We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor attitude to guest”
Review of Old Orchard House

Old Orchard House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Street
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I was criticised for arriving earlier than planned. I was also criticised for not booking an evening meal in advance. There was nowhere in walking distance to have an evening meal. This B&B does not deserve the "walker friendly" rating.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rachel282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Old Orchard House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

I spent a few delightful days in William and Marion Salmon's home where I was treated like an old friend. The house and garden are immaculate, as was the white linen, from bedsheets to napkins at the breakfast table. I had an excellent stay in this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slope_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My room was spacios and beautifully equipped. The owners are a lovely, charming couple where nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was outstanding - so much choice and all delicious. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEEHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Better than home from home! A wonderful B&B where the Family Salmon share their home and take good care to see your holiday is a success. The rooms are spacious and decorated with antiques and you'll take away lots of interesting new decorating ideas. Everything is immaculately clean and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts were delicious with a very exciting choice - better than we have seen in any other B&B. And the garden was an oasis of calm after driving round the Somerset lanes.
We would not hesitate to recommend Old Orchard House and we will return there when we revisit the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabbycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I've stayed here may times now and wanted to take the time to leave a really glowing review for this lovely place. There's always a cup of tea for you when you arrive if you want it, the rooms are comfortable and clean with all sorts of extra touches, and breakfast is fantastic - fruits from the garden make it for me!
Fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wideheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Exceptional standards of food and accommodation - the food that Mrs. Salmon cooks is at least good quality restaurant standard. Standards of cleanliness and the warmth of the welcome are impeccable. In a three week cycling tour with a different venue every night, there was only one other stay that was the equal of this - unequivocal recommendation. Not only that, but Mr. Salmon even came to collect one of us who had a bike accident three miles from their home. Unbeatable service all round.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Loved the food. Beautiful garden for the kids to play in. Friendly and caring people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank equimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
99 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#1 of 8 in Street
318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Walton Gateway
Walton Gateway
#4 of 8 in Street
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Orchard House

Address: Middle Brooks, Street BA16 0TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range: $34 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, comfortable, centrally heated home with a large garden on the outskirts of Street. We have a quiet policy and no TV. We have books, papers, log fire and peace aplenty. Evening meals served with 48 hours notice. Large variety of breakfast options. Full off-road parking. Room rates are from £40 pppn for a single room incl. breakfast and £90 per ensuite double room per night incl. breakfast. We have 4 STARS, a BREAKFAST AWARD and a SILVER AWARD from the English Tourist Board ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Orchard House Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing