We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive”

Silver Orange Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Made a night of it with dinner at Silver Orange and a B and B stop over to save the drive back to Jo'burg. It was fully booked but even though placed in a small private room with only two other tables, it did not lack atmosphere. Phenomenal wine list and a very attentive waiter with a good sense of humour. I see some reviews reference slow service. We had specifically asked for a breathing space between courses and they obliged willingly. Their sushi starter would never lose it's appeal and the scallops were darned good too. Starters and desserts there are creative, taste delicious and we will certainly go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    78
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Bit pretentious”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Silver Orange Bistro on a Sunday and had a garden table. The setting was relaxing but despite this we still felt slightly frustrated with the slow service. When someone in our party asked for a change to the vegetables served with the dish of their choice the waiter was very reluctant to allow this. I would have preferred a salad instead of mash potatoes with my Scottish Salmon but did not want to 'inconvenience' the Silver Orange Bistro chef. The Scottish Salmon can not compare with the salmon I had at Pigalle two weeks ago. For approximately the same price the portion was bigger and the quality was better at Pigalle. I was also allowed to order a salad with my fish which left me very happy. The vegetable stir fry served with the salmon was overcooked, oily and too sweet. I could not taste the wasabi in the mash. The blue curacao sauce served with the salmon and the fan wafer was pretentios. If you want to enjoy your meal I would suggest that you do not mix the sauce with any of the food on your plate. The beef seems like the best option on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service slow but loads of character”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I treated my wife to Sunday lunch this last weekend. There is nothing quite like this anywhere in Hartebeespoort do I was very impressed. Lovely setting, beautiful gardens, gorgeous food and relaxes atmosphere.

The only small let down was they lost my booking and I was made to feel like a beggar on the porch whilst they made up a table. No apologies but I have forgiven them as the food is 5 star.

Service was adequate but impersonal. No manager asked us how our food which would have made me give this place a full 5/5

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenWarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“great food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Silver Orange offers good food, good service, and a romantic ambience for an evening meal. the staff are attentive, the food shows attention to detail, and everything on the menu has been well thought out. The wine list is substantial.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Level Contributor
163 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“The Silver Orange Bistro has a kitchen of gold”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

While staying over in Die Ou Pastorie guesthouse, they recommended us to have dinner one night in the Silver Orange Bistro, and what a great advice this was.

We were welcomed by a hostess and escorted to our table. The place is cosy and gas fires were all around to keep the guests warm throughout the evening.

Two extremely friendly and knowledgeable waiters looked after us the evening, adding even more pleasure to a delightful experience.

We started to pick our wine from an impressive wine list, with excellent choices for everyone’s palate and budget. We chose the Newton Johnson Chardonnay, which is fantastic and with R 195,00 decently priced.

For starters my wife chose the scallops and while the dish tasted good, the scallops were so small you could hardly find them. A bit of a disappointment. I was more enthusiastic with my deep fried salmon and tuna sushi starter, which was delicious. For mains we both opted for a beef fillet, one with gorgonzola and one with mussels. Both pieces of meat were superb: both cooked to perfection (one medium and one medium rare) which melted on your tong. My pea mash was superb too and the wedges we asked for were crispy and great, as they should be. For dessert I had a flourless cake which was very nice too.

All in all a great evening in a restaurant we would gladly return to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurentPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Orange Bistro also viewed

Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
 
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 

Been to Silver Orange Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing