We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Lucia Capoterra
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Capoterra
Certificate of Excellence
BEDFORD
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“An interesting experience...”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having read the mixed reports on the Hotel Santa Lucia, I was rather apprehensive about our stay. In fact, most of the negative points made by some reviewers turned out to be unfounded. Yes, there is industry in the area, but none close enough to be detrimental to the hotel, in fact the only close by industry, if you can call it that, was a small concrete mixing plant, which although rather gaudy colour, was neither noisy or dirty. The other side of the wetland nature reserve was a power station and some wind turbines, but again no noise or smoke. There are a couple of oil refineries a few miles away, but none in sight of the hotel. During my stay there was none of the smells mentioned either.
The hotel itself, as mentioned is in an odd position, adjacent to housing and a small shopping centre. Getting back to the hotel itself, my room, on the first floor, was spacious, clean and airy, with a small balcony overlooking the wetlands. The room also had a hidden away cooker and sink, in a cupboard, which also housed the fridge. None of these items actually worked though, nor were there any saucepans, cutlery and crockery anyway!
Now, the restaurant... This was rather a joke. Breakfast was of the continental variety, which was fine, but as it was a self serve buffet arrangement, things got very busy at times, particularly at the drinks machine. Coffee's were dispensed quickly, but tea drinkers had to decant hot water into teapots from the same machine. This took ages, leading to coffee drinkers queuing up. There was also a button for chocolate, but all this delivered was hot diluted milk. Eventually a visitor made up an out of order sign and stuck it over the offending button. The staff only supplied a finite amount of food and when it was gone, it was gone, much to the annoyance of some of the German guests who weren't quick enough to grab some of the cake, which appears to be part of the Germans' breakfast expectations. Then it came to dinner in the evening, things went down hill. Firstly you must make a reservation at the reception by 6pm and state which of the items on the menu you wanted. Now the menu was limited to two items of starters and two mains and a desert. Not overtaxing to most restaurants, but when there was one of several coach parties staying, the restaurant simply couldn't cope, leading to long delays between courses and several unhappy guests. Even when there was a smaller number of diners, meals were slow in arriving. Guests were turned away as the restaurant being full, when it actually wasn't at all, all of which led to heated discussions between guests and staff. Still, you could always have a drink in the lounge to calm down. Well no, the girl that served behind the bar, was the same girl trying to serve dinners! Unfortunately there were few options locally to dine out and unless you wanted a pizza, or were prepared to pay the high prices of the two local fish restaurants.
Southern Sardina itself, once away from the Cagliari area is absolutely beautiful. Drive along the coast and you will find tiny bays with stunning beaches and views. The coast road snakes around cliffs and presents so many places you just have to stop to savour the stunning scenery.
So, would I stay at the Santa Lucia again? Probably, simply as there didn't seem to be any other alternatives on this coast, but only as a base to tour from. Capoterra has nothing to offer the tourist and the beach or lido as the call it, is covered in piles of dried sea weed, but does offer views of oil tankers and an oil refinery the other side of the bay. Travel 20 miles though and you are in heaven.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor, if you like wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    125
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
115
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paratico, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here when based in the area for work. This hotel came as a very pleasant surprise, not only for it's standard of room finiture but also for the friendliness of the staff, the pool (brilliant after a long day in 40°c+ heat) but also for the ease of parking, the choice of breakfasting varieties on offer and the fact that all around you are the Flamingos which add an extra tropical touch. They also lay on entertainment on certain nights so that you can wine, dine and relax without having to drive anywhere.

Great Hotel ... Highly recommended

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms come with a disabled shower, my only gripe; That which I encountered in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geckoboy2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were taken by the positive reviews of this hotel and booked four nights in advance. When we got there, we were shocked by its location. It borders an industrial zone (probably why it is cheap compared to other hotels) and were completely put off by its location. We decided to go somewhere else, despite the fact they forced us to pay an extra night for shortening the booking. The nearby beach does not compare with any other beach we visited. You see gas pipelines and large commercial ships nearby. The hotel is nice enough, fairly new, and would be convenient for anyone taking an early flight from Cagliari. But we would not recommend this hotel as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TadjuMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel, in a family room consisting of two connected clean spacious rooms with comfortable beds and two bathrooms. Lovely to sit on the terrace in the morning or evening. The swimming pool great, friendly and interested staff, good breakfast and relaxed atmosphere. Short walk to the supermarket and to the beach, great location for days out with the car. Don't expect a lot to do in the direct vacinity.. Only setback was that the second time we didn't have a airco in the rooms and that was quite uncomfortable at night.. it was only for two nights, we didn't ask for an other room, so I don't know what for service would have been if we had mentioned this but I trust they would have done whatever possible. Other slightly inpleasant item.. now and again a whiff of industrial air.. But all in all a really great place to stay! we'll be coming back!!

Room Tip: When it's warm be sure of a room with an airco in the room. Otherwise no doubt great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The room was spacious, very clean, very comfortable, nice furnished, with tv, air-condition and a fridge. Great clean pool. Free parking. The breakfast was also very fine with good selection of everything. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. We would rate this hotel with 4* if we compare it to the other 3* hotels in Italy. We would definitely recommend this hotel and wish we could stay here a bit longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel was great, we had 2 large rooms, with all comfort, separate bathrooms, fantastic beds....small terrace that sometimes got wet, because off the irrigation system.
Nice pool, professional English speaking staff. 2 excellent restaurants (10 minutes on foot)
Small but nice beach (10 minutes) with cosy bar. You can ask a voucher on the reception for 2 free beach chairs. Unfortunately there's some industry in the environment, and sometimes you can smell that....In front of the hotel there's a supermarket with a large parking place. At night it seems to be a place where the locals meet...
I think we had a special promotion price,( we payed the same last year for a bungalow on a camping in Chia ;-)) I suspect that the normal price (we found on the door of the room) is much higher.
Breakfast and dinner are just OK, nothing special. For us: very good price/quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotels is locacted approximatly 20 mins from Cagliari airport, being so close the the capital it has its benefits good road access to most locations. It is strongly recommended that you rent a car, the beach which is close to the hotel is ok but nothing like Villasimus or Buggerru which are exceptional.

The hotel is exceptionally clean and well kept with a decent continental breakfast with a large selection of homemade pastries.

the only issue with the hotel is that is some 3 to 4 kms from a large industrial park with heavy industry, it is not an eye sore as one cannot see it, we however ventured in UTA and saw the chimeny stacks spouting off unpleasant smoke. This does not necessary affect the hotel unless the wind is blowing in that direction, mostly the sea breeze sends the whiff elsewhere.

A very enjoyable stay at this hotel but the heavy industry made me wary of the enviroment and the possible impact on the fresh produce and fish etc.

a good choice for a budget holiday but you will need a car.

Room Tip: go for a view on the pool on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosLLanitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capoterra
12.5 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
825 reviews
107.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
642 reviews
124.0 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 34 in Cagliari
1,926 reviews
26.8 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#5 of 33 in Villasimius
1,397 reviews
108.4 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Lucia Capoterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Lucia Capoterra

Property: Hotel Santa Lucia Capoterra
Address: Via Ustica 13 | Loc. Sa Maddalena, 09012 Capoterra, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Capoterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Capoterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Lucia Capoterra 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Lucia Capoterra Hotel is situated in the south of the beautiful Island Sardinia adjacent to the fabulous area of the Natural Park of Santa Gilla and the Sa Maddalena Beach surrounded by one hectar of Mediterranean park and offer a relaxing ambiance close to the little town of Capoterra and the Capitol Cagliari.Spacious and elegant rooms offer comfort and functionality for your relaxation created for a pleasant stay during work trips or holidays. 71 rooms located on the ground floor and 1st floor: 50 double rooms (or twin) , each with either a private patio for ground floor rooms or a terrace for first floor rooms. 2 suites equipped with a lounge, separate bedroom and big terrace; 13 single rooms and 6 handicap rooms, all room designed fully wheelchair accessible. All equipped with patio tables and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Lucia Capoterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Lucia Capoterra Hotel Capoterra
Santa Lucia Hotel Capoterra
Hotel Santa Lucia Capoterra Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing