We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”

Dougalls on the Bay
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Casual, waterfront dining overlooking Presqu'ile Bay. Serving Angus Beef, Seafood, fresh made burgers, unique sandwiches, pasta, house-made soups and chowder. Locally sourced food, wine and beer. Children's menu available.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Constantly changing staff and often very slow. Never had a bad meal there, but many of our friends will not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M, Owner at Dougalls on the Bay, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you Bob for your review.

We see your visit was in September 2013 and at that time we did have two new servers who were hired late August.

We actually have very little staff turnover here. The majority of our servers have been here anywhere from 2 to 8 years and are all from Brighton. A university student server has returned for her fourth summer. One of our chefs has been here over 20 years and the other two have been here 8 and 3 years respectively.

We apologize for being slow sometimes. When the restaurant is busy inside and out, preparing your food does take time as everything is made fresh to order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    68
    30
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Service poor”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

for the prices that they charge for a meal you can go just down the road at a newly
renovated Italian restaurant on the Trent River and have great value for the money.
Service is professional, no students working for spending money and service is fast.
We had to wait for 20 minutes to even get a glass of water, let alone see their menu.
This was not on a weekend day either.
I will never go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M, Owner at Dougalls on the Bay, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you Jody for your review. At first we were a bit puzzled as it read like another review two spots down (recently renovated Italian restaurant...)

All of our guests are greeted at the door by the 'please wait to be seated' sign and taken to their table with menus. Usually a drink order is taken at that time. Rarely people slip in unnoticed, and if this was the case with your visit, we apologize. Either my husband or I are always here and we visit all of our guests and we wished we had know at the time so we could have fixed it then.

It is true, we do employ local students and have done so for 22 years. For most of them it is their first job. It takes time to learn any job and we love the youthful spirit that they bring with them.

Many of our students have gone on to be teachers, social workers, nurses, a lawyer, a doctor, scientists and successful business people.

If you have a child, hopefully an employer somewhere will give them an opportunity. If you had a working student in your house at one time, chances are they probably had a restaurant job early in their career.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Been stopping in a few times a summer for the last five or so years after buying a weekend house close by. The food is good, the service always very good, but the summer time afternoon drinks on the patio are insanely good! The breeze coming off the bay, the shady patio and a cold drink make for a perfect way to spend an afternoon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M, Owner at Dougalls on the Bay, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you Kevin for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoy our food, service and patio...it is a wonderful spot to spend time. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have been to Dougall's a number of times and find the service really ranges with whom is working. About a year ago we stopped going for quite a while since we almost always were somewhat disappointed with the food/ service for what we paid. We can go down the road 20 minutes and receive much better quality and service at an extremely well run Italian restaurant. The last couple of times we did enjoy the food and service considerably more than before, the quality of food and presentation was the best we have seen so we are encouraged that the criticisms on this site have been heard. I read a number of them and feel that there is an element of truth in all, the owners would do well to be a bit more humble and listen rather than defensive and claiming to know it all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M, Owner at Dougalls on the Bay, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experiences here of late.

We do listen to our customer's comments and criticisms and take them seriously. Every day we strive to please our guests. It is always best that the situation is dealt with at the time so we can fix it immediately.

When it comes to being defensive, it is only natural that we would be trying to correct inaccurate comments or information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great view and summer location”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Food just okay, service just okay depending on the summer students, cost too much for what you get. Quasi Greek and Canadian food - not very inventive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladydarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darknstormy, Owner at Dougalls on the Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are a family run business and over the years (22) have employed many wonderful, local students. Our philosophy has always been 'you have to start somewhere'.

As for the "Quasi-Greek", the only Greek inspired dish on the menu is a chicken and salad dish. True, we do offer Canadian menu items such as Angus Beef, sustainable fish and seafood, local produce, house-made burgers and soups...all in line with our Casual Dining theme. Prices are relative to the high quality products we serve and average for the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dougalls on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Dougalls on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing