We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well above and beyond expectations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Museum Hotel George Molfetas
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well above and beyond expectations!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I write this not so much as a review but more of a letter of gratitude to Katerina and Barry for the best short holiday I remember. We left their beautiful hotel and home feeling more like friends than guests; this was testament to their genuine kindness and hospitality, obliging nature and warmth of spirit.
The hotel costs a little more than some places on the Island but we couldn't be more pleased that we chose to stay at Museum George Molfetas. We received advice and suggestions catered to our own interests on what we might do each day from the owners: this really added a lot to our holiday, experiencing and seeing places we would never have discovered otherwise.
Katerina's cooking is exquisite. She was kind enough to give us the recipe for our absolute favourite dish she served us which is actually cooking on my stove as I type! Don't expect the usual taverna meal's though, Katerina cooks her own authentic home dishes and they eclipse anything you'll try elsewhere on the island and we happily ate in her restaurant every night we were there.
The rooms at the hotel are all unique and beautiful, each with their own story which Barry and Katerina are proud to tell. We adored our room, I've never slept so well in all my life! The bed was wonderful, the ambience was serene. The facilities were first class too.
I could keep writing for hours but I will stop here and hope you will take my advice and stay at the Museum George Molfetas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElphieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Katerina's and Barry's hospitality and the beauty of this place make for an amazing vacation. I am sure that you have noticed the good reviews that everybody has given. This is the result of the amazing experience that you get when you stay in this hotel.
The rooms and the surroundings are very beautiful and the hosts treat you like being a member of their family. The food is also excellent.
Highly recommended for all travelers on vacation in the beautiful island of Kefalonia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFromTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for two weeks in September with our little girl and it was perfect. It's located in a quiet village and perfectly placed to visit all of the island. We stated in the room with two bedrooms, which was lovely and worked well with a toddler.

Barry and Katerina were wonderful hosts - knowledgeable, friendly and very accommodating. Katerina's food is incredible and without a doubt the best food we had on the island (our toddler also enjoyed it as Katerina kindly made her food also).

We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend as it's a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our friends stumbled upon this hotel and invited us to join them whilst we were touring Zante and Kefalonia as part of our honeymoon. Although suspicious that the owners often busied themselves writing excellent reviews of their own hotel based on the impressive glowing reviews we had read we agreed to join our honeymoon crashers. On arrival Barry and Katerina could not have welcomed us more warmly. We were immediately greeted with homemade ice cream and frappacinos to cool us down from our travels. We were allocated the Eros room which was wonderful and includes a glass partition to the bathroom - fortunately the toilet door is frosted - love is not always blind after all. We stayed for dinner and Katarina conjured up some of the best food we have ever tasted. Barry is always on hand to provide advice from matters of local restaurant choice, local beer selection and motor maintenance and will often tinkle his ivories over breakfast. Barry and Katrina may well be androids as during our stay we could not work out at what point in the day they slept. Robotic autonomous life forms or not they both made our vist a wonderful experience and we fondly look back on our stay there.

Room Tip: Please note if you book via the hotel website directly they give you a far better deal. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

What can we say, this place is truly magical. My husband and I visit Kefalonia twice a year as my parents live on the Island and this is by far the best place to stay. Each room is unique and is full of treasures. Katarina and Barry couldn't be more hospitable, they make you feel like you are their only guests and nothing is too much trouble.

Katarina's cooking is out of this world and so is Barry's piano playing. Having enjoyed our stay so much we booked the room 'Eros' for my brother and his wife's wedding night, they have re-booked to go back on their anniversary already!

The hotel is in a great spot to explore the island. Close to the centre Argostoli, beautiful beaches and the mountains Barry and Katarina have extensive knowledge of the island and it's history and will be more than happy to suggest great day trips etc.

We were in two minds to put a review on tripadvisor because we want to keep this magical place to ourselves, but that would be unfair! If you are visiting Kefalonia this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: No tips needed, we looked at every room and each one is superb and has it's own character and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breeze1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We got married here on 20 September. The venue is absolutely stunning, as is the location. Katerina cooked us a fantastic meal and we stayed in 'Eros' on our wedding night. A beautifully styled room on the ground floor. Katerina clearly put her heart and soul into rennovating this property.

The next morning we were served a scrumptious and hearty breakfast by Katerina, while her partner, Barry, played the piano.

Katerina and Barry are excellent hosts and are happy to share their knowledge of the island. We were very tempted to extend our stay and would have done, had we not been booked into another hotel in Katelios.

We could not recommend this hotel / restaurant highly enough. If you go to Kefalonia, you really should book in for a night or two. It's a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Eros is a beautiful room with open shower in the main sleeping area and a very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at the "Museum Hotel George Molfetas" for 4 nights and just couldn't get enough! It is a place that feels like home, just a more enjoyable one!! Catherine and Barry were the sweetest hosts ever, always eager to answer questions, tell stories and to share the wonderful treasures they keep in their rooms. Rooms were all special and you will be amazed with the things you will find in there!!
Oh and we have really no words for Possada restaurant! Everything was absolutely delicious, we really wish we had more days to eat there!
All in all, thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalli_Tz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
2.4 mi away
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
#3 of 12 in Argostolion
129 reviews
18.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
475 reviews
17.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
779 reviews
6.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#4 of 12 in Argostolion
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel George Molfetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel George Molfetas

Property: Museum Hotel George Molfetas
Address: Faraklata, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Hotel George Molfetas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Hotel "George Molfetas" was meant to be a sanctuary for people seeking not only what the eye sees. It is an effort to bring to life the hospitality of the era it represents, the 1890s, which was the all-inclusive model of the luxury guest house. The actual impact on our guests is an immediate sense of being "at home." And this is our ultimate dream: to offer a home to the traveler and the dreamer of our times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Museum Hotel George Molfetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel George Molfetas Ionian Islands, Greece - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing