good English and were keen to assist, restaurant staff were high quality and the boys at the water sports / boat made the second week a joy. 
We will most definitely go back to Apollonium and most certainly do not recognise some of the comments of other reviewers.
We flew into Dalaman and so had a three hour transfer to / from the resort. We travelled in a comfortable, air-conditioned, people carrier. Although the driver did not speak English his driving was excellent and to experience the Turkish ‘roads’ and winding mountain routes was an adventure that we all enjoyed. The driver at no time gave us cause for concern.
I am always amazed at how people expect the Queens English to be spoken in foreign parts; I would suggest they stick to Skegness in future to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We read the reviews of sickness at the resort with some dismay the weekend before we travelled (on 16th aug). We took our own cleaning stuff and prepared for the worst, and decided we wouldn't eat at the resort - just in case. However, our appartment (3 bed for 4 of us, 2 story, air con, 3 tv's, 3 bathrooms - amazing) was beautifully clean when we arrived and we felt we had overreacted. We were told, and given notices, not to use the water to drink or cook, we took extra precautions by rinsing cups first in bottled water too and using it for our teeth). Although anxious about using the pools, it was so hot, and the kids so keen, the pools looked v clean, so we went in and enjoyed them - we did not find the chlorine was too strong. The resort was not crowded at all, could always get a group of sun beds, and was v clean. Cleaners came daily (sometimes too early in am for us) to do beds, bins and cleaned through twice in the week. The air con did switch itself off at times in the day, but was v quick to cool room down again once on so we thought this was an economy setting. It stayed on all night.
We ate off site 5 nights, we had hired a car from the airport, it was a 15 minute (careful) drive to Akbuk with a great selection of restaurants - we sampled 5, average cost £35 (77 TL) for four of us including drinks. Pizza Hattji and Akverium (or something like that) were the best, and cooked for ourselves 2 nights - the kitchen equipment was all you could ask for, sales staff recommended we use the supermarket, Migros in Akbuk, which had all we needed - the site shop was v limited, but did have the essential nail varnish remover when my daughter needed it! Didn't use the entertainment or kids clubs - not our thing. We had a washing machine so did the washing the night before and brought it home clean!
Half of our party found the weather too hot, and we wouldn't go in full summer again, felt we missed out on seeing more of the area because of the heat. Had a day trip to Ephesus - well worth it, and to Didum and Temple Apollon, and marina beach and shopping - again a good day out, but struggled in the heat. We would normally, and had planned, to have other trips but decided would be for a future visit in cooler weather. But the pools were great - a variety of large and small, and slides for the kids, and the sea was lovely, small but sandy beach, safe, and a gentle sea breeze made it more pleasant than around the pool. Turkish Bath on site was a good experience too, and my husband used the fitness room & sauna daily. There were some small green slime areas where the grass got wet from pool etc, but these were covered over with dirt the day after we arrived and then seemed to be regularly covered over. Driving in Turkey was quite easy - not too much traffic, although some roads still in progress, speeds were okay and views beautiful, signs were okay, we took a sat nav which helped. It took us about an hour from the airport to Akbuk but the map we had printed off the internet had the Apollonium on the wrong side of Akbuk so took us another hour and asking a security guard at an Akbuk hotel (at 2am) to find it - signposting from Akbuk could have been clearer, but there are 3 signs from there, but don't say club la costa which we were expecting. With all the precaustions we took, my 11 year old son woke on the second to last day with stomach ache and had a bit of an upset tummy, but was better by tea time, but again had sore tummy on way home and first day home, but no sickness and was able to eat. However, he was always diving under the water (which would have been better a little shallower as he could not stand up in it), and did not get on in the heat, so could have been down to a number of things. My husband was sick and upset tummy on return home, but felt better by end of day, we ate in Didim and then near airport the last day. Our flight home left at 3 am, so tiredness could have been a factor too - we could not say for sure it was from the resort as we had taken great care in the accom with water and cleanliness and not eaten there and been in the pools every day since arrival with no effects until then.
We are members, we were invited to view a new resort an hour away plus a day trip to look around the area, but cancelled it as we could get around in our own car and did not want to see the other resort , there was no further contact from sales during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

we stayed there between the 7th and 21st august and having read some of the other reviews we have a totally different take on it and felt we should offer a more positive review. true the transport from the airport took 1 3/4 hours, but it does say it's 142 km so this was not totally unexpected; Turkish roads are lacking in tarmac in places and it was pretty bumpy, but this is not the fault of the resort and the transport was on time, air conditioned and there isn't a lot of other traffic on the roads, the drivers do the airport run several times a day so know the roads well.
on arrival at the resort the staff were helpful and friendly, even though it was 1am and our cases were taken to the apartments and we were given a lift in a buggy. accommodation was of a very high standard and our hot tub was covered over and empty on arrival. the next morning it was cleaned, although it already looked clean and refilled. it was up to you then how often you wanted to empty or refill it, every day maintenance staff came and checked it and sometimes cleaned it and refilled it anyway.
we were told on the first day that there was a bug going round and not to drink or cook with the water, which is fairly standard when you go abroad, although we had used it to make a coffee on arrival but used bottled from then on. during the whole of our 2 week stay none of us were ill and our 5 year old spent about 6 hours each day in the pool and water slides so probably consumed a fair bit of the water. if anything the water was very chlorinated, if anything we noticed that the shower water also smelled of chlorine.
we commented on the standard of cleanliness throughout the resort as being very good. certainly in our apartment we had a maid every day who bleached all the floors, the towels and bedding were changed either daily or every other day. the restaurant seemed very clean, the serving staff wore latex gloves when handling food and we saw no evidence of flies on any food. downside is that drinks are not served with ice, but at least you know they're safe then.
we ate at the buffet restaurant and whilst it may have been similar there was such a vast choice that you didn't need to eat the same thing.
the resort was a little out of the way, however, there is a half hourly mini bus to Akbuk (15km) which takes about 20 mins and costs approx £1.20 each way. this runs up til midnight so easily left enough time to eat out in the evening. the supermarkets there are good and cheaper than the on site one, which was pretty dear. supermarket Migros open til 11pm and the one in the centre by the cashpoints was open til 1am. the friday market is well worth a visit to stock up on fruit and veg at ridiculously cheap prices (closes at 3pm). there are several eating places in Akbuk, all of which are friendly and the food was good.
the staff at the site were very friendly, we disagreed that no one smiled, we found lots that did! the reception staff were able to answer all queries and whilst their English wasn't perfect it was better than our Turkish. the kids club was excellent and the staff were really welcoming and had a range of activities.
if there was one drawback it was that all the pools were 1.40m with no shallow end which meant little ones couldn't touch the bottom, but there were paddling pools of 0.50cm.
we did know of people that were ill, but most of them were still down by the pool and going in the pool so that probably didn't help. we didn't see anyone be sick. as with all holidays in hot climates it's sensible to take imodium etc, but the chemist in Akbuk is open til 10pm and you can buy anything including antibiotics over the counter for same as a prescription price in UK. we had a great time and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kitty010305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is a quiet charming location right on the sea front. The resort was very busy which gave the place a nice vibe. Apartments are very well furnished and have all amenities that you would expect
Would definately come back again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iandmiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

I have jiust recently returned from a 2 week stay at this resort.
Granted it is "off the beaten track"and it took nearly an hour for our transfer from Bodrum airport, via un-unasphalted roads.....big deal,i've seen worse.
The resort is like a mini town with all amenities available,and Akbuk,the nearest town is 15 minutes away.
I have read some of the negative reviews and wonder if they are jumping on to the proverbial "bandwagon" as I believe most are trying to justify some sort of rebate from the owning company.
My time there was very pleasant,with excellent facilities.
The restaurant provided good quality food,buffet style in the evening,plus a takeaway menu,should you rather stay in.
Team marina the animation group,were very active throughout the day & nights,including a different themed cabaret stlye revue.
OK, some of the staff could do with English lessons but hey,there were Rusians,Dutch,etc tourists there also.
I never thought that you had to be quadro-lingual to qualify as a waiter.
Over-all,great time was had and would return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niyazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milas
3.1 mi away
Aurum Spa & Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
Yalicapkini Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aurum Exclusive Club
14.0 mi away
Med-Inn Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
Buyuk Anadolu Didim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollonium Spa & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonium Spa & Beach

Property: Apollonium Spa & Beach
Address: Tatlikuyu Mevkii, Bozbuk Koyu, Milas 48200, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Milas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollonium Spa & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Apollonium Spa & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonium Club La Costa Spa & Beach Hotel Milas
Apollonium Club La Costa Spa And Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing