We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in Kefalonia”
Review of Pizza al Forno

Pizza al Forno
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Kefalonia”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I love this pizza place. it was recommended to me last year by a local, and I had to go back again this year too. They have a big stone oven where you can watch them making the pizzas while you sit at your table. It's not a fancy restaurant, very casual set up but modern, but they have plenty of seats inside or out, and the size and quality of the pizzas is better than a lot of the other expensive restaurants. Even locals we talked to this year were recommending this place. It's a little difficult to find down the side streets and when we tried to take friends on a Monday it was closed, so it's best to call first as I'm not sure if they are always closed on Mondays or if it was just because it was low season when we went this year. Beware though - you will probably need to order half as much as you think, or you'll be taking the leftovers home!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    80
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best pizza ever!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

very quick and friendly service!
delicious Pizza and Pasta! and very good prices, just next to the beautiful harbor, watching the visitors walking by, eating icecream and laughing! .... just relaxing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good quaint pizzaria.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I love the thin crust of there pizza. You can actually watch them make your pizza. Also they do delivery which I think is great. They have the best pizzas in Kefalonia. Their salads are excellent aswell. Especially the Rocket Parmesan. Yum, In summer the queue is never ending, but the waiters, have always a smile in their faces, and are very helpful. A must if you want something in Kefalonia other than Greek food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We discovered it by chance and we loved it. We had 4 kind of pizza, all with a thin tasty crust and all very tasty + local wine ( quite good) + Caesar salad ( one of the best I had). This is a friendly place to have a great pizza. Highly recommended it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaPetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the first choice”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's a nice place, but I won't go there for the second time. Reasons? A bit pricey - sure the portions are big, but not enough for the price. And they use some non-traditional cheese for their pizzas (gouda, I guess). So I'll try something else next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza al Forno also viewed

Argostolion, Cephalonia
Argostolion, Cephalonia
 
Argostolion, Cephalonia
 

Been to Pizza al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing