We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for make over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Coming to this hotel almost every year since 2008, you can easily recgonize how it was aging. Fortunately the cleanliness has never been an issue in this hotel and the friendliness of the staff is just great, the room furniture can to some degree no longer hide the frequent use.
The location of the Hotel provides good support with shopping centre next door, providing a food court an some restaurant just with in a fw meters from the front door. The horels Fitness facilities were currently under construction, so no info on them. The Spa in the basement of the hotel offers good sevice for a fair price. The breakdast buffet is okay but does not off much variation. Also healthy duets are hard to be follwed with this offer, but everything is fresh and constant supply is ensured. Currently the restaurant in the hotel was closed, so nothinf to report about this. The bar offers a fair chice if drinks and us nice place to rest or to meet.
The hotel offer solid conference rooms and is a good spot for such events.
Even though just few hundret meters from the beach, i would not recommend this place for family vacations. If you have a car or do not mind taxi farrs it mught be a reasonable choice for golfers. The hotel has greenfee arrangements with a couple of good courses in the Estoril an Lisbon region.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XO_621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 338 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

I spent one night in a family suite with my family and it was surprising.The size of the room is ok, 2 big rooms with 2 balconies and 1 sitting romm with 2 sofa beds and 2 batrooms. The service was quite good and the the orange juice of the breakfast was one of the best we already drank. We got suite number 109 in the first floor. However we got a big surprise during the night. One of the bathrooms smelled realy bad. We had to lock the bathroom door and just used the other bathroom. But we had an extra unusual surprise: a cockroack appeared in one room. Our daughter and her friend were scared and ended up sleeping in the extra sofa beds of the sitting room. After the complain during the checkout no reinbursement was proposed or any extra night offered. I guess this family suite is not used often and it was not cleaned up a couple of weeks ago. Based on the previews reviews and the the 270 dolars paid for one night we were expecting a higher level of service!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great service, they put us into a fantastic room and were alway happy to help with any issues, 5 star service. The hotel is clean and is fanatically located near the beach. There's a shopping mall connected to the resort which has a small supermarket and food court.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiinLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Riviera Aug '11. A great place to stay!! From the minute we walked in to the minute we waved goodbye all the staff were brilliant!!
Very helpful, nothing was a problem to sort or arrange and all was done with a smile!!

We stayed in a room over looking the pools to the rear of the hotel. Room was clean, tidy and well organised. Had a mini bar (which we didn't use.....a bit pricey) and a safe, which was free to use.
Even with a camp bed for my young son, the room had adequate space. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed if you required.
The hotel has two pools, a small pool for toddlers and a main pool, both pools and pool area were very clean and were maintained on a daily basis.

Buffet breakfast with an excellent choice. Something for everybody. Evening meals are also buffet (for those that we stayed for) but again a great choice and prepared to a very high standard.
Plenty of staff were on hand to explain what the different dishes were and again were very helpful & polite.
And on requesting, they organised a special birthday cake with candles for my son's fifth birthday and even sang "happy birthday" to him.

The hotel has attached to it a small shopping complex with some great stores and restaurants. From designer clothes stores to a small super market and from a small cafe to a great Italian restaurant (Zeno's pizzas - the best I've ever had!!)

The beach is only a short walk from the hotel, is clean and also has a patrolled area not that I ever questioned our safety. The locals our very friendly.

For those of you without kids, there isn't that much to do outside of the hotel in the evenings. But Estoril and Cascais are only a short taxi ride away and are buzzing.
We had a couple of day trips to both places and went by train, the station is also only a short walk from the hotel. Don't be put off by the short cut via the tennis club road to the side of the hotel.
Kids under five are free by train and a return ticket to Cascais was only 3.50Euros per person.
Cascais has lots of shops and restaurants and has plenty to do.

All in all, a great place to stay with excellent facilities and excellent staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3pointshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel is great! The people very friendly and the breakfast is wonderful! Looking forward to go back again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcnilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

In our view this hotel represented very good value for money. The hotel is light, clean and airy and all of the public areas are in very good condition. They have a motto 'we love our guests' and actually it felt like they did - all staff without exception were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was of good quality with plenty of choice, fruit, cereals,cold meats, cheese plus usual english breakfast fayre - it was virtually the same everyday but there was sufficient choice to choose different things each day - only downside was that the toaster was very slow and only held about 4 slices of bread - not so good during a busy breakfast period. The rooms are functional and clean - nothing outstanding but perfectly adequate. The pool area has plenty of sunbeds and there was always some available so no getting up early to put the towels out. The shopping mall attached to the hotel is very handy for bottled water, newspapers etc as there are no other shops in the vicinity of the hotel. It is worth pointing out that the hotel is no longer affiliated to Best Western.
The resort of Carcavelos was smaller than we expected - about 6 restaurants/bars in a square close the the hotel plus some more down at the beach (5 mins walk) Menus were available in English however few of the staff in the restaurants spoke English which forced us into our pigeon portugese which was fun. The beach was packed over the weekend with day trippers from Lisbon but quieter in the week - clearly popular with local residents. Overall a very quiet and relaxing place, I would think it would be a good base for touring too although we didn't really move beyond the town. Tips: Do go to the local market held near the station on Thursday mornings.. If you need a taxi go to the rank outside the Praia Mar hotel and negotiate as you pay more if you book via reception. Don't go here if you want vibrant nightlife (actually anything more than a leisurely meal and a drink under the stars) or retail therapy,

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle030026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

rooms ok TV very old and small with no sat TV only English channel was sky news. Internet access through a cable was free. I asked for an iron and board and the iron was a death trap filled it with water turned it on it leaked and blew the electrics it could have been me. the hotel had a shopping centre attached to it very cool with a food hall. the restaurant food was better than i expected nice effort at good quality menus. not much to do there but walk, 2 mins to the sea, the station was a ten min walk away. the staff were friendly enough and very helpful. overall a quiet friendly, starting to get dated, hotel. i feel the prices are a bit highbut i guess thats Portugal for you

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasewoosnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carcavelos
2.7 mi away
Lagoas Park Hotel
Lagoas Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porto Salvo
461 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,208 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
3.0 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos
3.6 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#6 of 17 in Estoril
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel Carcavelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel Carcavelos

Address: Rua Bartolomeu Dias | Junqueiro, Carcavelos 2775-551, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Carcavelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Price Range: $87 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel Carcavelos 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2000, the Hotel Riviera is situated in a privileged area very close to Carcavelos Beach - considered to be the best of the various beaches in the area - and centrally located in relation both to Lisbon city and other places of great historic interest such as Cascais and Sintra. Guests can make use of the great facilities offered, including tennis courts, spa, Turkish bath, sauna and two swimming pools. The shopping center Riviera is adjoined the Hotel, with 63 stores. The International airport of Lisbon is at 28Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riviera Hotel Carcavelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing