We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Qala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferrieha Farmhouse B&B Gozo
Ranked #1 of 11 Qala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful hosts”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed for four nights in June when it was exceptionally hot. We received a very warm greeting from Hans and Eva on arrival. The farmhouse feels spacious and our room was a good size with an ensuite shower, it was all very quiet and despite the heat the fans in the room kept us cool. There is a fridge on the landing with your own shelf which was wonderful as plenty of cold water was needed not to mention the odd bottle of wine, you can buy your own or Hans very kindly places water, wine and beer in the fridge which you can sign for. There is a beautiful garden with a swimming pool and plenty of chairs/loungers - all very relaxing. There are a surprising number of restaurants/bars within easy walking distance. We hired a car for a couple of days which Eva arranged for us and then Hans ran us down to pick it up, they really make everything so easy for you. We both really recommend Ferrieha Farmhouse.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timanfya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
173
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Location: A little away from the port and bigger towns of the island, but don’t be put off if you don’t have a car, as hourly buses run nearby and the walk from the ferry terminal to the guesthouse is not too bad a(n uphill) walk if you’re relatively fit. Eva and Hands kindly picked us up upon our arrival at the ferry terminal and took us to the Farmhouse, very kind of them and particularly helpful as I think it would have been quite hard to find on our own.

The interior, with its tiled floors and beautiful pale stone walls with graceful arches, offers a refreshingly cool respite from the Maltese heat. Our room was equipped with plenty of wardrobe/storage space and excellent shower (both in terms of heat and pressure), and although on the lower level and without a balcony, still offered views out to the sea.

A highlight of the house is the very nicely landscaped, scrupulously clean pool area, with loungers and a hammock and plenty of shade from umbrellas, and the pool is kept a pleasant, refreshing temperature.

Owners Hans and Eva have done everything they can to make guests comfortable, from installing double glazing to keep out any noise, and providing a place to dry damp towels and swimsuits, to assigning each room a shelf in a communal fridge (very useful for keeping water and other beverages cold), that also had beer and wine available to purchase (at reasonable prices). The continental breakfast included fresh local bread, fruit salad and boiled eggs a well as muffins, cereal and yoghurt, etc, and was very nice.

My only regret is that we didn’t have more time to make full use of the wonderfully relaxing environment Eva and Hans have created here. I’ve already recommended it to friends and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to people looking for a very welcoming, comfortable and relaxing stay on Gozo.

Note: We stayed 7 days in Valletta and 3 on Gozo, and in hindsight I would have preferred it the other way around, or at least have our time more evenly divided. Even though it is much smaller than Malta, I found Gozo more compelling, and a nicer place to relax, especially when staying at such a wonderful guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Foxxander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and were made to feel most welcome when we were met by Eva and Hans at the ferry terminal when we landed in Gozo (Gozo is worth a visit, quieter and more relaxing than Malta). They gave us a lift to their most wonderful farmhouse that is really well located in the village. The house has lovely views across the sea to Comino and Malta.
The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed that we would have shipped home if we could! The terrace outside was very spacious.Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. There is an honesty bar system for water, beer and wine with glasses provided. The prices are very reasonable
The pool and garden area is delightful. The pool was warm enough to swim in even in May. There are really comfortable sun loungers with plenty of shade.
It is only a short walk into the village which has a good choice of restaurants for dinner (portions tend to be large)at good value prices.
We didn't hire a car and found the local bus service to be very convenient even though the buses only went to Victoria once per hour.
It was like staying with friends, we didn't want to leave after the weekend. Hans and Eva take great pride in their lovely house and really understand hospitality.
If you are looking for a very comfortable place to stay with wonderful hosts, this is it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 at the top of the house, it has two spacious terraces and was very airy and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordshireSam2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

After 4 weeks travelling in Italy and Malta we arrived at Ferrieha Farmhouse on Gozo looking for some R&R before heading home (a holiday in a holiday if you like). All but one of the accommodation locations had been first class, so we were hoping for a continuation to wrap up the holiday (next stop home, Sydney Oz).

Well our expectations were not only met but well and truly exceeded – Eva and Hans are exceptional hosts, their home is beautiful and the location superb. It was exactly what we had hoped for and more. Local restaurants are in walking distance, we had great meals at several. We even had a personalised tour of the local bakery and were dropped right at Ramla beach.

Making us feel comfortable and welcome (in their home) I think made this the best accommodation experience this trip – and possibly our best ever. I’ll never forget the morning I opened the shower door and experienced the vista across to the Blue lagoon, Comino and onwards towards Valletta.

If only I could rate Ferrieha above 5 on TripAdvisor. Thanks Eva and Hans for a wonderful stay – yes, easily our best ever.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The first thing you notice is the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence (the first time I had ever even seen one), and within a very short space of time, your realise why ! We had excellent communication leading up to our short stay at the Ferrieha Farmhouse, all our questions and requests were promptly answered. Eva and Hans are the most welcoming of hosts, anticipating your needs and fulfilling them. We stayed in room 4 on the top floor. The stairs up the stone spiral staircase are tight, but the view from the terrace overlooking the Blue Lagoon on Comino is simply to die for. The terrace is actually larger than the room, which itself is quite spacious. Well equipped with it's own sun loungers. picnic table, sun shades and chairs, a perfect spot for sun bathing away from the beaches. The bed is worthy of note as being the most comfortable I have ever stayed in, and the soft bed linin - a far cry from the starched cardboard you find in most hotels. The buffet breakfast is continental style which you can enjoy either inside, or out on the terrace overlooking the meticulously clean pool. The pool is solar heated with plently of sun beds and shades. There's a lovely flower drapped pagoda, and a twin hammock to relax in. Each room has it's own fridge area to chill your wines and water, but these are also available to buy at a very reasonable rate if you don't like carrying bottles around. The Ferrieha certainly is a couples / excutive hideaway, so relaxing you won't want to leave. Hans and Eva can arrange more or less anything you request, and will even invite you to lunch with them. Without any hestitation, I can not recommend the Ferrieha Farmhouse enough and will certainly return again.

Room Tip: Check out the website to see what accomodation suites you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelmpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Eva and Hans were such welcoming hosts. Stayed there with family in October 2011 and really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere there. The breakfasts were great, would keep you going for the day! They even made lunch for us one day which was very gracious of them. The rooms were large and comfortable and clean and the decor first class. There's an outdoor pool, which was a bit cool in October, but nice for sitting around.
Best way to see Gozo is to hire a car, some of the beaches are a bit out of the way. Would recommend swimming from the rocky beaches via the ladders, the beaches are not that great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziemcsligoireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bar harbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

From the moment we were picked up by Hans & Eva at the ferry terminal we entered a week of paradise! The exquisite farmhouse/B & B is beautifully sited, immaculate yet cozy. Lying on the edge of the little hamlet of Qala overlooking the Mediterranean and the island of Comino you won't find a lot of night life here. However, if you are looking to get a taste of the relaxed island life, enjoy a walk, explore the history, kayak or swim without the crowds- this is the place. Hosts Hans and Eva are the perfect innkeepers; starting with a wonderful breakfast then helping out us plan for a great day- even taking us on a tour themselves which included a small seafood bistro tucked in a private beach-WOW !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarHarbordougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qala
5.2 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,201 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
5.3 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrieha Farmhouse B&B Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrieha Farmhouse B&B Gozo

Property: Ferrieha Farmhouse B&B Gozo
Address: Tac-Cawl Street, Qala, Island of Gozo QLA 1503, Malta (Formerly Merhba B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Qala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Qala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ferrieha Farmhouse B&B Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Qala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing