We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - quiet resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Riviera Hotel is a lovely hotel. We arrived around noon, having booked two rooms and despite a check in time of 2pm, one was ready. Rooms are nice, very clean and decent shower which is easy to work! Air con too which helped. Pool area also clean and toasties at pool bar are great! We never had trouble getting beds and a brolly and the temperature of the water was nice too. Tennis court and equipment for hire at reasonable rates. Breakfast is buffet style and is good although fresh orange bit watery. Good choice of food though and well presented. Best choice of fresh fruit I have ever encountered in Europe. Staff are mostly helpful and friendly but more so in bar and cleaning staff than reception strangely. Wasn't overly impressed with resort. Beach gorgeous but we ate at two restaurants, both mediocre. Luckily we had a car and drove to Cascais to eat most nights. Palm Tree was our favourite there. We stayed 9 nights and attended Optimus Alive. Hotel very well located for that as could walk to train station and only 6 stops. I would go back and would recommend if staying in the area and able to eat elsewhere for dinner in the evening (though hotel menu looked nice but too "fancy" for my kids).

Room Tip: We had a pool view on 4th floor. Would imagine a high floor facing the sea would be nice but our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 349 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Absolutely fantastic hotel on the outskirts of Lisbon. Location is the best thing about it. Only a 5 min walk from Carcavelos train station and 5 mins from the beach with its nice restaurants.

The pros of the hotel were that it was clean, comfortable, updated, fairly quiet and had a fantastic location near everything. Free wifi and computer/printer access is also available which was a godsend. The pool is also cool and clean with a bar (be it slightly overpriced). The pool isn't particularly busy which is good. Hotel is ideal for the Optimus Alive festival in July as it is cheaper outside Lisbon but still easy to get to Alges and the centre.

There is also a supermarket/mini shopping centre under the hotel which is fantastic as you can keep food in the mini fridge in the room. The hotel is generally more in with the locals so much less touristy.

The room service is good and fairly reasonably priced. Bathrooms are well stocked with shampoos, showergels etc. Wifi is only in the bar, not in the rooms. It used to be by the pool but has now disappeared from there for some reason.

The cons were that on both years (2012 and 2013) me and my 2 friends travelled to this hotel, the hotel was very discriminatory towards us as we were a group of young boys (18-20) attending Optimus Alive. The first year, we were given a substandard, noisy room overlooking a building site with no airconditioning (because they thought being young, they could get away with it).
This year I complained and was given a slightly more acceptable room where we were constantly asked for proof we stayed at the hotel when by the pool, and monitored around the hotel and frowned at when we arrived back late (despite being silent).

The reception staff were unbelievably polite and helpful, however their restaurant/breakfast bar counterparts were very rude. Twice, we had mouthfuls of food and our plates were just taken away while still holding cutlery and clearly not finished. (Breakfast quality was awful). Similarly there was a strange policy where food not bought from the pool bar was not allowed to be eaten by the pool. So if you are planning on bringing a snack or a picnic, keep an eye out for the food police.

Otherwise, the pros outweigh the cons and I would recommend this hotel but perhaps not to younger adults. The location and price is good enough to oversee the negatives.

Room Tip: -Ask for a pool side room to avoid any traffic/building work noises -Ask for a room further down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

To attend rotary international convention at lisbon, portugal, we a group of 10 people stayed in the hotel. it was very nice hotel. its very closed to sea beach. from hotel we enjoy the view of the river. big swimming pool, testy buffet breakfast with rich verity. it was a memorable stay so far. i have a plan to visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: river face room are very good. everyone should book the room in advance .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mir motaher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's location as we wanted to be away from the main tourist area and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is five mins walk from the beach, there is a long promenade on which it is lovely to stroll in the early morning and evening, you can watch the sun go down with a drink at one of the beach bars and eat at one of the restaurants on the front. There is also a choice of restaurants in the square in front of the hotel, out of which I can recommend Atlantico for good value fresh seafood and nice service. Also the mall next door has a good food court.
The hotel as has been mentioned before is in need of a little updating, but was perfectly clean and provided good value for money. They cater for a lot of coach trips so, we avoided early breakfast, which was very busy and had the hotel and lovely pool area to ourselves for the rest of the day, after the coaches had left, which was very relaxing.
The rail line to Lisbon/Cascais is ten mins walk from the hotel and on the other side of the tracks the old town with some nice local restaurants and shops.
On the whole I would recommend this hotel for a laid back local experience but not for those who prefer lively night life.

Room Tip: If you stay for more than a few days the suites on the top floor are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentandbongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

the hotel is very nicely located close to the beach. rooms standard size with trouser press etc and usual amenities. wifi is available free in bar area in rooms is lan cable.
breakfast is buffet style but nothing special.
rooms very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spookeytookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We always stay at the Riviera hotel when in Lisbon. Its close to the city but very close to Caiscais. The facilities are great and although the hotel is aging a little everything still works and runs professionally. It has a great outside swimming pool area and the bars and restaurant inside are also pleasant and affordable. It adjoins a shopping centre and its easy to slip out and buy some well priced wines or fruit if you feel like it. Overall we would always recomend this hotel. it is fairly priced and the location is good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dionne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Comfortable, though rooms are looking slightly tired for a 4* hotel. No WiFi in rooms - bit behind the times. Good location, near some excellent seafood restaurants and just 200m from the promenade and beach. Easy access to Lisbon city centre by train.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulandcei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carcavelos
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
2.7 mi away
Lagoas Park Hotel
Lagoas Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porto Salvo
485 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Real Oeiras
Hotel Real Oeiras
#1 of 1 in Oeiras
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
835 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
#2 of 2 in Paco de Arcos
102 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel Carcavelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel Carcavelos

Address: Rua Bartolomeu Dias | Junqueiro, Carcavelos 2775-551, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Carcavelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Price Range: $72 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel Carcavelos 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2000, the Hotel Riviera is situated in a privileged area very close to Carcavelos Beach - considered to be the best of the various beaches in the area - and centrally located in relation both to Lisbon city and other places of great historic interest such as Cascais and Sintra. Guests can make use of great facilities such as restaurant, bar, tennis court, spa, Turkish bath, sauna and two swimming pools. The shopping center Riviera is adjoined the Hotel, with 63 stores. The International airport of Lisbon is at 28Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel Carcavelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing