We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timber House Resort
Nearby Hotels
Burken Bed & Breakfast(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$103
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guest Inn(Trenton)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Bayside Motel(Trenton)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
36
17
7
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
17
7
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaconbuffet stylecommon roomgreat roomstayed here for nightsdog ownershome cooked breakfastget awayminute walknext morninghis wifeweddingnovembertvlakeideainstructions
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 72 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I recently just attended a wedding at the venue and the rooms that we could see were dirty
dust is everywhere and the bride was doing all the place settings on her wedding day when she should have been enjoying it
silverware and plates at different tables were dirty
the water smelled so terrible!! ( definately sulfar) The smell also came out of the drains !!
The wedding co ordinator had a shirt on that did not even cover her belly
and she looked like she was about 20
food was just ok
The front desk is not inviting at all ( nobody is there if you need anything)
It is a shame that this place is not being looked after anymore
My husband and I attended a wedding in 2011 and the place was nothing like it is now

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guest d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were so unsatisfied that we did not stay the night ! When we arrived it took 5 minutes to locate someone to check us in. The water in the shower smelled so bad, like rotten eggs that It stunk up the room. Our room had a 2 way fireplace and the other side was open to the common room , which made us feel very uncomfortable, as someone could actually look into our room. There were 3 padlocked doors in the room leading to ...? We had expected a dining room for our meals which was mentioned in the ad, but this was not the case. There was no food available in the evening and we discovered that the breakfast would Continental , not fullservice, as we had been lead to believe and would only be out from 8:30 to 9:30 am. Not a way to spend what was supposed to be a romantic getaway. Have tried twice to contact the Inn to get our money back and no one is even returning our calls. Not recommending this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davedingle, Owner at Timber House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.
I'm very sorry we didn't meet your expectations. If you have left a voice mail, we haven't received it. Please feel free to contact me at info@timberhouse.net for an immediate response.
The room you stayed in is very popular with the majority of our guests, so I was a bit surprised by some of your comments, but I appreciate the opportunity to see things as a guest sees them. The room does have a two way fireplace with a privacy curtain on the guest room side. There are storage closet doors in this spacious guest room. We use them for linens and in the other case, on extremely rare occasions, to access some building wiring. In over 10 years since this suite went into operation, this is the first time we've heard this concern.
Our water is well water and does occasionally have a sulfur odor. We are in the country and on a well. We have a very good softener, while the water is great for bathing and drinking, occasionally there is an odor. We note other reviewers have commented on this and appreciate it may be a concern for some.
Our evening kitchen is open by prearrangement, particularly in slower periods. If you book directly with us we inform you when we send our confirmation so it is clear. If you book on a third party reservation provider, depending on the provider this may not be clear. We are working on improving the information flow regardless how a booking is made.
Our breakfast is a full buffet and seems to be fairly popular. It features some variation each day with some kind of fresh fruit, fresh eggs, bacon, nice baked goods and homemade jams. To ensure a good selection with generous portions, we offer it in a buffet format. The chef is available for any special requests for the period from 8:30 to 9:30 AM. The buffet is available for longer than 8:30 to 9:30 AM for those who sleep later. The buffet is included in our reasonable room rates.
I regret that I and my staff didn't have a chance to learn about and address any of these concerns with you during your brief visit.
Sincerely,
Dave Dingle, Owner
Timber House Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in this amazing place and we loved it. Our room was huge with an ensuite bathroom that was absolutely, spotlessly clean. The queen bed was super comfortable. Our room was very reasonable, around $100 and includes a delicious breakfast with hot and cold selections. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. All in all, we had a wonderful experience and would recommend it to anyone. We will be back!

Room Tip: If stairs are a challenge, ask for a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We are accidental tourists from across the pond in Rochester, NY, USA. We have a cottage on Port Bay (Wolcott, NY, USA) and planned to spend a week there following the dropping off of our youngest at university. Last week, as we were making plans for an enjoyable week, my husband suggested day trips with possible destinations of Kingston, Gananoque, Alexandria Bay and Lake Placid. We have been to all many times and I left the planning to my husband. Earlier this week, he suggested spending the night somewhere between Kingston and Gananoque, an idea I thought was lovely. And off he went to make a reservation. Done. And off we went. Imagine his surprise when he entered the address into his GPS following a nostalgic early supper at a favorite cafe in Kingston only to find that he had miscalculated. Rather than 1.5 hours towards Gananoque, it was 1.5 hours toward TORONTO. And here we are. Not what we had planned at all.
We took 401-W from Kingston, exiting at Brighton. After many twists and turns, with darkness looming, we finally found the Inn. Pulling in, it was an inspired first glance. A young family walking the path from the woods, an older couple sitting outside in Adirondack-style chairs, a mother and daughter off to explore... all in the shadow of a large, well-lit timber-peg Inn. I expected Hemingway to emerge from the wood's edge followed by a loping a moose at any moment. Check-in was effortless and Dave, the innkeeper, showed my husband our room while I finished a phone call to other children at home. First, the setting. Timber House is set off the beaten track, away from the lights, glare and noise of day-to-day living. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, you have come to the right place. We stayed in the Upper King Suite and were pleased to find that the room met all expectations. Clean and well-cared for, comfortable bed (first thing I checked!), perfectly appointed bathroom with plump, fresh, white towels. Luxurious. Two things to note about the water. Yes, it has a sulphur odor (in response to other reviews). The water is wonderful, refreshing, cool, crisp WELL water. A sulphuric odor on occasion is a small price to pay for pristine well water. The other thing to note is that a water softener is used. You will definitely notice this when showering. Softened water is a treat but be sure to use only half the amount of soap and shampoo or you'll be there all day, actually not a bad thing. After a long day, we traveled into Brighton to try to find dinner. At 8:30 p.m., in a small coastal/lake town on a Tuesday evening, we were only able to find one restaurant still open (Vita's- very good). We returned to a quiet Inn and retreated to our room where we slept the deep, restorative sleep one can usually only hope for in a strange place. Both my husband and I are light sleepers from years of children and teens coming and going at home. We never heard a sound from the other inn guests... not a peep, cry, snore, or bed bounce. Though the parking area indicated a full house, we wondered if the cars were from a neighboring campground. We rose in the morning and headed down to the breakfast room which had seating for 18, more if you pulled up extra chairs. We met other inn guests and chatted away while food began arriving. Breakfast is buffet style but don't let that deter you. This morning's offerings were homemade breads (banana mango), delicious, thick french toast with REAL maple syrup and homemade jams, baked eggs, fresh thick bacon, and a variety of cereals. The coffee and juices balanced the meal perfectly. We are back in our room, packing up, and counting blessings that we "accidentally" encountered this magical inn. And now... off to Gananoque!

Room Tip: My husband headed down to get us coffee before breakfast was officially served. He ran into others with the same idea. Though the urn was full, and cream and sugar were at the ready, no cups! Later we discovered they are kept in the hutch to the left of the kitchen door. Open the top drawer and you will find them!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyMAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here overnight and it was fine for what we needed - a clean and quiet place to rest. Because it's in a wooded area, we did see a few mosquitos in our room which we had to kill before we headed to bed. Their facilities are clean and accessible, except their yoga studio. It felt like no one used it and it was a bit dusty and had a couple of wrappers laying around. The steam bath was a nice touch. The next morning we had a decent breakfast and the chef was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best suites.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lali317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews