We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful B&B hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Orchard House

Old Orchard House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Street
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 7 Street B&B and Inns
scottish borders
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful B&B hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Better than home from home! A wonderful B&B where the Family Salmon share their home and take good care to see your holiday is a success. The rooms are spacious and decorated with antiques and you'll take away lots of interesting new decorating ideas. Everything is immaculately clean and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts were delicious with a very exciting choice - better than we have seen in any other B&B. And the garden was an oasis of calm after driving round the Somerset lanes.
We would not hesitate to recommend Old Orchard House and we will return there when we revisit the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
15
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I've stayed here may times now and wanted to take the time to leave a really glowing review for this lovely place. There's always a cup of tea for you when you arrive if you want it, the rooms are comfortable and clean with all sorts of extra touches, and breakfast is fantastic - fruits from the garden make it for me!
Fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wideheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Exceptional standards of food and accommodation - the food that Mrs. Salmon cooks is at least good quality restaurant standard. Standards of cleanliness and the warmth of the welcome are impeccable. In a three week cycling tour with a different venue every night, there was only one other stay that was the equal of this - unequivocal recommendation. Not only that, but Mr. Salmon even came to collect one of us who had a bike accident three miles from their home. Unbeatable service all round.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Loved the food. Beautiful garden for the kids to play in. Friendly and caring people.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank equimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Mr and Mrs Salmon offered a warm welcome, lovely accommodation and excellent breakfasts. I really enjoyed my stay here and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

We were very pleased with our accommodation in Old Orchard House. The slightly out of the way location is made up for by total peace and idyllic surroundings. The rooms are beautifully furnished with antiques, clean and comfy. The food is great and the view to the garden exceptional. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful making this a home from home. After the delicious evening meal we spent an interesting evening over coffee in the pretty sitting room talking to the very well informed owners. We thoroughly recommend this B&B because of its outstanding charm combined with a personal touch.
E. and R. Philipp Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
1.2 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#1 of 7 in Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.7 mi away
Walton Gateway
Walton Gateway
#4 of 7 in Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Orchard House

Property: Old Orchard House
Address: Middle Brooks, Street BA16 0TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, comfortable, centrally heated home with a large garden on the outskirts of Street. We have a quiet policy and no TV. We have books, papers, log fire and peace aplenty. Evening meals served with 48 hours notice. Large variety of breakfast options. Full off-road parking. Room rates are from £40 pppn for a single room incl. breakfast and £90 per ensuite double room per night incl. breakfast. We have 4 STARS, a BREAKFAST AWARD and a SILVER AWARD from the English Tourist Board ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Orchard House Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing