We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great three days in Wessex hotel ”
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great three days in Wessex hotel ”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Just had a great break at the Wessex with GB Tours staff very good room very clean. Only down point was the bar closed at11pm this is poor for a hotel. Thanks to GB Tours for another great trip and to the Wessex staff for a lovely stay Mr&Mrs Moseley &friends oh and the lady's loved Clarkes village

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Cripsteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    123
    71
    28
    32
See reviews for
32
139
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was good, hot and well served. The bathrooms had been upgraded however, the ceramic tiled floors were subject to condensation which was a bit of a problem. The hotel is in an ideal situation in Street and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0ckings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our third visit to this hotel which continues to improve. It is a 3* which does need updating but the service and food over New Year was the best. Our priority is the ballroom for dancing, service and food so it suits us. It was warm and quiet. It accepts dogs which is a bonus for us. We will be retuning often during the year and if the refurbishment continues we will be recommending it to our friends. The organisation and value for money with Eden Nights holidays for dancers is excellent.

Room Tip: Don't have a room with a jacquzzi as it takes too long to fill to use!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodlelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our third visit to the Wessex with Voel Holidays. Each time has been better and better. The hotel is warm and friendly, the staff are excellent. The food very good with a nice choice of menu. Choosing your evening meal at breakfast made for smooth and efficient service.

Would recommend a stay here and we will be back for a fourth visit. The area has so much to see.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steamhead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is in need of a bit of TLC. The food was always hot but the choice was limited. All the staff were very helpful and always smiling. We stayed for 4 nights on an organised trip with GB Tours but the hotel in general is a bit of a let down. Would use GB Tours again but not this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel for dinner on a quiet Sunday evening, we were only able to eat in the bar but was clean and well presented, the menu was limited and when arrived one of the dinners had clearly been heated up from lunchtime, other meal freshly cooked without any issues. Staff accommodating and part refund given. All round underwhelmed

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Wessex Hotel, Street.
Had a three day stay with Voel Coach Holidays, and although there also was another Coach party in the Hotel at the same time, the service was very good, staff very friendly and helpful, the food beautifully cooked and a varied Menu to choose from.
The room size very good and warm.
All in all the staff at the Hotel made us very welcome and our stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Rooms basic, have all that is needed ,very warm and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank staffite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
90 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
987 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.5 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Property: Wessex Hotel
Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Wessex Hotel Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing