We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent jumping off place for Europe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ferme du Vert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Ferme du Vert
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wierre-Effroy
Certificate of Excellence
Knebworth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent jumping off place for Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a really lovely hotel. It's a family run place and offers a really peaceful experience but just 20 minutes drive from the Shuttle terminal. The rooms are very comfortable and fully equipped, there is an excellent restaurant on site (a bit pricey but the food is great) and the breakfasts are wonderful. We've been going there for over 25 years - we love it.

Room Tip: Only some of the rooms have a bath (they all have showers) so ask when booking if this is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janburnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    66
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
142
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night only after a short break in France. The hotel is situated in a VERY rural position. We arrived in the pouring rain only to find that you are not allowed to park in the courtyard in front of the hotel but the car park is across the lane. Not a problem if the weather is fine. Not entirely comfortable leaving the car in a car park in such a rural position. We had booked in advance via Logis, but found we were not listed on the guests arriving that night. Fortunately as it was out of season, we did get the Garden Room we had booked. From then on things improved dramatically! Our room was huge and very well equipped. Dinner was excellent with a very warm welcome by the restaurant staff. Fantastic choice of quality local produce and a fine wine list. Everything about the meal was perfect. Breakfast was again a plus point unlike many French restaurants. A large selection of produce - local cheese, ham, wonderful bread and so it goes on. Nothing was too much trouble for the young lady who attened to us. All in all, a hotel to recomend without hesitation.

Room Tip: There are three Garden rooms which are very large - book one of these if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobblyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stortford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We sadly only stayed here overnight as we arrived late in the evening and left straight after breakfast. We will return though, but definitely in the Spring/Summer when we can make use of the lovely setting. Excellent welcome, great facilities and a very friendly dog. Breakfast was delicious - a nice taste of France and although we did not buy the cheese we thought that was a nice touch to offer local cheese for sale. Fellow guests told us how good the evening meal was and we were sorry not to be able to try it out on this visit. Room was beautifully decorated and bed was amazingly comfy with very good quality sheets for that added touch. Definitely one to add to your list of places to stay in close proximity to Calais/Boulogne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigStortford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We planned a trip on the Eurotunnel to pick up some wine in Calais and decided to make a weekend of it by staying the night at La Ferme du Vert. It was a very convenient location - only a 1/2 hour drive out of Calais but felt very rural. It was exactly what we wanted - comfy room, nice meal, pleasant surroundings. My only point of constructive criticism would be that some of the food lacked seasoning. Dinner was good - perhaps not quite as good as some of the reviews led us to believe - but certainly value for money (4 courses for 30 euros) and worth a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M2theWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely courtyard setting but standard room was very small for the price paid. Restaurant is a little pretentious and the food quality not brilliant for the price. As someone who is MSG intolerant, the sauce on the main course prawn dish had signs of the dreaded flavour enhancer - disappointing. Had an early ferry to catch so did not take breakfast but from what looked to be available - price of 13 Euro seemed excessive.

Room Tip: Might be better to pay extra for Superior room - space in standard room very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great place to visit for the weekend from UK....
Great location
Great food
Very friendly staff
Wonderful place to relax and enjoy Michelin star food
Loved the walks and the closeness to Le Troquet which has a lovely Market on a Saturday
Bedroom was lovely overlooking gravel courtyard
Breakfasts were very good but the evening meal which is an optional extra and including 3 courses was superb
Good selection of wines as well
Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddy032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We've stayed at this lovely Logis de France several times, and keep coming back here, because they never let you down. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, with every comfort you could expect (except for tea-making facilities.) We always have the evening meal at the Logis, because, although the menu is not extensive, the food is always both delicious and plentiful. The breakfast offer an enormous range of fresh products, unlikely to be bettered anywhere in the region.
And perhaps most importantly, the staff, from the manager Thomas downwards, are courteous, friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wierre-Effroy
6.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
#2 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Des Argousiers
Hotel Des Argousiers
#1 of 1 in Ambleteuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 24 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme du Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme du Vert

Property: La Ferme du Vert
Address: 555 rue du Vert, 62720 Wierre-Effroy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wierre-Effroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wierre-Effroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ferme du Vert 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Ferme du Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Du Vert Hotel Wierre-Effroy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing