We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Quality & Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ponciana Superior Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 38 Hartbeespoort B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2013

At this lovely establishement you will be at the best spot located around Hartebeespoort Dam. This is all because of the location. From the elevated deck you can have a full view of the Dam with yachts in the distance streaking across the water against a awesome sunset.

The food are prepared with all the attention to detail you can desire. Venision is alway available to the guests and prepared to their taste. Christmas is extra special with lovely decorated trees and fairy lights.

The hospitality is over the moon with extra attention paid to detail. The area is warm heartfelt and provide for superior relaxation around the pool, soft music in the background and an icecold quencher in hand beconning the sun to touch your skin.

Excursions are also on offer from Ponciana and can be booked in advance with the office.

This is a must visit and stay hot spot. If you have a special person in your life thaen make sure to book the "honemoon suite" as your experience will be out of this world.

Many happy nights at Ponciana

Room Tip: Book in advance and ensure that you be clear if you want to stay on ground level (pool) or on the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KobusV156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponciana05, Owner at Ponciana Superior Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to host you and to inform you about the great things you can do in our area. Not many people know that Hartbeespoortdam is one of those places in South Africa where you almost can do everything. As you only could do a few excursions, it can be the opportunity to visit us again. We and the Ponciana Staff wish you a great festive season and hope to see you again in 2014. Ronnie & Yolande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Poncania Guesthouse offers excellent rooms i a nice surrounding. The view from the brakfast area is breathtaking and the personal contact very warm. We got pleanty of tips for touring around. Only the bathroom could be better looked after. The shower was scaled and the sink hard to use because of the low tap.
But overall: excellent

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KlausB201342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponciana05, Owner at Ponciana Superior Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Hello Klaus,

Thank you for your review. Sorry about the tab in your room but this fault was already made during the building of the guesthouse. We know about this : the tab is to low to the basin which is very uncomfortable. The only way to solve this is to break out the plumbing and of course the tiles in the bathroom. Today we only laugh with it and say : TIA - This is Africa !!!!
Thanks for being with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 3 exceptional days at Ponciana Superior Guesthouse. At the arrival Ronnie and Yolande, Managers welcome us so nicely that we had the impression that we know them since long time as friends. They advice us on the main activities to be done in the region and booked us immediately when we selected them. The suite we had was unique, decorated with taste. Breakfast was excellent (European style) in an aera with a nice view on the Dam. Strongly recommended as the quality/price of the hotel is very good. Thanks to Ronnie and Yolande who are running very seriously the Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sid_boubekeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponciana05, Owner at Ponciana Superior Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Sid,

C'était trés agréable de rencontrer des gens en Afrique du Sud qui connaissent la Belgique, notre pays d'origine. Merci pour l'info que vous m'avez donné concernant le Thuli Bloque en Botswana.
Une fois on va certainement visiter la région et votre enthousiasme garantie certainement qu'une visite sera vaut la peine. Ronnie & Yolande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

stayed at Ponciana Guesthouse for business in the area and enjoyed the great hospitality and nice view as well as the opportunity for a short break away discovering the wildlife - easy, personal, reliable.
The pool looked great too but unfortunately I had no time...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CWR1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponciana05, Owner at Ponciana Superior Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure for us and the staff to welcome you at Ponciana.
Ronny & Yolande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have spent together with my collegues almost 6 months at Poncina Guesthouse during our business stay in RSA.

Ponciana Guesthouse is situated over the Hartbeesportdamm , where you can enjoy magnificent view to the damm .

Beutiful view to the damm through and over the palms , which are inseperable parts of garden , giving you very pleasant and relaxing feeling.

Guesthouse is equiped very elegantly in european standard style and 5 stars grading is than rightly deserved.

Pleasant atmosphere , tidiness , willingness and positive and friendly feeling it´s a kind of obviosity at Ponciana Guesthouse.

Especially Ronnie and Yolande , the owners are very friendly and solicitous , their care were making a good time to us since we were so far from our families.

Even the kitchen and culinary cooking and baking of Mrs. Yolande ,like a mussels on dutch way , zebra or springbock fillets , it´s something really unforgettable.

We have also enjoyed a lot of travelling all over South Africa during our stay , to see many important and beutifull places with Pongoa Travel agency , which belongs to same owners as Ponciana Guesthouse.

You couldn´t feel better when you are visiting such places like Johannesburg , Soweto , Pillanesberg Natural Reservation with such perfect guide as Mr. Ronnie is , for whom his hobby becomes his job.

I fully recommend accomodation at Ponciana Guesthouse , even to use of interesting trips , offered and organized by Pongoa Travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaroslav U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponciana05, Owner at Ponciana Superior Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Hi Jaroslav, Thank you for all your positive comments. It was a great pleasure to meet you and during those 6 months you were not longer a guest but a part of the family. We are looking forward to meet you again in January 2014 and we are sure we are going to have a great time when we stay in your Pension Uko in the Tsjech Republic. Hopefully we will get at that time some snow so we can go skiing together. We are looking forward to see you and Olga again.
Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good for a relaxing weekend; we had a "mother&daughter" weekend. Advisable to have a car - which we did not. Please also note that you have to pay extra for access to WIFI. Also note that must be an "early bird": Breakfast served only until 08.45. But we liked the place a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Birgitta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponciana05, Owner at Ponciana Superior Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hello Birgitta,

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to offer you a free upgrade to the Magalies Suite as you originally booked the Vineyard room with a queen size bed and you preferred to have twin size beds. We hope also you enjoy the free shuttle from the guesthouse to the restaurant as you did not have a car. Hope to host you again in the future. Thanks for being with us and for the nice talks we had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Since I have spent together with my collegues almost 6 months at Poncina Guesthouse I have found there is beutifull place with a magnificent view to the Hartbeespoort damm .
Amazing view which is giving you pleasant and relaxing feeling.

Pleasant atmosphere , tidiness , willingness and positive and friendly attitude it´s a kind of obviosity at Ponciana Guesthouse.

Kitchen and culinary cooking and baking of Mrs. Yolande , it´s something really delicious and unforgettable.

There is also possibility to see many important and beutifull places in african continent with Pongoa Travel agency , which belongs to same owners as Ponciana Guesthouse.

I really recommend to spend a time at Ponciana Guesthouse , even to use of interesting trips , offered and organized by Pongoa Travel .

Michal L.
Liberec
Czech Republic

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponciana05, Owner at Ponciana Superior Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Hi Michal. Your six months with us gave us new friends and we really enjoyed your stay here at Ponciana. Our weekend trips on the Quad Bike in the game reserve were always big fun. The great time we had in Botswana and Zimbabwe will always be in our memory. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we are happy to see you again in January 2014. Ronny & Yolande
PS : Gina already miss you to play with her

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartbeespoort hotels
6.3 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
13 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocomo Guesthouse, Spa & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Annie's House Romantic Getaway
Annie's House Romantic Getaway
#2 of 7 in Schoemansville
67 reviews
2.0 mi away
Three Oaks and an Aloe
Three Oaks and an Aloe
#8 of 38 in Hartbeespoort
80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Point of View
Point of View
#7 of 7 in Schoemansville
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponciana Superior Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponciana Superior Guesthouse

Address: 68 Cannon Crescent | Ifafi, Hartbeespoort 0260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Hartbeespoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Hartbeespoort
Price Range: $140 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ponciana Superior Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponciana Superior Guesthouse is Hartbeespoort at its best and hospitality at its warmest. The ideal place for holiday and for business people. Close to Brits Industrial, Gerotek, Pelindaba and Roslyn Pretoria. We host our guests in English, German, Dutch, French and Afrikaans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ponciana Superior Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing