We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food and Ambiance ”
Review of La Gondola

La Gondola
Ranked #39 of 108 Restaurants in Argostolion
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Greek, Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Ate here on our first night in town and returned most nights. Never disappointed. Starter of tomato soup was so full of vegetables and flavours that no main course was needed. Recommend the Real Kefakonia Pie, Pork Chops and Mousaka. In fact there was no food we did not like. Also try the deserts but suggest you do not have a starter as they are huge. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The restaurant can be found in the main square where in the evening children come with their parents to enjoy a game of football or just to play. A gem of a place

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 910sued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 348 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018

Went here for coffees when visiting Argostoli. Ideal location right in the main square. Coffees were good as was the service.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Johnlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

We chanced upon La Gondola whilst en route to another restaurant. Upon viewing the menu it looked fine and not too expensive. The waiter was very helpful and efficient and the seats very comfortable. Great location looking over the square where was plenty of activity to observe. My partner chose the chicken souvlaki which was very tasty and fresh, whilst I selected a spicy pizza - not spicy in our sense of the word but very flavoursome nonetheless.
Drinks a little expensive but nothing too startling.
Very good service (although it was not particularly busy). Nice touch with a complimentary dessert.
All in all a pleasant place to eat and nothing to complain about.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LCB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

The location of this is great, nice vibe too. The food is good, nice selection of traditional and non traditional. Selection of wines and beers to suit all. Waiting staff seemed a bit harassed on our visit but generally polite and friendly.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank oddjob30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Visited with my wife on 30th September 2018 for an early evening meal. The location is great, looking out on the main town square, which was reasonably busy for an out of season Sunday. The beer was cold, the house red was ok for the price but I’ve had better. I had Peperonici with Feta as a starter, which was quite tasty, but would have benefited from a good grind of pepper to bring it to life. I then had Sea Bream for the main. Well grilled and the skin seasoned beautifully, it was let down by the accompanying veg...unappetising boiled potatoes with a strange herby taste, and tasteless peppers and aubergines (egg-plant). My wife had a chicken bacon and cheese appetiser which was ok, with a main of Seafood linguine. This was advertised with clams...they were hiding very well! The accompanying sauce was tomato based and bland.
I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant. Shame...as the location is great and the service was pretty good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Elteuk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

Lassi, Cephalonia
Argostolion, Cephalonia
 
Argostolion, Cephalonia
 
Argostolion, Cephalonia
 

Been to La Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing