We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveler rating
321
159
63
21
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
159
63
21
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews team marina water slides beach bar nearest town turkey on site ali's bar animation team hired a car fish restaurant bodrum airport relaxing holiday beach resort main pool small beach per person evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 593 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018

This well maintained resort 50km from Bodrum Airport is a lovely open resort no buildings more than 2 levels so no feelings of clostriphobia. The resort is a quiet sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of towns or cities.The restaurant offers a varied selection of local and international cuisine with attentive and friendly staff throughout the resort.A car rental is useful if you want to go off site as the resort is 10km from nearest town of Akbuk,however there are taxis available on site. Well worth a visit even at end of September it is still 32 Celsius.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank DavidGassOsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear David GassOsman,

Thank you for your review and I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. As you say, Apollonium Spa & Beach is the perfect ‘getaway’ for a relaxing holiday.
All the best and we hope to see you again soon.
Resort Manager, CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 week stay. Overall, the app pace did not disappoint. The kitchen staff were extremely helpful in catering for my 1 year old. My older boys (7 and 5 years old) had a blast
The entertainment team was fantastic and energetic
Whilst the activities were the usual standard ones, the animation team made them even more fun.
Accommodation was good. The only gripe was the Wi-fi but i understand there are working on that.
With the current rate of lira to pound, the food was excellent value for the choice received.
I would definitely recommend a trip to Didim as well
Our thanks to all the staff for the wonderful time they gave us and we will be sure to return
Kind regards to all
Wasim

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Wazzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

We first came here 4 years ago but unfortunately this resort has declined in many aspects.

The pool area is dirty due to water run off from sprinklers in the muddy flower beds and also around the slide area. Cleaners and all staff in general don’t seem to be bothered about the upkeep of the resort any more.

We did not go all inclusive (£25 per person per day) but we had a car to use Akbuk luckily. The 2 occasions we ate in the only restaurant for non all inclusive the food was expensive, poor selection and being outdoors there is very poor lighting and lots of bugs. Pizzas don’t have a tomato sauce base so basically bread and cheese

The entertainment was poor. Day time activities usual standard but evening let them down. The fire show was the best until the end when a 10 minute political rally in Turkish of their leader which was really inappropriate.

On that subject the majority of the resort was Turkish who don’t have any respect for English and lack all manners. Don’t bother holding a door open or moving out the way on a path to let someone through as you will not be thanked. They also got served quicker at the bar.

There is now only one bar for paying guests which is the pool bar. Service not great and cocktails taste different depending who makes it. Small cups for expensive drinks and certainly not much alcohol in the servings.

The apartment was “ok”. Usually clc amenities but the hob had no markings on so trial and error to know heat and which hob and no light to say when hot (sun burnt his hand as didn’t know hob had been on). The other gets warm taking an hour to cook some oven chips one night. WiFi in apartment very poor (1-2 mps download if you are lucky). Only had cleaners in twice in 2 weeks

Previously there was a ferry that went to Didim from the resort, this now goes from Akbuk. Also the fish restaurant has closed due to some local issues. The “clean sandy beach” is dirty and stony and covered with cigarette butts as Turks simply discard them without using the bins. Several sunbeds were broken including the one in our apartment

We found out that next year a full refurbishment will commence which is long overdue however they need to also invest in customer service training for all staff including English lessons for the reception

There are of course good things to say but I said them 4 years ago. We won’t be returning again and speaking with the odd English family there at the same time nor will they.

If you have younger children who don’t demand WiFi or interaction with other English teenagers then this is a perfect location.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
6  Thank 175alant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

The majority of the accommodation is privately owned, with the owners paying an annual management charge. Those apartments are then let out through local agents who are responsible for the local management of that accommodation. This means that prices can vary enormously depending on the need for the owner to get their accommodation occupied. It also means that there is a division of responsibility: CLC being mainly responsible for the grounds, pools, restaurants and bars and entertainment. The owners agents will be responsible for the cleaning and standard of accommodation. We initially booked through Booking.com, paying over €1300 for a week for a 3 bed premium villa. On checking regularly I was eventually able to book a 3 bed premium villa for €882 for the same week. A big difference. I appreciate that the accommodation is not all the same, but it is impossible to tell from the booking websites precisely in which area of the resort the accommodation is located. Despite some of the recent reviews we enjoyed our stay. Pools were excellent. Although it is very annoying to find sun loungers being reserved without being used, it is not the end of the world. Despite it being high season we were always able to find loungers either on the front near the beach, or in the pool areas. At the end of the day you can of course just move the towels and take over the loungers: if the people return just move on. There was an issue with some of the maintenance of the common areas. Too much rubbish on the beach which could easily have been cleared away, as the beach is not large. It was unclear why some of the grassed areas had been put out of bounds, with red hazard barriers. It looked a little like a crime scene! Why not do the job properly with a solid picket fence or posts with a rope strung between? It would add enormously to the setting. The bars were a little variable in their charging. I was charged 15,16, 17 and 18 tl for the same drink on different occasions . A cynic might say that they were trying it on! The quality of the evening entertainment was variable to say the least, but if approached with the right frame of mind it was acceptable. The daytime entertainment was ok, and you could pick and choose. We hired a car for the week. I enjoy driving in different countries and able to travel around to local shops, and restaurants. Our agent Ahmed was very helpful and made some very good suggestions for local food shops and restaurants. Food is cheap, both in the shops and restaurants. We paid for our family of four the same amount for all of us that we would have expected to have paid per person in the uk. Local boat trip along the coast was good fun, but recommend that you check before hand the type of music and how loud it will be. Many of the boat skippers enjoy Turkish music at very loud volume. Luckily I took ear plugs! Also visited the Roman ruins at Ephesus, which I can thoroughly recommend. Our accommodation, although not luxurious was perfectly adequate. I would have preferred more surface area in the kitchen which is a little cramped, but still perfectly serviceable, with washing machine, dishwasher, oven and hob. One bedroom had no cupboard or drawer space. All in all we had a good holiday and will return again. PS. Our children were disappointed at the standard of Wi-fi coverage, and disappeared for short periods to the reception area which provided the best Wi-fi. It did mean that conversation at meals was far better!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank CheshireGrumpyoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear CheshireGrumpyold man,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although you weren’t a guest of CLC, I’m delighted you enjoyed the resort and the surrounding area. As you say, the ruins at Aphesus are fabulous.
All the best and we hope to see you again soon.
Resort Manager, CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

I do not usually write holiday reviews as I recognise that opinions about holidays are subjective - after all what one person loves about a holiday the next person can as easily dislike. However, CLC Appollonium Spa & Beach seriously failed to meet our expectations.

In advance of posting this review I met with Sharron (resort Guest Relations Manager) to address my concerns, in the hope that future guests have a chance of getting a better service and overall holiday experience than we did.

Having visited Turkey many times, this holiday seemed to offer everything our travel party wanted. Our party consisted of 8 in total: 2 families of 4 people, each booked into a superior suite on an All Inclusive board basis. Here are our genuine findings/ experiences from our stay between 24th July and 7th Aug 2018:

CUSTOMER SERVICE - we found out on the 13th day of our holiday that we should have been given a welcome pack/ envelope on arrival. This didn't happen, and it was only by talking with owners of some accomodation on site and other guests that we gleaned basic information.

7 months in advance of our holiday we requested that our group was allocated accomodation by each other - as we booked two 2 bedroom suites (for 2 families all part of 1 booking). This was not possible and we were allocated accomodation at either ends of the resort (about 4-5 min walk from each other). After requesting a change, 1 of our families moved accomodation 3 days into the holiday as an apartment closer to each other became available as other guests were leaving. It was an inconvenience to re-pack of luggage and unpack again in the 2nd accomodation, and with a little bit of planning by reception staff this could be easily avoided. However the Guest Relations Manager reiterated that requests are not guarenteed and other families were worse off than ourselves being split across the complex.

HOUSEKEEPING is a huge issue & seriously lets the overall service down. In 14 days we had only 2 changes to bedding, and 1 of these included having to make our own bed with inadequate bedding sheets left by the cleaner. I know we were not the only guests to experience poor service from the Housekeeping staff. General cleaning standards were poor and due to infrequency of cleaning, we resorted to buying toilet paper from the shop on the conplex.

No bedding was left for 1 bed (one of the children in the group) and it took 3 attempts to request the bed was made up via reception staff who insisted initially that nothing could be done as the housekeeping team had finished for the day. After 3 requests from member of our group who resorted to being rather direct and persistent, the bed was eventually made.

CATERING/ RESTAURANT - In our experience, the food was excellent, however, the waiting on staff didn't offer the usual Turkish 'go the extra mile' service that we've always experienced elsewhere across Turkey. Perhaps this is beause 'tips' make up a large part of wages usually, but in a resort like CLC Appollonium staff are paid a salary regardless of how satisfied their guests truly are. One guest in our party was queuing for a coffee from the coffee machine and experienced a member of staff pushing in to get a cup of coffee. Not exactly what you expect from a resort/ brand like CLC. Turkish speaking guests appeared to have a better level of customer service, however after addressing this issue with the Guest Relations Manager on our penultimate day of our holiday, I was assured this was not the case and all guests are teeated the same. Well, from our first hand experience, this really wasn't the case. I guess criticism is hard to take, but this resort will not improve if 'constructive feedback' is not able to be taken on board and changes implemented.

Ice creams are not part of the All Inclusive basis but it is served every 4-5 days as a dessert option. Guests who choose to eat from 8.30pm (as we did regularly) will struggle to get ice cream for dessert as it was 'closed by 8.50pm -9pm' on each occasion it was available. Basic expectations would be that ice cream could be served until the end of dinner service (9.30pm) - not all guests wish to turn up for dinner at 7pm, especially with how busy the dining area was with it being peak season. Tables are not easily come by, and on a few occasions we split up as a group to eat to be able to get a table.

Drink stock was inconsistent - 'limonata' (turkish still lemondade) was enjoyed for a few days before then no longer being available. The 'slush' machine did not often offer anything more than liquid syrup on many an occasion, and the fizzy drinks dispenser behind the bar on the beach did not work for the majority of our 2 week holiday. We found we had to ask for ice in drinks, otherwise most bar staff don't add it to what is otherwise a luke warm non-thirst quenching drink.

ENTERTAINMENT in the day was varied and the team seemed fun and energetic. The evening entertainment was geared more towards the Turkish guests. A political type display as part of the fire show was more akin to a political rally/ demonstration than it far from what you'd expect from holiday entertainment. In peak season, there are insufficient tables and chairs for guests in the entertainment area. Space was very limited especially as the grass areas were cordoned off to resrict guests from these areas also.

For anyone who is tempted to book a holiday at CLC Appollonium because they've seen watersports included in the All Inclusive board basis, should know that this is not the case. Watersports is payable locally to the independent watersports company which operates from the beach. Prices are reasonable at approx. £5 per person on the banana boat and £8 on the water couch.
Water slides are not open for the full day, they can be used between 10am and 12.30pm and then 2pm until 5pm. If you're after a peacful sunbathing area...go as far away as you can from the water slides. The lifeguard is over keen with the whistle - which is used to communicate to guests when they appear to break the water slide rules!

Unfortunately, CLC Appollonium is a resort we will not visit again. Overall, there are too many aspects that failed to meet the expectations we had after carefully reasearching the site prior to booking - including the information contained on CLC's on website content. The resort has the potential to be a LOT better than it is (especially for the cost of the holiday) and the staff play a huge part in letting it down within their various roles.

We hope to return to Turkey for future holidays and hope to rediscover the passion, commitment and excellent customer service that we've previously found elsewhere in Turkey. I'm sad to say there are much better places to stay in Turkey which offer better value for money, better customer service and better all round holiday experience/ memories.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank KAZ2925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018


Dear KAZ2925,
I’m grateful for you taking the time to post feedback about your experience while staying with us.

I’m disappointed to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Please be assured your concerns will be taken on board as we constantly strive to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and your comments are very useful to us.

All the best and I wish you well on your future travels.

Resort Manager, CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews