We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected wonderful food experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smokehouse Pub & Grill

The Smokehouse Pub & Grill
Ranked #13 of 23 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bowmanville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unexpected wonderful food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Don't be fooled by the unassuming outside of this little restaurant. As soon as you walk in, the mouthwatering smells grab you and pull you in. Although our server seemed to forget us once she brought our drinks to our table (she forgot her notepad and then didn't come back for at least 10 minutes - my husband had to go get her), the food was worth the wait. The steak cooked perfectly, the poutine was delicious and their Caesar salad was the best I have had in long time. My husband had the Smoked Chicken with the baked potato with their garden salad to start. His meal was excellent and he said the salad was fresh and crispy. The portions are large and the prices are very good for the amount of food that you get. This restaurant is definitely a 'do again'!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Newfygirl_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Homemade recipes for best ribs in town. Daily specials from local providers. Friendly service Sue and Bob are the owners and it is a family business. I first met them in their restaurant in Colborne, then Trenton, and now finally where they belong, in Brighton. Open late.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladydarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Smokehouse serves great food, reasonably priced with wonderful, friendly service. It has a "sports bar" comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colborne, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I were finally able to go out after weeks of being indoors from the big snowfalls. The food was served promptly even though they were clearly very busy, AND it tasted great. Their fish and chips were the best Ive had in awhile. Thank you for the wonderful night out

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“25 th Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I recently had the opportunity to celebrate our 25 th Wedding Anniversary brunch with the family and good friends at the Smokehouse. The Owners who hosted us were both Bob and Sue.
They personally took care of the needs of our group. Everyone agreed that we would not have wanted to celebrate such an wonderful event anywhere else. The greeting was family like. The food was cooked to Bob's usual standard of perfection. The portions were generous as always. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. Sue personally handled the reservation and made us feel welcomed and comfortable in her restaurant. The family all had a wonderful time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Smokehouse Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing