We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and lovely, welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gun Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Ardersier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ardersier
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food and lovely, welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We've never stayed here, because we live in the village, but we eat and drink here regularly and the food is excellent and the staff welcoming and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    61
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
83
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We arrived unexpectedly following the cancellation of an Easyjet flight and received a very warm welcome indeed. The bedrooms were comfortable and we slept well. The food was well presented and there was a good choice and service was both competent and pleasant as witnessed by the many happy and satisfied people in the restaurant. We felt that the proprietor, Sheena, was only too pleased to provide us with anything requested. The hotel was within a few yards of the pebbly beach which for us had a wonderful restful feeling about it and excellent views with interesting information boards. All in all a very satisfactory and much enjoyed unexpected extra holiday

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

The Gun Lodge is well worth the money. The staff is nice, the beds are comfortable. And Ardesier is a charming little village, about 7 miles from Inverness.

Positives:
1. Friendly staff
2. Comfortable (non-creaky) bunk beds
3. Low price
4. Quiet
5. Lovely location -- step out of the hotel parking, turn right and then take the first left. Within 2 minutes you will witness some of the finest sea-side scenery Scotland has to offer.

Negatives
1. Far from Inverness -- you definitely need a car
2. Only restaurant around is that of the hotel, which doesn't leave much choice (I never actually tried the food there, but others on tripadvisor swear by it).

But it was a perfectly good place, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I regularly stay at this hotel because of the lovely staff, good food, and warm comfortable rooms. They have a new chef and the food has gone from fantastic to stunning with a great new menu.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravels070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

looking for a place to to eat for lunch or dinner look no further excellent place a wee gem
hotel nice very friendly will be back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

The staff are very welcoming and you are made to feel at ease. The hotel and bar are of a good standard and value for money, but the greatest asset to this hotel is the restaraunt and chef. The food is of such a high standard and more than you would accpect for the modest price. We travelled up from dundee and can safley say we will be staying again and if passing near the area would definatly go for a meal. The food that is served is so delicious and mouthwatering that i will be telling all my friends and family about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Looking for a place to eat go to gun lodge have a great meal food fab
fresh produce great to here his

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardersier
6.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
5.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gun Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gun Lodge Hotel

Property: The Gun Lodge Hotel
Address: High Street, Ardersier, Inverness IV2 7QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness > Ardersier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ardersier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gun Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gun lodge hotel is nestled in the quiet and historic village of Ardersier, conveniently located three miles from the airport and 25 minutes from the centre of Inverness. With our historic building, ample parking, comfortable Cromal Restaurant & whisky bar and ten charismatic en-suite bedrooms the hotel is perfect for all occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Gun Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gun Lodge Hotel Ardersier, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing