We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Museum Hotel George Molfetas
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a week here in late August, on the basis of the reviews given by others.
We were not disappointed. I'd like to give 5 stars, but for me 5 stars is perfection and through no real fault of the owners this doesn't quite get there. The reason?...the location. Whilst remote and peaceful are definite plus points, it does mean you always have to travel to experience the best of the island each day, and on top of that due to it's specific location there is very little view to speak of from our room (although our room was on the ground floor, the higher rooms may improve on this aspect.) and/or the eating area, in this respect it isn't the kind of place you can or want to stay at during the day in the same way you might at a 'resort'. To be fair it isn't advertised as such, so you go there knowing this is the case.

In every other respect this hotel is SUPERB, and this is down to a few basic qualities. The owners and staff, who are (always!)utterly charming, warm, friendly, welcoming and helpful. The service, prompt but relaxed, attentive but not intrusive. The food (reviewed under the restaurant of the same name) which is first class and in my opinion the best on the island (I'd give that 6 stars!), and the attention to detail generally in this villa converted to 6 rooms, means everything is 'personal' and specific to you. Other hotels may offer the views, may offer the swimming pools and continual buffets, lifts and concierge, but again in my opinion, you can't better a hotel that feels as if everything is being done just for you alone and not the masses. I love the place.
Andy+Sue

Room Tip: Higher floors will offer the view that would make this place even more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We can't describe in words what's going here.
Katerina and Barry will wellcome you so lovely and warmly.
They're offering perfect breakfast and dinner full of love and harmony.
It's a secret and romantic place of silence and honesty.
We recommand it at all.
Peter & Katharina on honeymoon

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thank you again to Katerina, Maria and all the staff for such a lovely wedding reception. The food, music, setting and hospitality were all first class and were key to us having such a special day which we will always remember. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Museum Hotel George Molfetas to anybody who wishes to make a special occasion extra special.

Teresa and Karl

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the George Molfetas Museum Hotel for 4 nights in August 2013 as part of my honeymoon. It is called a hotel but it is not. It is in a category of its own. Its made up by the stuff dreams are made out of. Its a 19th century renovated house with 6 rooms designed to take you back in time and offer you a feeling of pure romance.

The hotel is run by the lovely Katerina and the charming Barry, the people who spent years planning, designing and building this breathtaking residence.

Let me explain a day there. I wake up in the morning snoozing on the sofa outside my room when I open my eyes a couple of minutes later and I find my double espresso on the coffee table (I had ordered it the previous morning and they remembered my preference). Breakfast is served a little later and everything is fresh and delicious. After Barry serves us he goes and plays a charming melody on his piano while we enjoy our breakfast. Katerina helps us plan our day, making calls and giving detailed tips and directions. The day she planned for us ends up pure satisfying. We come back to a dinner made by Katerina her self, with local fresh ingredients shopped the same day. My God was it delicious. There are only 2 other tables being served so the attention and care we get is maximum.

Katerina and Barry are such good hearted people that make you feel more at home than you are in your real home. They were the best part of the stay.

What an experience. Fall in love again in this majestic place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyl2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are a young French couple that spend 4 nights of our honeymoon there ! This place is a little paradise ! Katerina and Barry will welcome you with all their kindness and attention !!! Their generosity is fully touching !
The room we had was furnished with a delicate taste and harmony. Dishes were other pieces of paradise, Katernina cooks marvelous and fine meals ! All is healthy and perfectly balanced ! We've never eaten such a good food in our lives !!
We even stayed some of our day-time at the hotel to make the most of the calm and serenity that come from this lovely place !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argostolion, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic food, such bespoke menus made to suit any dietary requirements, fantastic setting, you would never dream of it being in such a secluded area within the village of Farakalata and wonderful attentive hosts.
Nothing is too much trouble.

What a way to celebrate a surprise 50th birthday. It's was idyllic. Balloons, banners and a surprise Pavlova Birthday cake. Thank goodness there were not 50 candles on it.

Thank you so much Katarina.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kefqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

For the first time, I feel Tripadvisor should have a special 6 star review.
The Museum Hotel George Molfetas, the Kefalonia Heritage Villa, is a true little gem in the heart of beautiful Kefalonia. Hidden in the small authentic village of Faraklata, on a hill facing the gulf of Argostoli, the villa has an unique charme. It is not a hotel, it's a warm and outstandingly stylish house, where every single corner is full of history, art, beautiful objects, books, paintings and old family pictures, you feel you are in wonderful olden times..... Every room is different, has a different name, all of them are embraced in warm style and comfort. I stayed in Anticlea room with my nephew, a stunning maisonette, wooden staricase and warm red walls, books everywhere, my mother at the marvelous Helen, warm in green and gold walls, sofas and furniture of, again, unique comfort and warmth. Beautiful Eros for my sister and her daughter, with a glassed bathroom ensuite and stones. Excellent breakfasts in the courtyard, with biological and healthy food.
But, above all this comfort and beauty, Katerina and Barry. As you arrive, you are welcomed with an embrace, and it lasts fot all your staying. Their hospitality makes you feel like you are as a family, the culture and the knowledge of Katerina, her open-hearted sharing, the beautiful background music played by Barry in the morning and evening and his warm smile ... I won't forget. They are also always attentive and ready to give you the best tips and advices on the island.
Last but not least, Katerina's cuisine. Dinners at the Molfetas are to remember. The cosiness of the terrace on the stunning living room are the perfect place for Katerina's dishes, most of them her own creations, with flavors and tastes unique and exquisite.
Sorry I have been a bit long, but I could go on and on and on....
Pure pleasure.
P.S. I don't usually put pictures, but the sign of the hotel is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaurizioPicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
2.4 mi away
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
#3 of 12 in Argostolion
129 reviews
18.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
474 reviews
17.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
779 reviews
6.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#4 of 12 in Argostolion
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel George Molfetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel George Molfetas

Property: Museum Hotel George Molfetas
Address: Faraklata, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Hotel George Molfetas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Hotel "George Molfetas" was meant to be a sanctuary for people seeking not only what the eye sees. It is an effort to bring to life the hospitality of the era it represents, the 1890s, which was the all-inclusive model of the luxury guest house. The actual impact on our guests is an immediate sense of being "at home." And this is our ultimate dream: to offer a home to the traveler and the dreamer of our times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Museum Hotel George Molfetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel George Molfetas Ionian Islands, Greece - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing