We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serenity on the Lake Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 7 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing space, good conversation, and a beautiful view with access to the lake, Serenity meets your needs. Breakfast was great and the attention to a gluten-free diet was much appreciated. Garnet has such an interesting life story and was an inspiration to meet. Hope to go back again someday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asha07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay based on the website and the facilities promised at this B&B. Admittedly the location on the lake is really nice, as it the house itself, but it is really messy and cluttered and there is no private space for guests as the living room is used by the family and you must go through it and the kitchen in order to get to the backyard. I won't go on about the details of our disappointment out of respect for the business and a hope that they might improve things, but would not recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing experience. Cider House B&B in the centre of town is a much better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grignons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet M, General Manager at Serenity on the Lake Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

According to our records these guests never stayed and Serenity at any time, so we are a little suspicious of this feedback. However in our own self assessment we would like to acknowledge that there was a period just after my heart attack when operations were handled by back up staff and in my own opinion were not up to our usual standards. We offered reduced rates to guests that stayed with us during that period and restored our routines within days of my return to Serenity. Our guests in general were more than understanding and I appreciated greatly their supportive notes and emails. Thank you all for your concern, best wishes and loyalty. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013


The B&B's location in new; owners moved in 6 weeks prior to our arrival. Bearing this in mind, our review considers the fact that given more time, this B&B will showcase as advertised on the website.

We were drawn to this B&B based on reviews and website details; and, because it was near Presu'ile Provincial Park which we wished to visit this summer.

A pre-arrival phone call received from Ruth to provide details was very much appreciated.

Both were excellent. We appreciated the special consideration given to include gluten-free menu items and menu provided day prior to select your menu choices. Breakfast was on time; with plenty of variety for all 4 taste palates.

• Appreciated purified water jug and glasses upon arrival;
• personal set of bath towels set out per guest.
• Very clean bathroom; shared bathroom with second bedroom has two sets of doors so it can be accessed from hallway or bedroom.
• Additional cot provided at no additional charge to us
• Very enjoyable to sit by the shores; or enjoy the outdoor pool.
• As advertised, this home is steps away from Lake Ontario.
• Peaceful; quiet neighbourhood
• Purple Room style with vaulted ceiling and lighting adds to ambience.

• Guest access to bedroom closets and chest of drawers for guest use; currently filled with owner's personal belongings;
• Due to move, the rooms are more cluttered or different than web site photos presented.

• No locks on bedroom doors as with hotels or inns; if this is a concern for travellers.
• Bedrooms all on 2nd floor with access via spiral staircase.
• Rocky shore so crocs and/or proper footware are recommended.
• If you are a traveller looking for varied conversation, you will find your place easily here.

Room Tip: The Purple Room has ensuite bathroom and balcony with seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LifeTravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were looking for a bed and breakfast in the Brighton/Campbellford area and were lucky enough to discover this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. From the very beginning, Barb did everything she could to make our stay in her home relaxing and comfortable. Nothing was an effort or too much trouble. A beautiful garden to enjoy a glass of wine, coffee or tea whenever needed and the most amazing breakfasts. On our first night Barb suggested a wonderful restaurant that was only 3 - 4 minutes away by car, when she heard we were going to walk not only did she draw a map for us, she put her cell phone number on it in case we needed a ride back.

Room Tip: The bedroom with the ensuite bathroom is smaller than the other 2 bedrooms that share a bathroom but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DDay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.3 mi away
Burken Bed & Breakfast
Burken Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Brighton
19 reviews
5.5 mi away
Timber House Resort
Timber House Resort
#3 of 7 in Brighton
68 reviews
4.1 mi away
Brighton 401 KOA
Brighton 401 KOA
#1 of 2 in Brighton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pine Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Serenity on the Lake Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity on the Lake Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 Lakecrest Cir, Brighton, Ontario K0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Brighton
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $62 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity On The Lake Bed and Breakfast is a very special B and B. Located on the shores of Lake Ontario near the beautiful town of Brighton, Serenity On The Lake offers you gourmet breakfasts, romantic private suites as well as a number of recreational, educational, gym, spa,and wellness services. Not to mention a wealth of local cultural activities to enhance your time at Serenity. Enjoy all Serenity Bed and Breakfast's facilities, lounge by the fireplace, or relax in the library. Step outside to our private pool that looks across the lake or stroll the beach or walk or bike to near by nature trails to participate in bird watching or hiking. Canoe and explore the local waterways. or take a drive and explore the magical country side that surrounds Serenity.Discover Serenity! It offers a peaceful, friendly and relaxing atmosphere in a luxurious home with private decks and patios to enjoy the beautiful waterfront views as well as quiet corners to relax and meditate on wonders of our world and the privilege of indulging in its treasures. Serenity offers a true getaway experience and a chance to explore and enjoy the peace and tranquility of our little oasis far from the rest of the world. Your host Ruth Morrison and the rest of her team are delighted to be able to share this wonderful place with you and to help make your time away from home a time that you will remember fondly for years to come. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serenity On The Lake Bed And Breakfast Brighton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing