We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
53
41
14
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
53
41
14
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 110 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2017

Booked this ryokan because of all the favorable reviews and we were not disappointed. You can enjoy four onsens some outside. Wifi is ok. The staff are all very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed dinner composed of mainly local delicacies. Would certainly come back again. We learned that the former ryokan now stood in Oyakuen in Aizu-wakamatsu.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomizuta1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

Went with two friends for a weekend trip, and was blown away by how cheap the hotel was for how clean and spacious the room was!

Pros:
-has a private bath you can reserve for an extra fee
-two public baths to choose from
-room service massages available
-very nice lounge on the first floor
-great location with a nice view of the river

Cons:
-private bath doesn’t have a shower
-the reservation site said there was a private shower in the room but there wasn’t
-wasn’t notified that all the massage therapists were going to be male, got a bit uncomfortable.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank youkofujima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Blown about by a typhoon through to an onsen town - seemingly on the edge of ruin (Higashiyama Onsen) - we found the Shintaki Onsen. Like the movie 'Spirited Away', much about this Onsen hotel was in keeping with the traditional, the mysterious and mythical.

On arrival the concierge ushered us to a seat and provided us, in the best of hotelier traditions, a towel, tea, sake, and in-room check-in.

The key to a good hotel is in the details that they notice straight away but remain inscrutable about. When we walked in the door, the staff knew our name; when we walked in the restaurant, the staff knew our name. No breakfast coupons. Seamless service.

Hall and onsen lighting was purposely dark, with faux lantern lighting. The dark mystery steeping the halls belied the more recent upgrades.

The rooms have been fitted with fresh tatami - a beguiling smell that could be overwhelming by morning (use the fan!). Futons were laid out at night and put away again in the morning while guests were at breakfast at dinner. The rooms were large - separate bathroom, toilet, bedroom, with sitting room area.

Keisei dinner every night was a delight - worth the hotel price alone - and the breakfast buffet was of a high quality, showcasing Aizu miso and local cooking specialties. Aizu-Wakamatsu sake was bold and well-rounded (and award-winning brews were sold at a sake shop just across the road at outrageously reasonable prices). Aizu-Wakamatsu cuisine was also worth exploring, including rice and vegetables steamed in bamboo pots (wappameshi) and pork ramen.

We booked onsen on a private basis - the outdoor and an indoor marble onsen. Both of excellent quality, drawn from a local source that fed a once booming onsen town. The outdoor onsen was better.

We were taking part in Japanese culture as guests, not as voyeurs; we were invited to wear housecoats to breakfast and supper, to bathe together. The hotel is completely self-contained and is not intended to involve the surrounding locales - sit back, relax, eat, drink and mellow in the pool.

Price: this hotel is not cheap; it can price at three times a hotel, twice a business hotel. But if you are looking at a one-off experience, this could be your hotel.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TrubblePJPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2014

this hotel was an excellent choice and I thoroughly recommend it to families wanting to visit the area.

It's a small town so anywhere is close, given that this hotel distinguishes itself well.

With three different baths in the hotel there is lots of choice. We stayed for three nights and used all the baths and also visited the bath at the sister hotel just up the road.

The food was excellent and we ate at several of the restaurants there for breakfast and dinner.

All in all I would recommend this highly.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room tip: そんなに値段は変わらないと思うので部屋はランクアッププランの方がいいです。
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews