We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager clearly overcompensating for something...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Two Brewers

The Two Brewers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Street
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Two Brewers
Ranked #6 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Manager clearly overcompensating for something...”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My partner and I went to visit family in December 2012 and they suggested that we ate at the 'The Two Brewers' as it was their local and thought very highly of the place. On the outside, it looked like a traditional English pub. We entered the pub and again, we thought the place looked nice. We were shown to our seats by the waitress, i don't remember her name, but she was very professional. The menu is laid like a newspaper, i thought this was a very quirky idea. However I was expecting the menu to be the 'Daily Sport' of menus where there would be a lot of different meals i would like to try. It actually turned out to be the financial times. The menu was so boring. I ended up choosing from the specials board. The food was very reasonably priced, there was just nothing appealing. Not even the pub classic of 'The Burger'. Now while i was choosing from the specials board (chalk board) I noticed that the writing was as a slant and there was a noticeable gap between two words. But as this was a 'county pub' i thought it added to the appeal-not everything has to be even, not everything has to be perfect. Anyway, the food came pretty quickly, which ties in with their slogan something like 'we don't do fast food, we do good food as soon as we can' basically what you find in every local pub/restaurant. Now the food was good and it was fast so they have accomplished that. But that's all it was, good. Half way through our meal, the manager came out. We didn't see him at first, but you could definitely hear him. He clearly wanted everyone in the pub to know that he was the manager, ordering his staff around loudly. I tried to ignore but the way he was speaking to his staff was diabolical. The icing on the cake was when he noticed the gap between the words. He hit the Roof! he literally picked the waitress up by her shoulders and stood her in front of the sign. He was ranting and raving about how massive this space was etc etc... At this point i was ready to go. He snatched the wet cloth out of her hands, wiped it clean and demanded she did it again. I felt so sorry for her. Sorry for the Essay, just wanted to share my experience.

Positives- Food was okay, Prices were good, good service from Waitress
Negatives- Menu was bland and small, Manager ruined the night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Deanrichards123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've stayed here regularly for the last two years, visiting family in Street. I've stayed in all three rooms and had the same experience.

The rooms are all immaculate, the beds very comfortable and the bathrooms clean with hot water readily available and strong showers. Tea/Coffeee/biscuits are always provided and the rooms have kettles, hair dryers and free wi-fi. We usually have the cereal breakfast and a good selection is always provided in our room along with plentiful milk in the fridge. Because the rooms are separate to the pub and set back from the road, there is never any noise to disturb us.

I'm always happy to return here because I know I'll have a comfortable and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronia353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have stayed here several times and have always had an enjoyable stay. The accomadation is very comfortable and well looked after. The meals in the pub are excellent and good value and the staff are friendly. Would recommend without reservation.

Room Tip: Only three rooms Two upstairs and one down. Have stayed in the two upper ones and both fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have stayed here and had meals here several times. The experience we have had has been consistently good. The rooms have everything you need and are quiet. We have always slept well. The food is simple pub fayre but very well done and good value, with home made soups and specials.

I have travelled a lot in the UK on on a fixed budget and would recommend this Pub for the business traveller or for a few nights break away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we stayed 1 night in clean comfortable accomodation.We ate in the restaurant and had good quality food.we also had there breakfast which was also of a good standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetgoodacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A country pub in the town! Mmmmm... more like a greasy spoon in a pub.
Bad tummies all round after eating at this pub, deep fried everything, very very disappointing, we have chips with no potato in them, just spewing with fishy smelling (tasting)grease, Deep fry it and bang it out is the philosophy here, lamb chops deep fry, fish deep fry, sausage deep fry, steak deep fry, it all even tastes like lamb, fish and old grease....This place advertises a freshly cooked meal but in reality we would of got a better meal from a burger van.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notdoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The rooms are in a converted stable at the rear of an excellent pub. The room was a reasonable size, with a comfortable bed. No bath but a nice shower with a good pressure and lots of hot water. Room had a hair drier, fridge and tea and coffee.Flat screen TV with full range of freeview channel. FREE wi-fi connection in the room which was a pleasant surprise. The only niggle was there was no where to sit in comfort in the room, a small sofa or similar would only enhance the room.
The pub is a old fashioned and no frills with good food and reasonably priced home cooked food. The breakfast served in the bar at agreed time was a full english and a great start to any day. Staff friendly can thoroughly recommend and we shall return

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbccolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#1 of 8 in Street
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albany Apartments
The Albany Apartments
#3 of 3 in St Peter Port
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Brewers

Property: The Two Brewers
Address: 38 Leigh Road, Street BA16 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Hotel Class:4 star — The Two Brewers 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Two Brewers Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing