We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic chateau, excellent location”
Review of Chateau d'Artigny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau d'Artigny
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Montbazon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our way back home from our holiday in the midi-pyreneess. The chateau is very beautiful. The location is also beautiful. The location is convenient because it is very peaceful but also close enough to the highway and in the neighbourhood of interesting Loire castles. We visited for instance Chenonceau in the afternoon. As we are a family with 2 teenagers, we had 2 rooms. The rooms are clean and the decoration is beautiful, charming but very antique. The room room rate is rather high. The personel is well trained and very friendly. The diner was excellent.
I have 1 small remark: we had a quick lunch near the swimming pool: the sandwish was cheap but terrible an the placemats were dirty, not at all at the level of quality we experienced in the rest of the hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 503 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

THE EXQUISITE CHATEAU D’ARTINY CELEBRATES OVER ONE HUNDRED YEARS SINCE ITS CONCEPTION – HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

A legendary chateau of exquisite proportions stands sentinel on the banks of the River Indre in the Loire Valley. Rising spectacularly from the forests, this polished white stone castle was first conceived in the year of the Titanic by the King of Perfume, François Coty. It is surrounded by the famous Chateaux of the Loire: Usse, Azay-le-Rideau, Villandry and Chenonceau and makes an excellent jumping off point for visits to these all time favourites. In 1961 it opened its doors as a newly re-invented luxury hotel and since then celebrities and the cognoscenti have flocked to its doors. (It was a favourite of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother.)
This is a palace that can be daunting to the first-time visitor – almost haughty. It has snob appeal; it is majestic; and the polished white stone of the sweeping staircase and wide foyer, running the entire length of the chateau, are designed to impress.
But combined with the elegance - it is gracious and the front office staff know just how to put you at your ease and create a welcoming vibe.
The bedrooms are spacious and well-appointed with views over the forests or landscaped gardens - reminiscent of Versailles. Also reminiscent of Versailles is the small Trianon-type ‘mini palace’ near the front gate – just waiting for you to move in and imagine you are Madame du Barry.
Some of the most romantic rooms are on the third floor, up winding staircases. The perfumer who planned this special house decreed that his architect place the kitchens up high so that cooking smells would not waft into the reception rooms; this means that two of the most romantic bedrooms in all of France (rooms 30 and 31, decorated in white and pink Russian marble) were once the kitchen and pastry kitchen.
After a warm welcome, head for the cool pool and then dive deep into the forests and take one of the sporty walks laid out for you by the hotel: there is the ‘Tranquil’ Walk (15mins), the ‘Undulating’ (25), and the ‘Sportive’ (45).
Then dress for dinner, please remember to make a reservation, and enjoy the luxury of the colonnaded, chandeliered and gilded dining room. It is painted in antique turquoise, panelled, and enhanced with huge vases of fragrant, freshly cut flowers. The menus are well-designed: try the huge, succulent asparagus swathed in bacon and slices of parmesan; followed by the tender, perfectly roasted lamb; and end with rhubarb, citrus and strawberry soufflés for dessert.
(All accompanied by excellent wines from nearby Vouvray, of course.)
The Chateau d’Artigny is a marvellous place and everyone should spend at least one night embraced by its elegance.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the forest are quieter as frequent arrivals punctuate stays over the front entrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice location of the hotel. Chateau itself is lovely... BUT very misleading info when booking - for traditional room, which is not cheap, 245 euros per night, you won't stay in the main chateau, but in a small room in another building, even not overlooking the chateau!!! Bed is very narrow for a couple, and extremely uncomfortable. Service is rather bad -receptionist ignored us for several minutes, obviously seeing us. In the evening we came on a terrace with a bottle of our own wine ( the area has several vineyards) and a plate of cheese. Hotel manager was out kicking us out from the terrace. What a disgrace for this type of hotel!!!

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel! Choose a better value for money and enjoy proper chateaus in the vicinity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha9879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

OMG! We loved this Château and the wonderfully kind, friendly and helpful staff. We were there for 2 nights in June. The spa was a delight. We had a package that included 2 treatments, a lovely room in the main building and breakfast. Our room was large and the bathroom was one reached by a staircase in our room, which lead up one level. We had a view of the front gardens and beautiful fountain. The decor was not new, but who cared? It seemed right as the chateau was build so long ago, if we had wanted a Ritz Carlton, we'd have booked one. The breakfasts were amazing. Fresh fruit, fresh breads, the best yogurt we have ever had and more. The room we ate in was fit for a king and queen, with a great view of the forests behind the chateau. The first night we ate in the bar. Honestly we would have shared one plate it was so large. We ordered cold Lox with many tasty salads and yummy bread. Next time we'll just order one plate. The next night we had booked the main restaurant. OMG the food was so yummy... even though the size of each course was small, the flavor was outstanding. We ate slowly, as we sipped our wonderful local wine. Honestly, Americans eat too fast and too much! (at least we do) The desserts, amazing and the there are extras like home made Carmel chews, marshmallows and those little French macaroons.... Did I mention the cheese cart??? Honestly, why did we have to come home?????

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renaelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaux_hotels_gef, DIRECTRICE ADJOINTE at Chateau d'Artigny, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Château d'Artigny and thank you to take time to write your kind comment.
Hope to welcome you another time for a romantic experience
Very truly yours
Isabelle Rocher, directrice adjointe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were part of a group of 70 staying at the Chateau for a wedding weekend (3 nights) and were absoultely amazed at the everything about it! The grounds are beautiful and the staff went above every expectation to keep a very large - at times rowdy group - happy. Our room - a suite above the Spa - was very nice, decorated in the typical Chateau-style adding to the charm of the weekend. The bathroom was lovely - very large, modern and marble. The recipition rooms in the Chateau are also stunning - a treat is to see the Roundta room with its painted ceilings. Every meal served as excellent - the breads and cheeses were notable, as were many of the desserts. Was an amazing experience - defintely a highlight of our week spent in France!

Room Tip: The suites above the spa are lovely, spilt over 2 floors .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaux_hotels_gef, DIRECTRICE ADJOINTE at Chateau d'Artigny, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind comment and give your compliments to the staff and Céline Grillot form our Commercial Department
Hope to welcome you for a private stay at Château d'Artigny
Sincerely Yours
Isabelle Rocher, Directrice adjointe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've gone to Loire Valley on my honeymoon, and we've spent the night on this Chateau and also had dinner there.. The place is majestic!! Our room was beautifuly decorated, very big, with a very big bathroom (what is important for my wife), and the window had a very beautiful landscape view... Also the staff is amazing and very kind! Definetly recommend if you visit Loire for more then a day (which in my opinion is the best option)..

Room Tip: ask for a room in the upper floor with view to the valley..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertosartorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel and lovely grounds. The staff were very friendly. The dome is incredibly beautiful and worth a look.

The rooms are fitted out in the traditional chateau style, which gives a really great atmosphere. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Assistant Manager at Chateau d'Artigny, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

I thank you for your kind comment.
Hope to welcome you soonly another time at Château d'Artigny.
Very best regards
Isabelle Rocher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montbazon
1.7 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
8.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
18.2 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
9.2 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
309 reviews
16.8 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Artigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Artigny

Address: Route de Monts, 37250, Montbazon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Montbazon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Montbazon
Price Range: $157 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau d'Artigny 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant castle hotel with spa located south of Tours, Loire ValleyThe white stones of the majestic Artigny Castle, the dream Belle Epoque castle of Francois Coty, the famous perfumer, may be seen from a distance as they rise above the Indre Valley. Twenty-five hectares of park containing a French garden, marble statues, woodwork and trompe l'oeil frescos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau d'Artigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Artigny Hotel Montbazon
Chateau D'Artigny Montbazon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing