We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apollonium resort Bosbuk, Turkey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Milas
Reviewed September 17, 2012

As CLC members we've always chosen Spain or Spanish islands in the past. This was our first time in a Turkish resort and we were not disappointed.

Apollonium resort was everything that all the other people on here are saying...relatively quiet and rmote, but with the oppotunity to get into nearby Akbuk toen by a nice little bus service that only cost 4 TL per person. The divers are all friendly, and you can usually sit in the front with them!!!

The resort itself was clean and modern, with a lot of facilities, and it,s nice that all the appartments are set on one side of the road with the reception and all other facilities on the other. Also direct access to a clean little beach where the sea temperature was even warmer than the many pools!.

The only negative comment we would make is that (as is often the case with CLC), the bar and restaurant prices were WAY ABOVE what most holiday makers would consider reasonable. Unless money is no object, you would be skint well before the end of the holiday if you spent a few nighyts drinking in the bar, or having too many full meals there.

Fortunately,as others have mentioned, there are a couple of very reasonable restaurants on the beach just to the north of the resort, plus a load of good ones in Akbuk (we thought the Pasa was the best).

We plan another holiday there next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickymint1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 531 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the above complex. First impressions of complex was that it ws very tidy and clean and the apartment was ready for occupation except the hot tub was not filled and we were told that if we wanted to use it to fill it urselves and it would take about 2 - 21/2 hours - which it did. We stayed in Adonis 35 which is a ground floor flat right on he front with some views of the sea. Only issue was that there was no shade eiher in the garden area or on tjhe balcony, as soon as the sun came round the main balcony was in the sun. We decided to eat on the complex on the first night - we ate at the Beach bar and it was very expensive for what we had - my advice is don't bother with eating on the complex go to Akbuk using the buses and all the restaurants we ate in there were very good and much much cheaper.
Pool near the apartment was clean - sun loungers were not very comfortable as most were broken and also there was a tendancy for people to leave towels on the loungers early in the morning and then come down much later. We saw one family of 3 use 6 loungers - 3 in direct sunlight and then another 3 under the few umberallas there for shade so they went from one to another. It was the same with loungers in the sandy area by the beach bar we noticed people taking towels there about 6.30 - 7.00am obviously to "reserve" them - even though guests are told that this is not allowed.
The buses into Akbuk were great and ran on time and were very cheap 4TL per person- go to the weekly market on a Friday in Akbuk and you will see the local people with their produce as well as the usual market stalls of fake clothes and perfume - but the smell of the spices was wonderful.
If you are a Club la Costa member you will be invited to attend a "cocktail party" where you will be given some drinks and cheese and we were told that there would also be some Turkish food - the Turkish food was sausages, potato wedges and chicken nuggets. Staff at the complex will then tel you about the facilities and you will also be told about the new resort in Kusadasi and that you will be taken there shown around and given a nice lunch - those we spoke to who went told us that it was another sales pitch to get you to buy a property there. My husband and I had decided before going to Apollonium that we would not get drawn into another sales pitch after Tenerfie and it took 4 seperate occassions of saying no before they got the message.
Overall the complex was what we expected - the apartment up to the usual Club La Costa standard yes we would go back there but perhaps ask for another apartment with some shade as it was very hot (Mid 30 degrees on arrival) and certainly found the people we met in Turkey lovely and helpful.
As we were there over the first 2 weeks in September it was not that busy but I would imagine it would get very crowded during the peak season. It looked as though there were plenty of activities for children and although we only saw one on the entertainment nights - the Friday of our arrival which was a quiz and kareoke - the proximity of the stage area to the apartments does mean that you hear what is going on each night although it does seem to stop at around midnight.
I used the Spa on 2 occassions and if you have not experienced a Turkish bath before - then do try it but be aware that it is a gentleman that gives you the bath and you are expected to be only wearing the bottom part of a bathing suit.

Room Tip: Apartments at the top of the complex would be quieter. Some apartments have baclonies with shade o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CofidreUnItedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After another hectic spring and summer at work we needed a break and considering what the weather has been like in the UK this year we needed some sun. Returning to the Apollonium held no suprises ad we were looking forward to a lazy fortnight. One advantage this year is we flew on the Friday night from Bristol and stayed in the Scanview Hotel in Gullek a short ride away from the Airport at Bodrum. It was only to get some sleep prior to mioving on to the resort so the hotel was fine. I wouldn't stay there other than for transiting.
Since our visit there is now transport available direct from the hotel to the resort which saves a lot of time; this is available through CLC.
The apartment at the resort was up to its usual standards, the maid service was excellent and regular. The 2 restaurants are okay but can get boring if you dont venture off site. I agree with other reviewers that it can be a little pricey on site. The Turkish bath is a must and recommended in the first couple of days on site to get you in the mood.
If the restaurants get a little boring there are 2 small beach bars' just along the beach, the first one has really upped its game from last year and the furthest one is basic but reliable.
The fun is getting the dolmush into Akbuk. 4TL's gets you into town and the good news this year is the last dolmush back is at mid-night but a taxi is only 30TL's.
The Garden Restaurant was up to its usual standard and we were impressed with the staff and meals at the Pasa Restaurant but the Convent Garden Restaurant was disappointing; it was all overly dressed salad with little substance.
The dolmush to Altinkum is worth a venture but if relaxing is for you then the lazy boat trip is a must. A great day with 4 swim stops with the daredevils throwing themselves off the top deck of the boat.
In a nut shell a great resort if you want peace and quiet but with the ability to go site for some adventure. My 2 complaints are the availabiltiy of sun beds and shade, I found out from reception that each pool (there are a few!) have only 20 beds and parasols, and the beach are can be overly full, the other is the lack of shade in the drinking area of the beach bar, all the parasols are moved to the eating area trhough the lunch period, CLC are missing a trick here for people who want a break from the sun and just want a drink..

Room Tip: We prefer being away from the beach as it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rd-sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Excellent, holiday destination, if you have plans to holiday here please do not take any notice of the negative reviews, yes it is rural but if your prepared for it you can work around this, people very friendly, food and accomadation excellent, would definately reccomend this to anyone, apart from those who are hard to please!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Clean and comfortable well equipped villa, everything you need- decent cooking equipment. A really lovely place, remote, so you really need a car but our Sat Nav found it easily from Bodrum airport in one hour. Akbuk is about 10K away and has supermarkets, ATM pharmacy etc. Pizza Hattie is great to eat at for an excellent price for delicious food. Local restaurants on the headland along the beach are lovely, serving fresh fish and huge plates of chips. Boat trips organised at an excellent price from the jetty are superb, visiting bays. The lazy day cruise is a must as is the Didim shuttle to the market for great fruit veg fish and fake stuff. We had a wonderful time - the only down side is the lack of sun beds around the main pool. People "save" them by leaving a towel on them and then disappear for long periods and we heard a few arguments develop between guests over this. There are security guards who have hand cuffs and a truncheon who police the main areas which is a bit over the top and do nothing to help with this issue or help locate lost items or remove the locals who wander in to use the water slides and pool but are obsessive about no inflatables being used in the pools. Guests mainly ignore this very silly rule but if you use rubber rings, lilo's etc then be prepared to have a telling off- wait till they go and get back in the pool! Wifi is slow but this is an excellent clean resort- watch out for the reps though -who hassle you into visiting other resorts to join club La Costa! Turkish bath at the resort was a great experience even for our kids!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheritonGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned from a 12 day stay at Apollonium and what a time we had. Cannot understand why complain about anything. Accomodation was spotless, welcome pack helpful for first cuppa before heading off to do the shopping. We ate out quite a lot on the site also in the nearest village, prices were not to bad and oh yes the wine was of a very good standard for you people who have complained in the past. Boat trip was enjoyed by all 10 year old, 15 year old and two old persons 62 and 59 years old. We all used the bus from the site 4tl each and last bus back was late so need to rush to finish your meal. We all want to return very soon as we felt that we could relax and if we needed to go out either by bus or car but to be honest we did not feel the need the be rushing about because lets face it that is what we do most of the year..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresiat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week’s stay, our first trip to Turkey. We found this to be a good standard family orientated resort. We were a party of 2 adults 3 children aged 2, 4 and 10. This was quite a late booking and one of the few resorts offering 3 bedroom apartments near the sea we could find, which was a key factor in making our booking. Yes it is remote. There is nothing else close by.

The standard of accommodation was overall high. We were at the back of the resort in one of the 3 bedroom “Hera” villas arranged over 3 floors. The apartment stepped out straight onto the pool area which was ideal. It was also away from any noise of the bar or restaurant and therefore very peaceful in the evenings. All mod cons such as air-conditioning, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, fridge freezer, satellite tv, dvd, hairdryer etc. were provided along with ample beach and bathroom towels.

I’m no expert on this type of shared ownership resorts but it was clear that the privately owned villas varied in quality when it came to the standard of the fixtures and fittings. Our beds for example were very low budget and very uncomfortable, which was a little strange compared with the overall quality of the apartment. I guess the owner dictates how they furnish these places as it was certainly not uniformed across the resort.

We arranged private transfers from the airport which was cheaper than hiring a car and took just over an hour in an air conditioned people carrier. It was really nice not to have to stop off at other resorts along the way.

The kids spent most of the holiday in the pools which were nice and warm. There is one near the beach and one by each district of villas. Also a toddler pool by each main one as well. We didn’t use the indoor one or the spar for that matter which looked pricy. There was also a lot of fun had at the mini water park which has 2 slides and was open for the main part of the morning and afternoon. There is one tennis court and a mini mini golf which passed a few minutes.

The beach was not the best I have ever been to by a long way. The whole coastline appears to be mostly stone and shingle and not the soft sandy beach you may hope for. There are numerous rocks and stones to navigate through for the first 2 meters or so when entering the water but once you are in the sea was warm, crystal clear and safe for the children to swim in.

Plenty of deckchairs around the pools and beach areas and some more luxury ones to rent for 15TL a day near the main clubhouse.

The resort supermarket was expensive, not very well stocked but fine for getting water and other small essentials and friendly. They even stocked ice lollies at our request after the first day as our daughter is dairy intolerant and cannot have ice cream. Everything except tours can be charged back to your room including the supermarket.

We didn’t eat in the main restaurant but used the beach bar which was perfect for fussy children offering all the usual kids menus. Yes again a little on the expensive side. We took our own wine from the UK having heard reports of the cost before we went.

We went on the full day lazy boat cruise tour from the resort’s beach jetty which I would highly recommend. The whole onboard team were very friendly and good hosts and we all enjoyed swimming in the bays, jumping from the top deck diving platform into the water, and lounging around on the sun beds. Even the captain was up entertaining the crowds with summersaults into the water. You could tell they loved their job and did whatever they could to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. They had woggles/noodles (floatation aids) for swimmers and a shop to buy drinks, ice creams and snacks. Lunch was provided in the excursion cost which for 5 of us came to 170TL I think.

We went to the nearby town by bus one evening. They run about every half hour, cost 4TL and took about 15 minutes. There are a few supermarkets, (one run by Tesco) some bars and restaurants and a little amusement park with a bouncy castle, some bungee trampolines and a few other small fairground attractions aimed at the young. There is also a very small night market selling souvenir jewellery etc. and during the day more boat trips were being advertised leaving from there.

Overall the staff were very friendly in the resort, courteous and efficient. People have complained in reviews about food being taken away quickly but that is simply to keep the flies away.
During the afternoons there was always something going on with the staff arranging water polo, archery, beach volleyball etc.

We did not suffer from insect bites at all which was not expected.

If you leave late in the day as we did for an evening flight you can book a guest room to use for half an hour free of charge to shower and pack your last minute things before heading off to the airport.

So overall not a bad resort and a good place to holiday with young children. Only the beach let it down for the main part, which will mean we’ll look elsewhere next year.

If you are heading out soon I’m sure you’ll have a great time. Every day is hot, with cloudless skies and a gentle ocean breeze.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank rosswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milas
3.1 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Aurum Didyma Spa & Beach Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Aurum Exclusive Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Marina Suites Hotel
Marina Suites Hotel
#2 of 6 in Gulluk
18 reviews
17.5 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#2 of 9 in Guvercinlik
533 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach

Address: Tatlikuyu Mevkii, Bozbuk Koyu, Milas 48200, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Milas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milas
#1 Spa Hotel in Milas
Price Range: $46 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your CLC Apollonium Spa & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonium Club La Costa Spa And Beach Resort
Apollonium Club La Costa Spa & Beach Hotel Milas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing