We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful weekend stay”
Review of La Ferme du Vert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ferme du Vert
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wierre-Effroy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We've stayed at Ferme du Vert a number of times over the years and always thoroughly enjoy it. A lot of work has been done since we were last there and our room was charming, although the sloping ceiling did restrict the headroom and a problem with the plumbing kept my husband up for some hours (room 12).
I don't think it's as good value as it used to be, but still a very charming place to stay with an excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been renovated and I think are nicer than the older style. We stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepidtravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is situated in a very rural environment, and only 15 minutes driving from the Côte d'Opale in the north of France. The staff is very friendly. We had a "country" room, with a private entrance, a rather big nice a very clean room, with a bath/shower combination and seperate toilet. We didn't had a very special experience in the hotel restaurant. The chef wants to make some classic dishes with a twist, but the twist isn't that great. Take as desert the cheese at the end. They are homemade by the hotel family. The breakfast is to French standards very good : ham, homemade cheeses, cereals, eggs, jams, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickNickAntwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We last stayed at this handy ferryport stopover twenty years ago when it was a genuine country farmhouse with ducks and hens tripping over your feet as you came through the yard. The rooms were quaint and the food was homely. Alas, everything now is chic and correspondingly expensive. The food aimed to be 'high-end' and missed: all that was high end was the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butlerhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this property just one night, to break our driving from London to Normandy onto 2 days. We arrived late at night, just in time for dinner, and left the following morning right after breakfast.
Dinner was good - not super inventive but simple cuisine and well executed. The wine the waiter recommended to us was quite good and really cheap (we got a bottle for the price of a glass in London restaurants).
The room (the cheapest category) was very basic but reasonably comfortable. Bathroom looked quite modern actually, compared to the bedroom. Limited toiletries (no hairdryer) but hey, this is a 3*... My only complain was the room was not very well insulated and during the night, I could hear someone snoring in one of the adjacent bedrooms...
Breakfast was adequate (buffet includes soft boiled eggs, which is nice). I just don't understand why one would serve croissants if they're not good. This is France, for god's sake...!
So to summarize, this was a pleasant stay, perfect for our purpose, and pretty good value (especially if you're coming from London). Staff was nice and polite, although not necessarily very warm. I would recommend overall

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKB_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a junior suite which was lacking in charm and had no door on the bathroom. The shower was the best part of the room although the toiletries provided were on the meagre side. The evening meals were not as good as I'd expected them to be although they were perfectly adequate. Breakfast was good and enhanced by local produce. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The overall experience was pleasant and fine for a couple of days but I have stayed in places with more atmosphere which have provided better value for money and more French flair.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here at the end of July, after a holiday in Normandy. Only 20 mins from Calais it was the perfect end to our holiday. Great hosts, wonderful food and the beds were so comfortable, we loved everything about this beautiful hotel. Hubby still reminiscing about the cheeses! Breakfast a real treat too. Would love to return soon. The staff in the restaurant were charming and so welcoming, our nine year old loved the whole experience.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road, but still was so quiet, lovely thick farmhouse walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateColinLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Although we didn't stay at the hotel, if the food is anything to go by then it must be excellent. We arrived at the restaurant with no pre-concieved idea of what we would be getting and we were delighted with our choice. I chose for the main course a 'blue' filet steak. It was cooked to perfection and when I tasted it, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. My partner chose carrot soup for his starter and once again presentation and taste were first class. The soup arrived in 3 small glass bowls and each soup had a different ingredient added to give it a twist. I would not hesitate to recommend the restaurant and next time we are in the area then I shall definitely make sure I stay at the hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kad5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wierre-Effroy
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
#2 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
131 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
761 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
19.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,761 reviews
8.3 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme du Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme du Vert

Address: 555 rue du Vert, 62720 Wierre-Effroy, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wierre-Effroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wierre-Effroy
Price Range: $108 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ferme du Vert 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Ferme du Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Du Vert Hotel Wierre-Effroy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing