We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in the North West”

Silver Orange Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the North West”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have been to the Silver Orange a couple of times now, for both lunch and dinner, and it was delicious every time. There is a great wine selection and this is one of the few places where the staff actually knows what they are talking about. Looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiloCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    84
    19
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
218 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A very nice bistro next to hartbeespoort dam. Very good food fine dining experience. The chef is very creative and the food is excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EATOUTSUNDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

It's at about an hour from the center of Pretoria, very close to the lake.
Very kind staff looks after you to make you feel comfortable and to explain all you ask about the dishes.
Prices are a little higher than the average, but I was happy to pay a little more, because of the very high quality of the dinner. I think it was the best dinner I've ever had in the two weeks I was in Pretoria.
Three entries (crocodile carpaccio, warthog carpaccio and fried Greek cheese), two main dishes (springbok), two desserts and a bottle of local wine for 1800 rands (about 125 euros).

Helpful?
Thank Zanco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue and fantastic food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went to this restaurant after seeing it was number one on trip advisor for the area. We were not disappointed. It is a lovely venue and the service was friendly and efficient, despite the restaurant being quite busy. I had the duck and fig samoosa started, which was delicious, and we both had the fillet steak with gorgonzola. This was probably the best steak I have ever tasted. We couldn't manage dessert but are determined to go back and try other items on the menu. Worth a trip to Hartbeespoort from Joburg especially if you live that side of town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebrill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

One of the places to get to from Pretoria for some excellent dining, great wines, very nice delicate food, just to recommend , it is worth the drive!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pueppithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Orange Bistro also viewed

Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
 
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Silver Orange Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing