We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Afric Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kassaboera Lodge(Schoemansville)
$76
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Lodge(Hartbeespoort)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Amanzi(Hartbeespoort)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Three Oaks and an Aloe(Hartbeespoort)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ostrich Manor(Hartbeespoort)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chateau la Mer(Hartbeespoort)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palm Valley Inn(Schoemansville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
101
32
10
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
32
10
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild at heartelephant walkelephant interactiontv seriesbig catsvolunteer programlion cubsafrican elephantsfilm setstable blockgame reserveostrich steaksunday lunchdream come truecouple of nightsgreat memoryam writing this review
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 150 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

There are several small scale game farms around Johannesburg/ Pretoria area but I would recommend Glen Afric as the best game farm in the area especially to travelers who do not have lots of time but want to have a good look of animals.

Glen Afric has got many beautiful animals in their farm including some tamed animals you can interact. Glen Afric work with many international film crews making commercials and dramas so some of the animals are trained and work with people all the time.

They separate carnivore in different enclosures and there are numbers of beautiful lions, white lion, cheetahs and some hyena as well.

I visited Glen Afric December 2011 when it was herbivores baby season. I saw zebra, blesbuck, impala, and warthog babies and some of them were only few days old. Giraffe was pregnant but did not have baby when I was there.

Their restaurant is located on top of hill and the view is stunning. It is facing west so great for sunset, sundowners. If you are there during rainy season, you can see lots of lightenings at night. Service is good and friendly. Their menu is like "typical South African" restaurant menu, cooked with care and pretty quick too.

It is less than 1 hour from Sandton, so it is great day trip for weekend as well. Surrounding area is also quite wild and quiet so when I miss wilderness I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chicaism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I am 64.years old and wanted to go to see where Wild at Heart was filmed. I stayed at the lodge and really did have my Out of Africa experience.i could not have wished for anything more. The african bush, the wildlife, the tent,up close experience with certain animals, what memories i have bought home with me, I would go back in a heartbeat,,,,,hazel

Room Tip: Have a room if you must, but please try their tents.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bintygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I had a great day visit to Glen Afric. We had an amazing lunch followed by a 1.5 hour game drive. Walking with the elephants was breathtaking and watching the lions being fed was awesome. Thanks to the staff at Glen Afric for a great day.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David_McCullagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We just called on the offf chance and had the most amazing day, the game drive was fantastic and being able to actually get out of vehicle and interact with the elephants was breath taking. Seeing first hand where Wild at Heart was filmed was just the icing on the cake, unfortunetly the cast were there filming so we couldn't get too close to the buildings where they film. The girl who took us on our game drive was very good and her knowledge of the animals was second to non.
We ate in the restaraunt and the food was really good but maybe a bit on the expensive side.
Great day was had by all and would really recommend you visit Glen Afric if you ever in South Africa. Sonia Robinson west Auckland UK

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The place was always clean the service was always first class and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was lovely, clean, spacious and very stunning.
Food was beautiful and the restaurant was always well presented.
The tour guide was just terrific and was a wealth of knowledge. I hadnt had a holiday for 21 years and this was just the best the best I could have wished for.
Because of the situation it wasnt possible to walk very far at all at night due to the dangerous animals that was a shame I would have liked to have been part of the night life of the wildness but understand the reasons why.
If you are a night person this place is not for you as everything closes early and after 9 and before on a Sunday everything is shut.
Sundays are very busy with local people coming for the superb sunday buffet and the elephant feeding - not to be missed!
Overall the place should be very proud of all its staff from owner, manager and down to the cleaning staff I certainly couldnt recommend it more highly and will, without any shadow of a doubt return.
Exceptional!!

Room Tip: All rooms have their pluses and minuses all have exceptional views mine had the sunrise view which was just magnificient.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews