We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet food by a German gourmet chef”
Review of The Gables

The Gables
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gourmet food by a German gourmet chef”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

family owned and run, beautifully appointed and full of art and antiques, private rooms available as are prix fixe lunches, European style service, herb garden on the premises, local meat and fish served so menu changes which is good great place for special occasions or large dinner parties, even wedding receptions The money is worth it - it's expensive because it is the best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ladydarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The flavour of Europe in Brighton”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Always feel welcome in this lovely old home in downtown Brighton. We were pleased to meet Chef Dieter who proudly sources local suppliers. Lunch menu is quite varied. Squash soup is delicious! Our entrees - mushroom omelette and fish of the day, served with salad were cooked and served to perfection. We were allowed to savour the meal at length while looking out the window at the birds coming to the feeder. As stated in other reviews it is a bit pricey for the market but it is a wonderful choice for special occasions - celebrating a birthday or couples night out. We live locally and have given gift certificates to our family for a date with a meal to remember. Tourists will find the menu and service comparable to any fine restaurant in Hamburg, Germany. Dieter and his wife Kirsten have done well, bringing the flavour of Europe to Brighton.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Gables is a "fine dining" restaurant and the prices and serving sizes are commensurate with the description. The food is excellent as is the service as well. The wine is overpriced and a service charge is automatically added to groups over 6 persons.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive for the market it is in.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent food, but small portions, and expensive. It is the only restaurant in Brighton that would be considered to be "upscale".

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamaicajoe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing meal!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was our first visit to The Gables and it will not be our last!
While a little pricey for the quantity, it was made up for by the quality. My husband had the sesame crusted goat cheese on greens, I had the Caesar salad, and we split an escargot as appetizers. I had the angel hair and jumbo shrimp for dinner, and my hubby had the duck breast. WOW, were they ever good! The only thing I could think of that might make it even better, would be to give a bit more pasta. It wouldn't have been enough to fill me if we hadn't had the appetizers. The bread served is crusty and delicious. Make sure you save room for dessert - you will absolutely want to have the homemade apple strudel. The best I've ever had.
The restaurant itself is warm, cosy, inviting and charming. You feel like you are having dinner in someone's beautiful home vice a restaurant. The service was attentive, friendly and bang on. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boujie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gables also viewed

 

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing