We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Presqu'ile Provincial Park

Presqu'ile Provincial Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Brighton
Attraction details
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went to Presquile and stayed at High Bluff for our first time this July 1, for 2 nights, after finding our usual favourite spots to be getting rowdier every year the past few visits...wish I had come here before! Very clean, silent after 10pm, except for the sounds of the waves crashing, beautiful beaches (rocky and/or sandy), so much wildlife and history and so many things to do! The marsh walk is so peaceful, and the nature centre was so interactive, with extremely friendly and helpful staff....I cant say enough good things about Presquile. Just remember the sunscreen and the bug spray!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Luluau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    70
    17
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most disgusting beach in Ontario”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What used to be one of my favourite parks in Ontario has now gone to the bottom of my list after our last visit on July 13th to 17th 2014. For almost 20 years, the beaches at Presqu'ile were the main attraction for many campers. This year, nothing short of "disgusting" can't even come close to describing the main beaches. We came for a week in late May, and the beaches were understandably in poor condition due to the harsh winter and one would think that in mid July, some attempt would have been made to clean them up. Not the case. The whole beach resembles a sewage dump. While the area away from the water was groomed, at least a 5 foot wide section along the whole length of the water's edge contained dead rotting birds, feces, black slime and dead fish. The stench was overpowering and unbelievably, people were actually letting their kids swim in the bacteria loaded water. The beaches were closed by the end of the week for swimming but by then, people were complaining of rashes and sickness. They should be permanently closed for the year. Absolutely no effort by park staff has been made to clean up this garbage at the water's edge. One park official did have the lame excuse blaming winter build-up of ice but couldn't explain why in mid summer, no cleanup had even started. The park itself is nice with well maintained bike and walking paths throughout and the camp sites were good quality. The main road leading to the campsites however were in horrible shape with huge gaping potholes. No attempts to even fill these holes with a few shovels of asphalt again speaks of the lack of effort by maintenance at the park but they will cut the grass daily. I have seen better cow paths so be very careful driving with your trailer. If you are looking to spend time at a beach, this is certainly not the place to go. A city beach on it's worst day is better maintained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have three young daughters and the beach is very important when we go camping...what a disappointment. The beach was disgusting! Flies everywhere and can I mention DEAD BIRDS along the shoreline! I can't believe parents actually let their kids swim in that water next to the dead birds. I understand that's its migration season but still....something needs to be done. Washrooms smelled and were not up to par as compared to Balsam Lake. Never again will I enter this park.....very disappointing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ayesha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful park alomg Lake Ontario”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This park which lies just west of the better known Sandbanks Provincial Park has so much natural beauty in various habitats to explore. There are many trails through wetlands, forests and meadows with interprative panels or guides to explain things. The camp sites are large and most are near the shore ( although the huge beaches are a little farther). There is a fantastic nature centre with animal displays and activities for everyone. It is very interactive and a unique opportunity to see monarch butterflies close up as they form their cocoons and emerge from the chrysalis. There are several children programs and presentations at the amphitheatre in the evening during the summer months. During spring migration there are viewing stations to see lots of waterfowl and other birds. The Presqu'ile light house has a very good presentation about the history of the area - lots of shipwrecks! Very good gift shop. Very active Friends of Presqu'ile who dedicate alot of effort in improving installations and programming. A wonderful place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MajaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a beach destination”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Might be perfect for bird watchers and nature enthusiasts, runners, walkers, but stay away from this park if you are looking for a good beach.

Well. beach is there as well as thousands of birds. Including dead birds right in the water and on the sand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank antonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presqu'ile Provincial Park also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Presqu'ile Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing