We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hartbeespoort
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam
from $182.33
More Info
from $172.38
More Info
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
280
94
22
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
280
94
22
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gentle giants an amazing experience amazing animals once in a lifetime different parts dream come true humbling experience enjoy the experience great interaction photo opportunities bucket list wild animals tour guides are overseas visitors worth every cent south africa kiss
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They are loving beautiful animals and a must see. You can only imagine once you've been there. Its worth every cent.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank DennisvanOsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi DennisvanOsch

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate the feedback and your review.

We look forward to having you here again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We drove out to the sanctuary which took about an hour from Sandton and was easy to get to. Had a wonderful day out with the elephants (prepare to get dirty) and then the monkeys. Highly recommended, well managed and a great experience for all. Personally I would avoid the cable car and do the monkeys and elephant experiences.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank BigT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day BigT71

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to know that you had such a wonderful time here with us.

We look forward to having you get dirty again soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent around 2 hours with these amazing animals, in a group setting. We walked trunk in hand with the elephants, got to see and touch them up close, feed them and we were even kissed by them.

The guides were so friendly and knowledgeable, we learnt a lot and feel so blessed that we had the opportunity to meet these amazing animals.

This will go down as one of the best experiences I have had in my life. 100% recommend, totally worth the money!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank YolandiSmaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi YolandiSmaai

Wow, thank you so much for your kind review.
We are so pleased that we were able to be part of this once in a lifetime experience you had here with us.

Thank you for your feedback - it is truly appreciated.

Looking forward to seeing you again

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Had a Wonderful time with these “gentle giants”. We walked with them, brushed them and fed them. They are sensitive and sweet animals. Definitely will go back. Take time to go here and enjoy the day with these animals! It is a Wonderful day/tours. They will also give you a KISS, if you want one.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank travelallover76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Good day travelallover76

We are so happy that you a great time here with us.
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to having you here again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

The visit was so special. Getting up close and personal with these majestic creatures wasamazing and a priviledge. The staff really make the visit so worth while.
One of the best activities when on a safari in South Africa.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank CindyG518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Hi there CindyG518

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us.
We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that our staff gave you an amazing time with our Elephants.
We look forward to having you here again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews