We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guimaras Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Igang Beach Resort
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family had a very bad experience with this resort…..
My family decided to have a vacation and choose this place…it turned out to be a bad choice. We are 28 persons including senior citizens, infants and toddlers. From the far entrance of the resort (which is about 500 meters rough road) we were told to walk in order to arrive from the main resort. We ask the first gate keeper if we can use the “jeep” (local vehicle) until the main entrance because of the situation. We told him that if it is not possible then we have to look for another resort. The gatekeeper gave us his permission and we arrive safely at the resort.
During our stay, we have not seen lifeguards on their designated areas when visitors are swimming (beach, pool); the beach which is near the main office is itchy, the garbage bin is broken and garbage are scattered/hidden beside the room (Janine 1), and the most important of all, the personnel of the resort itself has a very bad attitude and not hospitable in treating their visitors. The resort personnel are not friendly. They even raise their voices and told us in their native language that “BISITA KA LANG” which means that “you are just a visitor”. The resort had a very bad safety and security practice. I’ve been in local and international places but this is the first time my family encountered such a behavior. We were so disappointed, disgusted and very sorry for ourselves that we spent our time in this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank haponsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Yes, it is expensive but it is so worth it. Villa Igang is a best place for adventure. People who didn't appreciate it that much probably never tried and explore the place. I guess it is still being develop that's why it "looked" old or not maintained. Don't just sit there by the beach & drink, go by the caves, or go cliff diving, butterfly habitat, mangroves, etc. My advice, try and go around the place so that your 150 entrance will be so worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrinsicspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I would highly recommend the place for a day trip. I life everything about this place except our room. There were cockroaches in it and the toilet is not clean with no hot shower. Some of the stuffs in the room has a funny smell.

Outside the room everything was good. The staff were very helpful. The place was nice enough for long walks. The water was great and there is also a pool if you prefer to take a dip there although you have to pay extra for that. The food was simple but tasty. There's a karaoke machine in the dining area which is a good place to mingle with the other guests. We had fun singing there until the wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litrato101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I chose Villa Igang because of the encouraging description in Lonely Planet, but i was disappointed about this place. Being the only guest i rented a room with a fan. It's not worth the 1000 pesos. And there is an additional entrance fee of 100 peso you have to take into account. To compare: i stay here in Bacolod in a brandnew hotel with spotless rooms including aircon and hot showers for only 880 pesos! The room i stayed was worndown. The door of the bathroom Was clamping. The blankets i became were acrylic..which iches. There was no hot shower, no chair and table and, in spite of the description in the Lonely Planet, no lockable dresser, let alone a tv, not that you need one in such a beautiful location. Breakfast is not included and there was hardly any choice to eat. So i went to the other resort, the Raymen resort, to eat there. The staff is not that unfriendly, but lax. For example, i asked a beer for lunch. It was not cold, but they put it in the freezer. But in the evening i ordered another beer and still they had not put bottles in the fridge. The location is fine, but i liked the atmosphere in Raymen better. I would not recommend this place to anybody. There are many better choices, like Baras or Valleverde Mountain Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeroen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here one night while on a mission trip to the Philippines. Our room was right on the water; we could not have been any closer. The bed was comfortable, and the room was pretty clean although there were plenty of geckos skittering about. The pools were nice, the beach was beautiful, and there was an awesome cave to explore. We also enjoyed the mangroves and the bridge across. The butterfly garden was lovely, although at that time of year we did not see any butterflies. The food at the resort was nice. I saw a man walking into the kitchen with a couple of dead chickens before lunch time, so it must have been fresh. My only expectation or hope at that point in our trip was that we would have a toilet and a hot shower, and I was disappointed on both counts. There seemed to be a limited water supply for the toilets, so at times we were unable to flush. There was no hot water at all. Perhaps it was just a little more rustic than the name "Beach Resort" might imply. Overall, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaGirl2009038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

never spent your vacation in this resort! it was a terrible experience all of their front desk personnel from entrance to resort is so rude! they don't have manners don't even smile to their guest. if they are ask about the facilities of this resort as if they hate to answer or answer it in a rude manner. every thing need to pay but their service is very poor!
To the management of villa igang pls. orient your personnel to a proper customer service the place is nice but the attitude of your staff will ruin your business. AND THEY RUIN MY FAMILY VACATION!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jhan129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

i swear i'll never go back to your place!!! the entrance fee was so expensive- 150 pesos and the lady said we only had to pay 100 because we were going to have lunch there. We hired a multicab to get in but they don't allow our transport vehicle to get in because one has to pay 15 pesos for the resort tricycle!!! what the hell is that???? we had to hike inside under the scorching sun! plus the lady in the reception was soooooo unkind when my friend almost fainted because of the weather! our cottage was on a hill... dirty and far from the cafeteria and it was 700! wow! considering the entrance fee was 100, other resorts give their customers a free entrance fee for the pool but we had to pay 50 pesos again to use the pool. then, food.. very expensive! 180 per meal excluding rice and drinks. the meat wasnt fully cooked.we wasted money! and they dont give service water... service water is given only during meal time! what???? we went out of the resort around 6pm and the old guy who was like a guard there wasnt even helpful when we asked help for a transportation.i swear not to go back there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mimi52781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guimaras Island hotels
0 mi away
Costa Aguada Island Resort
Costa Aguada Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Inampulagan Island
25 reviews
0 mi away
The Clara Beach
The Clara Beach
#1 of 23 in Guimaras Island
30 reviews
0 mi away
Raymen Beach Resort
Raymen Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Guimaras Island
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Zemkamps Chalet
Zemkamps Chalet
#1 of 5 in Jordan
58 reviews
0 mi away
Nature's Eye Resort
Nature's Eye Resort
#1 of 1 in Nueva Valencia
12 reviews
0 mi away
Pine Haven Hotel
Pine Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Jordan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Igang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Igang Beach Resort

Address: Poblacion, Neuva Valencia, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Guimaras Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Guimaras Island
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Villa Igang Beach Hotel Guimaras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing