We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to discover”
Review of Relais de la Poste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais de la Poste
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magescq
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A place to discover”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

we stayed in this nice property a few days to discover south west of france it is ideally located near Biarritz and the beaches
nice pool and garden as well as tennis courts rooms are confortable
very good restaurant

Room Tip: choose a room with garden view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
99
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Tiny but beautiful little country inn. The food is classical but excellent! The room was very clean and well kept. It is a great little hotel to stop on your way to Bourdeaux.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploringeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Very rude staff. The hotel is kind of abandoned and in the middle of nowhere. Only worthy to go for dinner to the restaurant if you want to pay up and not good value for money all in all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We wanted to stay in a good Relais and Chateaux hotel near Biarritz for 6 nights and therefore chose Relais de la Poste. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. Our 2 double rooms were in the old part of the hotel. They would have been great for 1980's afficionados, but were not to our liking. We asked to change to a newer suite, but the hotel manager did not allow us to have beds for both the children in the large sitting room of the suite. So we decided to stay in the brownish rooms without balconies. We had expected a nice pool area and tennis court. Both areas must have been very nice in the 1980's, but do not meet todays standard. At least not Relais and Chateaux standard. The restaurant management had a more friendly attitude and the food was very good, some dishes outstanding, others not.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — The attitude
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kas08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Like many, we booked an overnight to sample a fine 2 star meal.

I cannot fault the room; it was immaculate, smartly furnished, and comfortable with a lovely terrace overlooking the floral and sculpture gardens and the pool. Charming yet modern. I enjoyed a nice soak in the large tub.

The meal itself was indeed very good, but we did not find it exceptional or up to its star rating. This is supposed to be food as an art form, and something was amiss in the attention to detail. Some dishes were outstanding and some (particularly dessert) were not of the quality one would expect. The pacing of courses was a bit off; some came almost too quickly and some very slowly. Perhaps the larger issue in the dining room was a pervasive sense of staff indifference. I don't think the pastry chef would have been happy to see his dessert served flopped over on its side -- whoops -- oh well. Service like that shouldn't happen in the land of food as art.

We must have been visiting while the gardener and pool staff were on vacation though -- the pool and its deck was completely covered in pine needles and the flowers needed some attention. I almost started pinching off the deadhead blossoms myself. My companion nearly rehung pictures on the wall that were crooked. Again, we found attention to detail lacking. The grounds have some interesting artwork and are enjoyable to stroll.

My sense is Relais de la Poste used to try much harder than it does now. If you go you will definitely have a good meal and a comfortable stay. But it won't be as exceptional as it could have been if they'd pay attention to the details that make up the total experience.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige_Turner_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We went only for one night and mainly because we wanted to try the restaurant, which is supposed to be very good. It was excellent indeed. It is a Relais Chateaux hotel, in the cathegory of Relais Gourmands.

The rooms are very spacious and new. The attention is excellent.

Restaurant was excellent and the setting is very beautiful.

We had dinner by the fireplace. We took breakfast also, which was around 16 euros per person (this I don't remember exactly). You had to order it the night before asking specifically for what you wanted. If you wanted eggs it was about 20 euros.

We will definitely go back as it was a very nice one night away from home.

If you go, make the reservation directly with the hotel ON THE PHONE, as it is cheaper than making it through Relais Chateaux or the hotel web site.

  • Liked — RESTAURANT AND SPACIOUSNESS AND CONFORT OF THE ROOM
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chipirrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magescq
9.1 mi away
Residence Club Pignada Plage
14.4 mi away
Baya Hotel & Spa
Baya Hotel & Spa
#1 of 11 in Capbreton
621 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Sourceo
Best Western Sourceo
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-Les-Dax
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Les Bruyeres Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hotel 202
Hotel 202
#1 of 17 in Hossegor
363 reviews
13.1 mi away
Le Pavillon Bleu
Le Pavillon Bleu
#7 of 17 in Hossegor
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais de la Poste

Property: Relais de la Poste
Address: 24 avenue de Maremne, 40140 Magescq, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Magescq
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magescq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais de la Poste 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing