We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haste ye back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gun Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Ardersier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haste ye back”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently visited the Gun Lodge for the fourth year running. I was greeted with a warm hug from Sheena the owner. As usual the accomodation was good and I had been upgraded to a twin room c/w wet room. The bed was comfortable and sleeping was no problem. The food here is fantastic, any one visiting should try the rib eye steaks. what a treat! The full Scottish breakfast has to be seen to be believed more than enough for one. All the staff are most attentive, and do their best to make your stay a good one. I will be back next year and look forward to seeing all my friends at the Gun Lodge Hotel

Room Tip: Just book & Sheena or Richard will give you the best available value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaskitchen, Owner at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and so glad you liked your upgrade to our new room, it is great having three more ensuite rooms and we are continuing with our plans to become all en suite but it all takes time. As you know this is a very old Historical building and we are trying to keep that feel and not go too modern. we look forward to you returning next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    62
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
84
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We sat down for an early dinner here being the only eating place in the village.We were happily surprised by the welcome we were given and the locals were all very friendly.Wine glasses were nice and clean ,well kept Guinness and a good menu.We had the soup of the day (tomato and basil) and chicken and leek pie.My wife (not the easiest to please at the best of times) was delighted and I was shocked when she sent 'compliments to the chef' through to the kitchen!!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugsy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaskitchen, Owner at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments on your meal, we do pride ourselves on our menu, everything is freshly made and locally sourced and its nice to hear such lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

As the title suggests, this property couldd do with a real deep clean.
We stayed here before going on holiday, flying from Inverness airport. We had to wait a while when we arrived as the one barman was serving people as well as greeting the guests,clearly the local drinkers were more important than us as we had to wait around 20mins.

When we were seen to we were pointed in the direction of our room and given a key for another stairwell which we were advised to use.

The room was stale and tired, and you also have to share a bathroom with everone else on that floor.
The bathroom had a carpet in it that stunk of urine and was generally grotty.

The stairwell had a damp dog smell and dogs could be heard in the owners appartment at the bottom of the stairs.

We did not eat dinner of have breakfast here so i cannot comment on the quality of the food.

We were generally dissapointed with the standard of room we recieved and general cleanliness of this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfeet071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaskitchen, Owner at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your review
We take our Guests comments seriousley and are sorry you were disappointed with our service however if you had brought your concerns to a managment notice we could have delt with several of your comments at the time as after the event with no name or date we cant track the problems
To reply to your first concern over waiting time at checkin our lounge bar is not that busy or big enough for a wait of 20 minutes which is excessive & our staff are told to ask for help if it looks like there will be a long wait for guests
It is our policy to show all new guest to there rooms and explain about the 24 hour access door and the drop box for keys
Unfortunatley you chose a none en-suite room which is priced at a discounted rate and we are on a rolling refurbishment to upgrade to fully en-suite . most of the rooms on this floor are en-suite and we have 2 sets of bathrooms to share between 4 rooms
The shared bathrooms are cleaned throughly on a daily basis but other people will use these bathrooms
We are a family run hotel and do have dogs in our private accomodation which does join on to the hotel however they are not allowed within the hotel for hygine reasons
If you were disapointed with our non en-suite room then you could have upgraded to one of our en-suites if you had spoken to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family recently spent a very enjoyable and relaxing few days at the Gun Lodge Hotel. The service was second to none and the food was delicious. We were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will definitely be back. Top marks all round.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We had to move from previous guest house and was told about the Gun Lodge. Very comfortable rooms with great food and service. Perhaps some signs up in hall ways to remind guests that other guest may be sleeping. still a fabulous place to stay. Big Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24Bradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very welcoming staff, but the premises and fittings were very tired. Room was clean but the bathroom very basic and small with bad lighting , a few black human/dog hairs on the floor.We were given a key for an alternate entrance but chose not to use it because of a very bad dog odour that was absolutely foul. A bit disappointed overall, but good position for Fort George and Culloden field, and airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilko15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Best meal in 7 days, including Eddinburgh!
Fair prices for a meal.
Nice, big rooms, with all facilities.
Close to Fort William and dolphin watching in the ocean.
Very nice friendly people.
Compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWulff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardersier
6.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
5.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gun Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gun Lodge Hotel

Property: The Gun Lodge Hotel
Address: High Street, Ardersier, Inverness IV2 7QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness > Ardersier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ardersier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gun Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gun lodge hotel is nestled in the quiet and historic village of Ardersier, conveniently located three miles from the airport and 25 minutes from the centre of Inverness. With our historic building, ample parking, comfortable Cromal Restaurant & whisky bar and ten charismatic en-suite bedrooms the hotel is perfect for all occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Gun Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gun Lodge Hotel Ardersier, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing