We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think crossroads”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Think crossroads”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is like a sitcom crossed between Faulty towers and crossroads, the staff range from surprisingly good to laughingly awful, breakfast was so bad it was the highlight of the stay. We were moved twice before they found the correct room for us, and although it was very tired it was better than the first two they put us in, one was so small that you could only get out one side of the double bed and not try to stand up at the same time as there wasn't room for two on the carpet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tightfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    115
    68
    26
    32
See reviews for
29
137
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at The Wessex in February and enjoyed my stay so much that when i had a chance of another break here i did not hesitate.They have upped their game since my last stay especially in the dining room,the food was excellent,hot+very tasty.even my fussy mother who can be hard to please really enjoyed the food.The room was spacious and comfortable and clean,shower was great with loads of hot water at all times.it was actually hot + sunny when i stayed so its great to be able to leave windows open all night,no noise outside (room at rear) so i slept like a log which i normally don't.The staff were all very friendly and polite..i really enjoyed my stay here and would have no hesitation coming to stay again as the hotel is in an ideal location and such a pretty +friendly town..this hotel has got a new manager who is making improvements,well done to everyone at the hotel for making my stay such a good one.i shall be back

Room Tip: room 105 large twin bedded room on 1st floor at rear,nice+quiet,windows that open
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayedat theWessex aspart of a coach party Exellent hotelin need of a littleT.L.C.Room satisfactory.Plenty of hot water.and shower good .Food exellent. Staffvery peasant .would stay there again. very convenient location

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear quieter .any problems tell front desk and it gets done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUW J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned after a 5 day stay at The Wessex. After reading some reviews I was very apprehensive. We thought the staff in dining room very helpful, the food was satisfactory. The only comment I will make is they could do with a new toaster in the one dining room.. The bedrooms on the first floor were lovely and clean and very comfortable always plenty of towels and hot water.

Room Tip: Our rooms were facing the back of the Hotel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalopiansShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

we booked wessex hotel last minute as it was bank holiday we did not have alot to choose. from the outside it looks a bit drab. the room they gave us was great lots of room and it had a juczzi bath. we had a lovely 2 night stay, reception staff were very nice also hose keeping lady was lovely, we would stay again they also allow dogs which was great as this can be hard to find place to stay, it was about a mile and half walk to glastenbury but was a pleasant walk lots of pubs cafes in the street and clarks shopping village accross the road. only bad thing was breackfast it was cold.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

To Street in Somerset a small homely kind of West Country town, and there to take part in a dance weekend at this Hotel organised for Danceworks Devon and, like all their events, very well run. The town itself is home to the celebrated "Clark's retail outlet village", so the shopping surprisingly diverse and cheap on a scale unexpected in this little town and with so many well known brand names having their own "outlets" in the Village.

As to the Hotel and accommodation, well, if we are to resort to a cliche, a bit of a curate's egg - good in parts. The good part being that the front of house staff all very polite and very helpful especially Sarah in the Restaurant who seemed to spend much of her time apologising. The rooms a good size and the decor pretty good, if a touch boring. There are however maintenance issues in this hotel with various people in our party trying to get things fixed, like the room televisions which only provide a broken up picture on some channels, the handle missing off the tap in our bathroom, someone else complaining of a blocked basin not being fixed. All things which could and should be monitored and dealt with on a regular basis.

And the food? well breakfast was predictable and fine in itself although for some of us the service for the cooked part of it was rather slow, our companions gave up and cancelled theirs. Dinner though was a different matter. The choice of food was fairly basic. In this day and age so many "foodie" programmes and fine dining people's expectations for the presentation and choice of food is rather more that of a basic cafe of the 1960's, even in a small hotel. On our second evening several on our table choose the "battered plaice" - plenty of batter and not much plaice, some sent back to the kitchen for replacements one of which was no better. Our opinions of he skills of the chef took more a a battering that the Plaice did. They really should do better than this.

Would we go there again, possibly if we were part of a well run event as we were on this occasion, on our own, no. I would rather drive on and find somewhere with a better idea of running a restaurant.

Room Tip: Might be better at the back as on Friday and Saturday evening a few of the Town's drunks can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The twice yearly 3 day jazz event held in November and again at Easter at the Wessex hotel is fantastic. You can stay BBE or just go to the Jazz Festival daily. Staff are friendly and helpful. The Wessex also holds a Jazz evening every 4 to 5 weeks.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Property: Wessex Hotel
Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Wessex Hotel Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing