We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special moment wasted”

Silver Orange Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pretoria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special moment wasted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited SOB from Pta to celebrate my engagement and new fiance's birthday. I communicated this when i made the booking. Promises where made that they would this a special night. With our arrival they did not know of anything. After a while the waiter asked if it was our anniversary. He tried his best but was properly trained. No atmospere to talk of with terrible elevator music playing in the background. The lights dimmed and brightened all night long. The food was nothing special, could do much better in Pta. Had to leave at 21:20 because the waiters started to set the tables for the next day. We wanted to leave much earlier. I have nothing good to say about this experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeBruynJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    79
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

brilliant ...food, service and wine ... cosy place with a five star feel and personal service................................................................................

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank deanblumenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Made a night of it with dinner at Silver Orange and a B and B stop over to save the drive back to Jo'burg. It was fully booked but even though placed in a small private room with only two other tables, it did not lack atmosphere. Phenomenal wine list and a very attentive waiter with a good sense of humour. I see some reviews reference slow service. We had specifically asked for a breathing space between courses and they obliged willingly. Their sushi starter would never lose it's appeal and the scallops were darned good too. Starters and desserts there are creative, taste delicious and we will certainly go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Bit pretentious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Silver Orange Bistro on a Sunday and had a garden table. The setting was relaxing but despite this we still felt slightly frustrated with the slow service. When someone in our party asked for a change to the vegetables served with the dish of their choice the waiter was very reluctant to allow this. I would have preferred a salad instead of mash potatoes with my Scottish Salmon but did not want to 'inconvenience' the Silver Orange Bistro chef. The Scottish Salmon can not compare with the salmon I had at Pigalle two weeks ago. For approximately the same price the portion was bigger and the quality was better at Pigalle. I was also allowed to order a salad with my fish which left me very happy. The vegetable stir fry served with the salmon was overcooked, oily and too sweet. I could not taste the wasabi in the mash. The blue curacao sauce served with the salmon and the fan wafer was pretentios. If you want to enjoy your meal I would suggest that you do not mix the sauce with any of the food on your plate. The beef seems like the best option on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service slow but loads of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I treated my wife to Sunday lunch this last weekend. There is nothing quite like this anywhere in Hartebeespoort do I was very impressed. Lovely setting, beautiful gardens, gorgeous food and relaxes atmosphere.

The only small let down was they lost my booking and I was made to feel like a beggar on the porch whilst they made up a table. No apologies but I have forgiven them as the food is 5 star.

Service was adequate but impersonal. No manager asked us how our food which would have made me give this place a full 5/5

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenWarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Orange Bistro also viewed

Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
 

Been to Silver Orange Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing