We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection)
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Ardersier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Highlanders Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection) is situated within the the stunning grounds of Fort George, Nr Inverness, overlooking the Moray Firth. In the summer months the local dolphin school can be seen from the ramparts. The Museum covers three floors of Fort George's former Lieutenant Governors' House. The museum has roughly 20,000 artifacts and an estimated 10,000 documents and photographs. The museum is the largest regimental museum in Scotland, outside Edinburgh.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Well worth the admission to Fort George on its own account. Wonderful museum showing the history of the Highlanders from beginning to now. Museum is inside Fort George - which is still being used by the regiment today.

1  Thank Crowley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection), responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Thanks you for taking time to give us feedback. We are proud of our regiments and that we are able to allow entrance as part of the Historic Environment Scotland Ticket price. We are not publicly funded and rely on donations from the public.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fort george"
in 128 reviews
"three floors"
in 16 reviews
"military history"
in 21 reviews
"inside fort"
in 13 reviews
"moray firth"
in 23 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 4 reviews
"historic scotland"
in 8 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 5 reviews
"military items"
in 4 reviews
"victoria crosses"
in 10 reviews
"two hours"
in 7 reviews
"soup"
in 5 reviews
"soldiers"
in 40 reviews
"uniform"
in 35 reviews
"centuries"
in 17 reviews
"bunker"
in 4 reviews
"dolphins"
in 31 reviews
Filter

69 - 73 of 462 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2017

We did a tour of the museum while at the Fort. They have a very impressive collection of artifacts, dating back a LONG way! And alot of very unique items.

The guides were very good & knowledgeable.

Would certainly recommend touring this while at the Fort.

Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection), responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Thanks for taking time to give us your excellent feedback. We are very proud of the regimetns we look after and our guides are very knowledgable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

The highlander museum is amazing. It's situated in army grounds that are still in use. It's very informative giving one an amazing inside of the tradition of Highlanders in arms. You can have a walk around the walls as well and if you are lucky get the spot some dolphins..!!!

Thank Paco_Suarez187529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection), responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you for taking time to give us this excellent feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Please spread the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

The history in here is amazing. I however found that after the 1st floor that it seemed to be a repeat of the first but in a different year. If you are an army type of person you will love it.

Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection), responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for you comments. The first floor is a temporary exhibition of the a particular time of the 1st World War. The second floor shows the regiments we look after, the 1st world war (gnereric) and the 2nd world war. Also on the ground floor is the current link to our decendent regiment 4 SCOTs the Highlanders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2017

I decided to visit Fort George, because my father was in the Seaforth Highlanders and I was very interested in the place where he was billeted . I was taking up some of my fathers memorabilia . It was a very interesting visit a place steeped in history especially if you have an Army connection. I would definitely go back as this a large part of my fathers life and my families. The senery is beautiful, I stayed in a lovely B & B and walked along the coast just wished I could have gone further. Took lovely photos, sorry I can't post them

Thank bootlandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection), responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you for your feedback, it is important to us that we heed our visitors comments. We are delighted that you were able to see where your father was billeted, Fort George is grand monument and the museum the jewel in the crown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection) also viewed

Ardersier, Inverness
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing