We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great, hotel not so”
Review of Aenos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aenos Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and loved the location. It's in the heart of Argostoli in a lovely square surrounded by nice restaurants.
The room we had though was v poor - it was out the back and was v v v small. Too hot and not comfortable. The beds however were!
Staff were friendly but the hotel needs to be fully renovated as its v tired, shabby and dated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Aenos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in that hotel for 2 nights in October 2012 and I can say that I agree with most of the reviews I had read before we were taken there. It was a package holiday and we didn't have a choise.I love a bit of luxury with accommodation when I'm on holiday and this is something the hotel doesn't offer.It was clean and quiet with the windows shut and the staff were handy and helpful.Breakfast was rather poor,there was a small jar of coffee for 50 people and you had to wait for the next one as one jar served 5-7 people!The quantity of food was surely inadequate .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Aenos is the name of the highest mountain on Cephalonia, and this is whence this hotel took its title. The hotel stands where the manor house of the Metaxas family had stood since 1847, and in the hotel building you can still see a lot of the original, very beautiful venetian furniture, oil-paintings and art that ornated the Metaxas house through centuries. The reception salon, with its small library, oil paintings gallery and artifacts, including a pianoforte (that was saved from being drowned in the harbour of Argostoli, as most other argostolian pianos were when the army took over the town after the earthquake in 1953) tell the story of the family, who added new beautiful things to their house in every generation. For a few days I had the luxury of being a guest in a living house, a loved and well cared for house. My bedroom was almost entirely furnished with the original pieces, recently returned from art restoration, including the beds and the commodinos next to the bedheads, a commode with five drawers with elegant bronze handles, and another matching piece on which the tv set stands. The bathroom was modern and vast, no problem moving around on my wheelchair. The bedroom window-view was magnificent, giving to the mountains and the sea! I could see the storm, when it happened during my first night, from the safety and warmth of my bed.
Last- but never least!- I had the luck of meeting with the people that run and care for this exceptional hotel, who have been in perfect harmony with their establishment, kind and caring and hospitable, ready to please and help with small problems.
I recomend the Aenos Hotel to everyone, including disabled customers! This is a four stars hotel, to my judgement.

Room Tip: Take a sea and mountainn view room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPYRIDON-OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights whilst filming in Kefalonia. The location is perfect, the hotel is good compared to your average kefalonian hotel. The breakfast is ok, the rooms are good, the bar service takes a millenium to poor two soft drinks in an empty bar. The biggest thing for me is that the room gave my girlfried a black eye after walking in to the room for the first time and straight into a corner of a very poorly placed and dangerous tv shelf. Watch out for those! Overall, probably one of the best places to stay in argostoli on a budget though. The aircon is ancient mind you and not very efficient!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarranTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel's location is excellent. Very central facing Argostoli's main square, this can be a litttle bit annoying if you're looking for something more quiet.
Staff was trying to be helpful, however they didn't manage it.
Room was of normal size, comfortable bed and with nice decoration. Nevertheless, there was one big drawback in the room. Τhe shutter in the bathroom's window was missing, consequently you could be seen from outside when in bathroom. Big, big minus.

However, considering that we paid 50 euros/night it was a fair accomodation and i would rate the hotel higher if it wasn't the missing shutter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilias11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very helpful staff, and spacious rooms, but nothing to die for. The location is good, but noisy. The breakfast is good. The weird thing is that I could only turn the air condition on after 7 pm, and considering that it was February when I visited, the room got cold and I had to have the air-conditioning on all night long.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night while on our honeymoon and booked via the hotel's own website. Despite booking well in advance of tourist season and specifying a Double room (which according to photos on the website included a Double bed), we were advised on arrival that only twin separate beds were available (not very romantic!). When we queried this, the staff advised us to change the room configuration ourselves, which we thought was rather poor. Also the room only had enough towels for 1 person so we had to request an extra set. Disappointing service for the price paid. The location is central but can be rather noisy as the town's night clubs are also located nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMLVictoriaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
0.1 mi away
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Argostolion
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ionian Plaza Hotel
Ionian Plaza Hotel
#10 of 12 in Argostolion
106 reviews
5.4 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#7 of 8 in Svoronata
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mouikis Hotel
Mouikis Hotel
#2 of 12 in Argostolion
169 reviews
5.0 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aenos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aenos Hotel

Address: 11 Metaxa Square | Vallianou Square, Argostolion 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range: $63 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aenos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aenos Hotel stands out for its strategic location as it overlooks the central square of Argostoli where you can go for a pleasant walk, and is very close to the shopping center which is within walking distance. The hotel is equipped with every comfort, designed in true modern style including stylish interiors and minimalist wooden furniture that create an atmosphere of elegance and comfort. The view from the Roof Garden is unmatched. It takes in the roofs of Argostoli between the marina and De boset bridge and stretches towards the horizon. The attention to detail and service, and the constant pursuit for quality, are the salient features of Aenos hotel. Set in a dreamlike, intimate and cozy atmosphere and enjoy your holidays in Kefalonia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aenos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aenos Hotel Ionian Islands, Greece - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing